Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 December 2008
Bought this before a trip hoping that it would be a useful guide to the country and the main cities that I wished to visit.

Main problem with it that I found was that it failed to mention the city train routes (So in another words, it will point out the main sites in a city but no clear indication of how to get there something that rough guide books generally do (I have a rough guide to Turkey that does tell you which bus stop/train to take to get from one tourist site to the other))

A positive like all rough guide books is that it is sensitive to the country it covers and gives you all the info you really need to have an enjoyable holiday visiting the main cultural sites. It has the usual history language guide etc.

Recommended, however not as good as some of the other rough guide books.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2000
A well-written and often humourous guide which helped us discover a side to an area so often overlooked. The information was precise, and in my opinion very well researched.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Handy to have if you are travelling around these countries. Good amount of detail but not too bulky. Biased towards non car travellers but generally has good recommendations for restaurants, attractions and accommodation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
I always go for Rough Guides wherever in the world I'm travelling and once again, it was a great choice. I was especially impressed with the section on Art Nouveau architecture in Brussels. The Contexts part is as informative and interesting as ever and the practical info is up to date (apart from prices, which seem to be going up all the time - but the guide book serves as a rough guide where the prices are concerned :)).
All in all - recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2002
As with other rough guides, this has no colour maps nor does it have the maps in one section. You constantly have to cross reference between sections.
for example: you've just been to see X and now you want to find somewhere to eat
No fold out maps either.
One of the places we went to had closed (permanently) and another had such poor directions that we could not find it.
It does have good historical information and general information about culture, society and so on.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
This is the first time that I have bought a Kindle edition of a Rough Guide or any other guidebook. It is convenient to carry of course and pretty useful for reference and good to read. The big downside on my Kindle Paperwhite is that the maps have too low a resolution to be very useful - for example the numbers showing restaurant locations on the maps are illegible on the Kindle and my laptop. However, using the Kindle app to read on my smartphone overcomes this, and I expect the same would be true for tablets or other touchscreen devices.
As to its usefulness as a guidebook, I would give it five stars. As usual with Rough Guides, it has everything I need in a general guidebook, although for art and architecture I also like to have the Blue Guide if available. I find Rough Guides match my requirements better than Lonely Planets, but that must be largely a matter of what information you want and how easy you find the books to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2009
This is standard Rough Guide fare, with all the features you would expect; basic information, followed by a place-by-place guide to things to see and do, plus accommodation, food and entertainment options, with a `contexts' section at the back giving more detailed historical and cultural information. There's also a language section.

There are colour photos only at the front in the highlights section, the rest are black and white. I was also disappointed with the lack of detail in some of the travel information - considering Rough Guides are supposed to be aimed at independent travellers, they could do with including a bit more. There is no section for solo travellers at all.

Luxembourg is given scant coverage, with major monuments in Luxembourg City, such as the War Memorial, not even mentioned. This is frustrating given that Rough Guide do not provide any other more in depth guides to the country, so you would hope they'd make sure this one was more comprehensive. Some of the information is also inaccurate, such as the room numberings in the section on Brussels' Museum of Fine Arts. The maps aren't always easy to read and need more landmark information to help the traveller on the ground navigate. Some of the street names didn't seem to match up either.

It's just about small enough to fit in a handbag, but not a pocket. I found it intermittently useful although I disagreed with the author over a lot of the recommendations and comments on sites. However overall I wasn't that impressed, for saying this is a guide for an increasingly popular destination (with rising numbers of travellers looking for lower-carbon, lower-cost breaks), by one of the big players in the Guide book market.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
My sister's lived in Brussels for about 15 years so I've visited quite a bit but went there on holiday recently with this guide book, and to a few other parts of Belgium and it came in very handy, lots of good recommendations and suggestions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Bit vague in places, could have done with a bit more detail. Some surprising omissions re WWi sites etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
great reliability on a great country and a smaller not bad one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)