Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2013
For an upcoming trip to South-Western Germany, I borrowed a copy of this new edition from our local library. How disappointing! I'm not sure why it was felt necessary to commission a completely new book rather than update Gordon McLachlan's superb 1st edition (I have my own 1998 copy of this) but the result is a book that completely omits great chunks of the lesser-known, yet more rewarding parts of this still fascinating country. We happened to be going to what used to be called 'Schwabia' and is now known as Baden-Wurtemberg. This edition concentrates almost exclusively on the well-travelled Black Forest and Bodensee, yet totally ignores the Swabische Alb (Jura) and the delightful towns of Haigerloch, Hechingen and Rottweil. Barely one page is devoted to the beautiful Upper Danube valley (McLachlan has three). In a guidebook series known for its emphasis on discovery, devoted to a country whose glory is its small towns, this all seems a great shame.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
This is a very detailed book. It could do with a motorway map and include chain hotels too. Photos's are good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Before visiting a foreign country I always but one of these. I find them useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Rough Guides are always very useful. We're going to Germany in July and since it is a country which has been changing we wanted the up-to-date volume. Of course we have the volume devoted to Berlin as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
The Rough Guide to Germany was one of the first books to take a new look at this enigmatic country. It threw out the old prejudices and explored and appreciated the real modern Germany for the incredibly attractive place it now is. Gordon MacLachlan set the standard originally. This edition falls back on the old tourist cliches a bit, but it is still a great guide to a great country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
The second edition of the Rough Guide to Germany, published in April 2012, is an excellent and very useful resource. I especially like the colour-coding system that allows you to find what you are looking for in a matter of seconds. In terms of the content, so far I can only speak for central western Germany but the book has proved exceedingly useful. The chapter on Cologne, for instance, covers all the important sights well and I found the descriptions to be very interesting and engaging. More than thirty entries in the Eating, Drinking and Nightlife sections in Cologne alone offer a great choice for post-sightseeing activities. Overall, this book has more than 900 pages and looking at the other parts of the book I am sure that this is an excellent guidebook for any type of visit to Germany.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
As someone who's lived in Germany in the past, I'm pretty critical of virtually every guide book for not including some of my favourite sights and towns, the ones that are a bit more off the beaten tourist track, yet are real favourites with locals. This guide doesn't include them either, but since it's not alone, I can't complain too much. Apart from that, it's easy to use, easy to find info you need, and covers all the major and important tourist destinations - certainly a decent guide to use if you're heading to Germany for a relatively short time and want to know which parts of this large country will suit you best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
I have been using these guides for some years, and like the others this one did not disappoint, I downloaded the Kindle version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
What a disappointment. Poor maps, poor referencing, difficult to use and generally not a great guide book. Don't waste your money and get another one.
Main problems:
1) No tube/railway maps of any city. Surely the most important reference map for any guide book?!
2) None of the pictures of anything in the book are referenced in case you would like to know where this particular place is if you would like to know about it or go there - you simply don't know what they are.
3) Any story excerpt in the book is not referenced if you would like to visit. eg there is a nice little piece about the Munich Putsch. After reading it maybe you would like to go to the places mentioned? Unlucky you will have to find out how to get there elsewhere.
4) Flying in to Berlin TXL; no reference on how to get to the city centre.

I could go on but wont.....
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
This book is a good read as well as telling you a lot about the country. Using it to plan a trip next year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)