Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2011
This is a very Christmassy film indeed. Narrated by a jolly snowman (voiced by Burl Ives) and set in the snowy north pole with poseable big eyed woolly reindeer and stylish landscapes, the whole thing looks very cute and very kitsch in that 60's way.

Rudolph the red nose reindeer's story we all know from the classic christmas song (upon which this film is based). It's his rise from being the outcast with his shiny red nose, to being the hero BECAUSE of his shiny red nose. The whole theme of the film is the triumph of the misfits.

Along for Rudolph's journey is fellow outcast, the blonde quiffed, big eyed elf Herbie who also doesn't fit in with his peers. He's not happy making toys and instead comes out of the closet as a wannabe ... dentist. Yes, it's true. I told you this was kitsch.

But there is genuine humour too, more advanced than i expected. It's a colourful sugary Christmassy world but it totally knows it and is not afraid to send itself up. For example, the elves perform a nauseatingly gleeful song they wrote especially for Santa only for him to declare 'hmm - it needs more work' and storm out, clearly overdosing on all that elfy sugar.

So it's a good all rounder. Good festive story and plenty of interesting characters. Kids will be entranced and adults will be amused. An inventive, sweet and very 60's world. A true Christmas classic.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2004
This is claymation at it's finest. Even the features are pretty good for this one. In America, this is as common a sight on the television as Slade on the radio here during Christmas. Everyone has this one in some way shape or form. Buy this disc now! It's a wonderful story with the right kind of message for Christmas without getting all preachy. That Yukon Cornelius is a riot, too!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
Despite no mention of it on Amazon's site, this US import will NOT play on my UK Panasonic Blu-Ray player. Beware! This might take the shine off your Christmas.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I love these Christmas movies; they take me back to my 1970s childhood, waiting to watch on network TV. Though, this one, in particular, is a poor representation as to how adults (& Santa!) should deal with bullying. Poor Rudolph and Herbie, mocked and ostracised for being different, then only accepted once their differences are seen as benefits to the community.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Bought for 3 yr old nephew and kept him happy for all day christmas. Makes a great gift for anyone who loves ANYTHING TO DO WITH CHRISTMAS ... at any age! Fast delivery and all in one piece when received a definite must ! LOVED IT !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2009
I watched this once a year when I was young as it came on t.v. only that often! It is a simply animated, classic film but so sweet and Christmassy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I rounded out my viewing of Christmas classics I had missed with Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. This was the final special in a collection I got recently in exchange for honest reviews. I knew that the special expanded on the story in ways I wasn't familiar with. Some work and some didn't, but overall it's a good special.

The story starts off in the way you would expect. Rudolph (voiced by Billy Richards) is born to Donner (Paul Kligman). There's just one problem, Rudolph has a nose that glows red. They try to hide it from the other reindeer, but when it comes out, everyone shuns Rudolph. Even Santa thinks Rudolph is flawed.

Meanwhile, we meet Hermey (Paul Soles), an elf that doesn't want to make toys. He wants to be, gasp, a dentist. After making a mess of things one too many times, Hermey heads out, where he meets up with Rudolph. The two decide to run away together, but soon meet up with Yukon Cornelius (Larry Mann), a prospector. Can they find a way to survive while avoiding the Abominable Snow Monster?

Obviously, if you are going to turn a two minute song into a 50 minute special, you are going to have to expand on the story. Most of that works well. Hermey and his parallel journey to Rudolph's allows for the moral of the story to be reinforced. Yukon adds some much needed fun to the second half of the story.

On the other hand, I'm still trying to figure out why the Island of Misfit Toys appears. Yes, it provides some nice gags, but their story is never really paid off. The Abominable Snow Monster ties into the theme a bit more, but he could easily frighten the main audience of young kids.

The only name in the cast I recognized is Burl Ives. He narrates as Sam the Snowman and sings a few songs, which is a real treat. The rest of the songs were pretty bland to me. On the other hand, the cast is great at bringing life to their Claymation characters.

Claymation isn't my favorite form of animation, and the usual herky jerky movements are here. It's well done although not as polished as other versions of the media I have seen have been.

Which brings us to the moral of the story. With all the talk about bullying in the news right now, it amazes me to see something with that as the main theme written almost 40 years ago. Just proves that there is nothing new in our society today after all, doesn't it? You can really see this piece as a dual message. If you are being bullied, remember that you are special and the others don't know what they are talking about. Bullies need to remember the same thing; there is something special in every one.

What bugs me a bit in this piece is that everyone but our heroes turns out to be a bully. Even Santa gets into the act before seeing how Rudolph's differences might be useful. It would be nice to have a wise adult character who expressed those sentiments early in the story.

But I'm probably over analyzing a special meant to turn a classic Christmas song into an annual family tradition. Or here's a radical idea, talk it over with your kids yourself after you've enjoyed it.

Even with the flaws, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer is a fun Christmas tale. I can certainly see why it is still so loved today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
This is a good example of stop motion animation with a pleasant story whose moral is that being different may be just what is needed in certain circumstances. However be warned - the Amazon description claims English subtitles are available. The copy I received had none. If you need subtitles, this edition may not be what you want.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I was unsure if my children would like this classic Rudolph animation - but it was a total hit. Despite it's age it still struck a chord and there was no complaints about the way it was made, in fact if anything the children were fascinated by it. Lovely nostalgic feel to it, a lovely DVD to add to the Christmas collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2007
Really nice film - Rudolf is very sweet
Daugher was a little bit scared at the snow monster but soon got used to him
good humour too - little elf wants to be a dentist so gets shunned from santa's workshop!
The little characters you see on the cover are animated and they are little puppets
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)