Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2010
IT is great to catch a tv show that you can call a classic and i loved each episode i plugged in my laptop to my tv set my region and away i went. I just got addicted and the cgi and humour were just great, the fact its USA R1 didnt stop me and all the extras were a bonus over the UK R2. Nice packaging long delivery time . but i like it ...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
The perfect compliment to anyone who loves StarShip Troopers. Roughnecks: Starship Troopers - Complete Campaigns [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2008
Corny title!

This was on TV many years ago and it appealed to the kid in me but that aside....

This is based on the novel by Robert A. Heinlein and does what the movie tried to do and didn't (I enjoyed the first movie) creates characters that you feel an attachment too!

CGI is fantastic, the Bug enemy unstoppable and the action is every Sci Fi fans dream.... you can tell this is one of my fav's.

Bought the region 1, cause the region two didn't have all the episodes and bought a Region 1 DVD player to enjoy it.

The goodie for you: brilliant direction, acting and CGI
The baddie is that they stopped producing them just before the end!

But it and be absorbed for kids and adults!

FedNet out!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2003
Sound. Really, I have a good home cinema system that I would like to exploit. However, the DVD doesn't sound like dolby digital or the effects have been toned down too much. Due to TV airing perhaps? When there is gunfire I would have preferred to hear a strong gun noise (this is not for kids anyway). Unfortunately what could have been perfect is marred by this lack. Otherwise, everything is great. Animation is almost flawless, there is good character development, the underlying political criticism against a fascist regime is still there (following the movie) and the imagination of the creators in creting bugs, aliens etc. is top notch.
One major problem with the DVD set (I ordered all of them and made the mistake of following volume numbers in watching the series): Whoever gave volume numbers should be spanked because Pluto is not followed by Tesca campaign. So Tesca campaign should not be Volume 2; it is actually the 4th volume preceded by Hydora and Tophet. My experience was a bit ruined because of this stupid numbering. Anybody who hasn't watched should take this precaution not to spoil the fun.
Enjoy!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
If you liked the film you need to watch this as its just as good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2003
If you'll just check out the details given in all the reviews so far, they all miss out a certain fact you'll need to know before buying this DVD. It was released as volume 2, but this chapter in the series actually comes fourth, after the Hydora and Tophet Campaigns (volumes 3 and 4). Just be aware of this if you have only seen the first DVD and want to get the rest, since it will easily give away a fair number of plot threads.
Razak's Roughnecks have followed the fleet to Tesca Numerosa, a green moon covered in thick jungle and dense undergrowth which is a vital location of supplies for both the warring sides in the ongoing struggle. For once the Roughnecks get to breathe some fresh air and are able to move around the jungle in lighter combat gear than their usual pressure suits; but this is of little relief when a new squad member's unwelcome arrival threatens to turn the Roughnecks upon each other. With tensions rising and new bugs lurking in the dark and gloomy depths of Tesca, will Razak be able to hold his men together?
The series continues to impress in this chapter; the work carried out on production design alone has paid off and you don't find yourself spotting things that look out of place, or that don't feel quite right. The animation of both the surroundings and locations is far more advanced than what we've seen in the first volume (let's face it, rock isn't very challenging to imagine), and is an excellent showcase for what the series could produce.
My only real gripe is that supporting characters aren't always well developed and sometimes come out looking a bit "robotic" - just sprites going through the motions, and they can sometimes look a bit out of place when all the main characters have been animated to such fine details such as their facial expressions and the way they generally stand or move around. But to be honest, it's not something you'd quickly notice once the action gets rolling again, and it doesn't detract much from the overall product.
As you'll already have seen there are five episodes on this disc compared to the Pluto Campaign's six, so the action is over a bit faster than before; however the show itself more than makes up for this with its excellent quality, and also with the amount of time spent building up its characters. Overall mark is Four Stars for the top notch animation and highly enjoyable ride, but no marks for marketing on the part of the publisher.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This film is probably exactly what you expected. The Chronicles will never live up to the hype of the original starship troopers, but this volume remains a highly entertaining continuation of well loved characters.
"The Tesca Campaign" puts Rico's Roughnecks in a deadly battle with giant arachnids. Forced against their will to work with the unloved T'Phai and his team of bug controllers, things look tense. It is touch and go for a while for all the characters, but eventually they MUST learn to work together.. or they simply won't survive.
This film is a meagre 95 mins long, and that 95mins spins by fast, and it is split up into 5 episodes. Fortunately there are plenty of subtitles and a few extras - producers commentary, photo gallery, and exclusive trailers - to keep you entertained even after the movie itself has finished.
I'm going to give this one a generous ****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2002
Thsi is teh second DVD of the animated CG series based loosely on Heinlein's Novel and Paul Verhoven's Film. When it was firsl released this series was largely ignored, too kiddie for adults and to adult for kids. I really enjoed it, the characters grow and develop and you do begin to care about them. Youa re better buying teh first DVD before this one (Also very good) as it will set up teh characters and setting for you. One criticism is that the idea of grouping teh discs into campaigns means that we seem to miss a couple of transitional episodes (Good recaps are given but I do feel I missed something)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Although the graphics were very good the plot lacked the action I had expected from the series. somewhat lacking in entertainment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
A good follow on from original series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)