Buy Used
£5.78
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Greener_Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Rules of Civility Hardcover – 21 Jul 2011

4.2 out of 5 stars 167 customer reviews

See all 21 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover, 21 Jul 2011
£2.99
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Sceptre (21 July 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444708848
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444708844
  • Product Dimensions: 13.6 x 22.3 x 3.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 167 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 986,277 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'Achingly stylish...witty, slick production, replete with dark intrigue, period details, and a suitably Katharine Hepburn-like heroine' (Guardian)

'Written with a light, witty touch.' (The Age)

'Put on some Billie Holiday, pour a dry martini and immerse yourself in the life of Katey Kontent, a smart young woman trying to find herself in Manhattan in the late 1930's' (Who Magazine)

The summer's must-read: gripping and beautiful (Sunday Times)

'Terrific. A smart, witty, charming dry-martini of a novel' (David Nicholls, author of One Day)

'This novel looks at how spur of the moment decisions can define life for years to come against the backdrop of 1930s New York City' (The Newcastle Herald)

'Towles has written a sophisticated novel about a fascinating but underappreciated moment in US history' (The Sydney Morning Herald)

'This is a flesh-and-blood tale you believe in, with fabulous period detail. It's all too rare to find a fun, glamorous, semi-literary tale to get lost in... While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, fur and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next' (Viv Groskop, Observer)

'Take The Great Gatsby, throw in a little Breakfast At Tiffany's and mix with a lot of attitude in a cocktail shaker, and you've got Rules of Civility, a sophisticated coming of age story set in 1938 Manhattan' (The Australian Women's Weekly)

'Irresistible... A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw' (Elena Seymenliyska, Telegraph)

Book Description

For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938.

See all Product description


Related media


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Fiction Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

13 December 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
6 June 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
21 May 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
16 November 2012
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
23 May 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
6 January 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
28 March 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?