Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£15.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2016
What the Royal Navy expects of its commissioned officers and senior ratings with regard to the six core values of leadership. Well worth reading by those in management and positions of leadership.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
Great book, used it for my AIB prep and was fantastic for the career pipeline and the core values. All good stuff for the interview! Added bonus that it arrived a day earlier than expected!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Great little book - easy to read/digest and dip in and out of as it's broken down into sections. Practical advice including snippets from very high ranking individuals. Recommend to anyone wanting greater leadership awareness or to work on their skills.
Very speedy delivery too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Excellent account of how the RN does business and the reasons why it does it so successfully. Highly recommended to all Naval Officers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Although a standard text for the Navy it should also be standard issue for any aspiring manager. Clear and concise with a refreshing absence of management speak BS that is so fashionable these days but vacuous. Whether a captain of industry or leading a small team for the first time there will be something in this book for you. Probably quite a lot actually.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
This book honestly makes me feel very powerful in dealing with the corporate business world and in my relationship with people in general. It makes me feel really complete coupled with my personal attributes that I have obtained in my lifetime so far and I feel really blessed to have had access to it.

The book is so straight forward, simple to read and easy to understand. I love this wonderful, wonderful book and I will like to recommend it to the whole world. Andrew St George, you're an exceptional author, highly experienced, very knowledgeable and your book is truly a masterpiece. Thank you for making this masterpiece available to all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
With a combination of comments made by serving and past members of the Senior Service - and information on the training and goals they have for creating the ethos of the Navy and the Royal Marines Andrew St George has created a short, readable and clear account of a way of organising and inspiring people to achieve their best that turns out to be really quite inspiring in itself. The combination of unwavering high expectations and focus on the experience the individuals of whom so much is expected is a really valuable.
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I read this book when the company I worked for started to formalise the behaviours they wished to set-out for future leaders. It seemed to me that the Navy was probably the longest running example of embedding the right culture, living by example and allowing those capable to do the right job. Don't be put off if you think it doesn't apply away from the services - the models and the lessons apply to any multidisciplined business and within our leadership team the oft heard comment when considering a course of action is now "What would the Navy do?". Recommended reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
This is a cracking read, but it is a hash of people's quotes and opinions, so you have to consider that when you read it. I've found some very astute insights into the deep underpinning ethos of both Naval and Marine cultures, alongside brief touches onto the more practical aspects such as structuring of orders etc. However it's not a 'complete' book by any means, so you won't find all the answers in it. But I don't think such a book would be possible, so this book to me achieves its goal: it distils much of the wisdom from hundreds of military individuals of all ranks and roles, and presents that to you in a concise and clear format. It's then up to you to wrestle with that to take what you want and develop your own style and approaches from it. For me, the introduction and quotes are the real gems in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
This is quite simply an essential guide to getting things done - as a member of the Senior Service I clearly recognise the examples provided throughout this book and aspire to delivering my leadership within the principles set out so helpfully here. Andrew St George's extensive research, with his willingness to live alongside those he was studying, has ensured the book captures the reality of leadership in all its facets encountered in the Naval Service. However, its usefulness goes well beyond the context of the Royal Navy, which is why I recommend it to anybody engaged in delivering an outcome that involves more than themselves; this book provides the essential guide rails to achieving team work at its best. Andrew clearly 'gets it' and, with his help and a bit of practice, so can you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)