Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
This is a thought provoking book, based on good research, which addresses how governments/corporate business etc, can and does manipulate us,the populace at large, historically largely through so-called Secret Societies. The last part, however,deals with rather unproveable conjectures which may well be true,(and to which I personally subscribe),but lets the book itself down somewhat in that the author portrays as fact the opinions of others (such as myself) who themselves acknowledge these "facts" are speculation, albeit based on relevant and legitimate evidence. For instance the Kennedy assassination, the Korean War, Vietnam, the Federal Reserve, various wars and diverse historical characters are all given an eye-opening treatment which made me at least re-evaluate the history I had previously been taught. The Priory of Sion, Templars and the theories of Zecharia Sitchin - all of which I personally largely agree with - are, however, presented as fact, when realy they are justifiable speculation, and this detracts from the otherwise demonstrably factual nature of the book, not because they are "wrong" but because they are presented as "right". Overall a thoroughly good book very well worth reading, but I just wish the author had been a bit more self-critical in his more speculative and assumptive assertions.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2008
I agree with the mixed opinions expressed by other reviewers for this book. Jim Marrs has performed a staggering amount of research to write this, and the first quarter of the book really does open your eyes as to the various groups of people that seem to represent the "highest power". Its interesting how Marrs makes constant links back to the same people (Rockefellers, Rothschilds etc).
Sadly though I found this book a difficult read. Toward the end of the book there are so many people and parties named that I found it confusing. Also, I don't believe the book presents 'the hidden history that connects the Trilateral Commisions, The Freemasons'. It merely states that certain people of considerable power happened to be part of these various organisations, but stops there.
Also, as the book progresses the claims get more and more spectacular, moving onto alien races ruling the Egyptians. We cannot verify the accuracy of all these tales for obvious reasons, so I began to wonder just how elaborate these theories could get before they became rediculous. I would be fantastic to think that aliens really did build the pyramids etc, but its hard to believe with the existing evidence we have based on ancient texts that may not even be interpretted correctly, if indeed genuine to begin with.
I liked this book because it provides strong evidence that there are a select group of individuals who make the world's major decisions and value their wealth and power over human life (creating wars for profit etc). I believe that these people may also hold the answers to other points made in the book about our alien origins. However, its unlikely we will really find out these truths any time soon, so I kind of took the subject matter with a pinch of salt...!
77 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2004
This book is incredible. Anyone can fire off accusations of corruption to governments, but Marrs has researched this incredibly thoroughly. I know that sounds incredibly patronising but that's how I see it.
The final chapter details the theory of the 12th planet returning to our solar system, which is explored in his earlier book "Alien Agenda". If you're into conspiracy theories and not afraid to open your mind up to the shocking truth then you should check both of these books out. You'll never be the same again.
22 Comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
It was hard to think of a title for this, because it was really so extraordinary. This was the first book I have read from this author (and it will not be the last), and I glad I had the opportunity to read this after the others which are mentioned in his work. I feel that the only reason the other reviews here have failed to give this a 5 star rating is due in part to this point?

You will really begin to understand his book once you have had the pleasure of reading the other books mentioned throughout. His work is excellent, and in places really out there with idea's and concepts, but if you made this the first book on this topic you read, you may feel inclined to be a little sceptical at times? However, it flows well and he brings every idea that he puts forward into the realms of possibility and backs it up as much as it is possible to do so.

For example he quotes quite openly from a lot of other authors and shows how this works within his frame work. The following is a list of authors and titles he will use at various times and books which I have read. The great part about this is that when he knits it in you instantly remember the entire section of the work he mentions and it really gives it an extra kick. If you had not read them you may just breeze past without really understanding it's importance, so here is the list.

Authors: Christopher Knight, Robert Lomas and Allan Buttler

Books Mentioned (or quoted from):

The book of Hiram
The Hiram Key
Turning the Hiram Key
The Invisible College
Uriel's Machine
The second Messiah
Solomon's Power Brokers
Who Built The Moon

Author: Graham Handcock

Books Mentioned (or quoted from):

The Sign and The Seal
Finger Prints of the God's

Author: Laurence Gardener

Book Mentioned (or quoted from):

Lost Secrets of the Sacred Ark

Authors: Michael Baigent, Richard Leigh & Henery Lincoln

Book Mentioned (or quoted from)

The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail

Now, having already read everyone of these titles (plus a few others from these authors) I was able to follow through his book while fully grasping the points he made. The beauty of his work is he gives the same themes and information in a new light and with his view point! As you read through this work you will be encouraged to seek out your own idea's and understandings. I found his approach very interesting and thought provoking. I can not say I 100% agree with everything in it, but there is information which can not be ignored.

If you're like me and must know the truth then you need to consider everything and everyone's information and opinions, build from this what feels true in your own heart and learn from your own experiences and research, because as the old saying goes, the truth is out there! And on a personal level I also believe it is within..:) So read the book!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2002
Pure genius. This book is both interested me from start to finish, but it has also opened my mind to other things that are going on behind the scenes. The history of the Knights Templar, The priory of Sion, and the CFR are all looked at, some in more depth than others. This book is really worth reading, even if it’s just to find out how incestuous the ruling classes and leaders of the old world, and the new world were and are.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2010
Very interesting read. Jim Marrs has certainly covered a wide range of topics here. Who really runs the world? No one really knows for sure. The politicians appear to be nothing more than talking heads or mouthpieces for shadowy organisations lurking in the background. Do the bankers pull the strings? Or is it the Freemasons?

In covering such a broad time frame, from the alleged secret knowledge of the ancient Egyptians, to the Illuminati, the Trilateral Commission, etc., the author has given himself quite an unwieldy amount of material to arrange into a cohesive whole, but he has a pretty good stab at it.

This is the kind of book that the reader can dip into at any stage, without having to read methodically from A to Z. So if your area of interest is The Skull And Bones, or The Knights Templar, and so on, all you have to do is look up the chapter to get Jim Marrs' take on the subject.

Sometimes I get the impression that he is merely paraphrasing other authors - for example in his chapter on "The Anunnaki" he appears to have drawn heavily on the writings of Zecharia Sitchin - but on the whole he puts his own individual stamp on things. He is quite a charismatic speaker with a high profile on You Tube, etc., and this comes through in his fast-paced style of writing.

Marrs certainly makes a creditable attempt to unravel all the secrets on earth from Day One to the present time, which, as stated above, is quite a tall order, but have a dip into it - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
A rewrite/rehash of other's work - scholarly thorough? It's all about power - or believed power - and therefore pretty repetitious. If only someone could organise things half as well as he claims the conspirators do,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
This is a valuable attempt to put together a modern net of the various "conspiratorial" organizations around, from the Trilateral Commission to the CFR and the Bilderbergers. Valuable mainly for ease of accessability, less valuable in terms of real analysis. And the sources, sometimes of doubtful validity (a fortiori, David Icke!) are cited without any attempt made to discriminate. Also, some at least of the information is suspect: I do not think that Alfred Rosenberg, despite his "Jewish-sounding" name (in reality, Jews very often make use of non-Jewish names) was a Jew, as claimed. Hitler and Dietrich Eckhart would NEVER have allowed a Jew, however anti-Semitic (as was, to some extent, Marx!) to be part of their own intimate circles. And his photograph (not in this book) shows someone who looks European, as far as I can see.

The Protocols of Zion are examined quite interestingly.

Well worth reading, overall, because so many people are naive on this topic and fail to understand how the "Western" lodges and organizations manipulate current affairs, appointing and dismissing the Blairs, Bush's and Obamas at will.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
Upon starting this book I had high expectations for it because of all the positive reviews and my personal thirst for conspiracy theories relating to secret societies, occultism, the European bankers and such which. Through the first third of the book or so, the author tries to discuss the conspiracies relating all these matters, which I found relatively interesting (I've read more interesting books but it was still along the same lines). However, the book then begins to take a wrong turn somewhere and begins to discuss the Jesus bloodline (which I am not confirming nor denying at this point) which I consider an interesting take on the matter.

I imagine that at this point the author felt bored and delved into his special stash to try and stimulate the imagination (I'll explain when I specifically use the term `imagination'). The author begins to make claims that the Bible was mistranslated which resulted in the so called misinterpretation of religion. For now, I am willing to accept this point, but only because it is crucial to my argument. The author then goes on to say that some Sumerian tablets were found that they have been translated to English and that they reveal that Humans were created by aliens or serpent kings....
My question is this, if the Bible was originally in Hebrew and there were so many mistakes in translation (as the author claims), given that Hebrew is an established language and all, how does the author explain the intricate details he has given about the lives and doings of these so called aliens who created mankind if the tablets allegedly tell the story are in a lost language which has been forgotten for centuries!? Wouldn't it be more logical to assume that the margin of error in translating these tablets from Sumerian to English would be astronomical when compared to the margin of error of translating Hebrew to English? He makes one argument to discredit the Bible and then counters that very same argument to spin an outlandish and blasphemous account of humanity's creation! All I am saying is that the author is self contradictory and as such he completely destroys his closing argument in the final part of the book. Basically for me the book ended with disappointment and that was my lasting impression.

One point of benefit from the book, is that the author (with points referring to more recent historical conspiracies) provides a wealth of reading resources.

In the final commentary in the book, having sensed he has very closely walked the line of blasphemy and heresy, tries to make a flimsy attempt to make amends with the reader and his/her religious beliefs. Overall, I think the book does contain certain interesting bits and pieces about more modern history and the conspiracies behind them, however the farther back the author goes in time the more spurious his argument begins to sound.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)