Ronald Stevenson: Passaca... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ronald Stevenson: Passacaglia on DSCH

Price: £16.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 28 Oct 2013
£13.41 £13.40
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Product details

  • Conductor: None
  • Composer: Ronald Stevenson
  • Audio CD (28 Oct. 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Delphian Records
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 278,646 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sonata Allegro
  2. Waltz in Rondo Form
  3. Episode (Presto)
  4. Suite (Prelude - Sarabande - Jig - Sarabande - Minuet - Jig - Gavotte - Polonaise)
  5. Pibroch (Lament for the Children)
  6. Episode: Arabesque Variations
  7. Nocturne (Extended)
  8. Reverie-Fantasy
  9. Fanfare - Forebodings: Alarm - Glimpse of a War-vision
  10. Variations On 'Peace, Bread and the Land'
  11. Symphonic March
  12. Episode (Volante Scherzoso)
  13. Fandango
  14. Pedal-Point ('To Emergent Africa')
  15. Central Episode: Etudes
  16. Variations in C Minor
  17. Adagio: Tribute to Bach - Triple Fugue Over Ground Bass
  18. Subject I. Andamento
  19. Subject II. B a C H
  20. Subject III. Dies Irae

Disc: 2

  1. Final Variations On Theme Derived from Ground (Adagissimo Barocco)
  2. Promenade Pastorale
  3. Waltzes
  4. Fugue Without Protocol (Tema Locriano)
  5. Transition to Movement 2
  6. Intermezzo-notturno: Omaggio a John Field
  7. Alla Giga
  8. Marcia Funebre (Lento Ma Con Moto)
  9. Allegro Quasi Feroce
  10. Epilogue (Andante Cantabile)
  11. Nocturne (Homage to John Field)
  12. Tema: Movimento Di Sarabanda - Riflessione Del Tema - Transizione
  13. Variation 1: Con Moto Amabile
  14. Variation 2
  15. Variation 3: Più Mosso (Circa Allegro)
  16. Variation 4: Poco Meno Mosso
  17. Variation 5
  18. Variation 6: Sostenuto Solenne
  19. Variation 7: Alla Marcia, Molto Moderato E Quasi Automa
  20. Variation 8: Andante Cantabile
  21. Variation 9: Un Po' Più Mosso (Moderato)
  22. Variation 10: Allegretto Squisito
  23. Variation 11: Alla Siciliana (Allegretto Grazioso)
  24. Variation 12: Alla Barcarolla
  25. Variation 13: Alla Tarantella
  26. Variation 14: Allegro
  27. Variation 15: Sostenuto
  28. Variation 16
  29. Adagietto
  30. Allegro

Product description

Product Description

Music of extraordinary range and power composed at the dawn of the Space Age, Ronald Stevensons Passacaglia on DSCH was long claimed as the biggest single stretch of music ever written for piano. It is a veritable world tour of styles as well as a single-minded exploration of its generating motif, and rising star James Willshire has the technique and vaulting ambition to match both the works grandeur and its immense wealth of detail. Willshire gave the 1955 Variations on a Theme of Pizzetti its belated concert premiere in 2012, while the later Fugue, Variations and Epilogue on a Theme by Arnold Bax crystallises Stevensons lifelong devotion to a Celtic aesthetic as well as his innovative approach to variation technique. A clutch of shorter works completes the picture, foregrounding aspects of Stevensons charm, wit and grace.


It is hard to imagine this music better played: Willshire deserves a medal. 4/5 Stars --BBC Music Magazine

' animated and beautifully inflected account...' 'The warm sonic ambience and Biss s intelligent annotations make this release all the more worth consideration...' --Gramophone

'major achievement' with 'evangelising urgency' --International Record Review

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers