+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by dr-pill
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: If your order is in by midday Monday to Friday delivery within UK is often next working day. Swift airmail overseas.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Romantic Violin Concerto, Vol. 3 Hubay 3 & 4 CD

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

RRP: £15.99
Price: £13.18 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
You Save: £2.81 (18%)
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 24 Mar 2003
"Please retry"
£8.96 £5.48
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
20 new from £8.96 2 used from £5.48
£13.18 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently bought together

  • The Romantic Violin Concerto, Vol. 3  Hubay 3 & 4
  • +
  • The Romantic Violin Concerto, Vol. 6  Hubay 1 & 2
Total price: £26.36
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: Martyn Brabbins
  • Composer: Jeno Hubay
  • Audio CD (24 Mar. 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B00008OP2K
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 125,135 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Introduction quasi Fantasia: moderato
  2. Scherzo: Presto
  3. Adagio (Moderato)
  4. Allegro Con Fuoco
  5. Introduction: Molto moderato
  6. Theme: Adagio
  7. Variation 1: Un poco piu vivo
  8. Variation 2: Animato
  9. Variation 3: Allegro
  10. Variation 4: Moderato
  11. Variation 5: adagio non troppo
  12. Variation 6: Poco animato
  13. Variation 7: Moderato
  14. Variation 8: Andante con moto
  15. Variation 9: Allegro moderato
  16. Variation 10: Allegro molto
  17. Variation 11: L'istesso Tempo
  18. Cadenza
  19. Theme: Grave
  20. Preludio: Largo
  21. Corrente e Musette: Presto
  22. Larghetto (Adagio)
  23. Finale e capriccio: Allegro

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Quite an underated composer, Jeno Hubay desreves to be better known as a strong romantic composr for the violin. The recording and playing are both excellent, although I was unfamiliar with the soloist.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resplendent 16 Jun. 2008
By David Saemann - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Hagai Shaham has made something of a cause out of the violin music of Jeno Hubay, which here appears fully deserving of such advocacy. The music is suitably virtuosic but never showy. Hubay, unlike some other violinist-composers, writes beautifully and interestingly for orchestra. The purely orchestral moments of the Variations may remind you of Franz Liszt's symphonic poems. Overall, Hubay writes with taste, refinement, concision, admirable sense of structure, and engaging sonorities. The performances here are fully up to the material. Hagai Shaham is an engaging player with an excellent technique. He approaches these works with confidence and style. Martyn Brabbins and the BBC Scottish Symphony are staples of Hyperion's concerto recordings, and here they are at their very best. The recorded sound, from a church in Edinburgh, is full and tonally appealing, some of the best I've heard from Hyperion. If you enjoy investigating the works of forgotten late Romantic composers, this is an excellent CD to add to your collection.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing virtuosity 14 Sept. 2003
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I liked this CD. It is a welcome CD of this excellent violinist, where he shows his amazing abilities. The music of Hubay is appealing, and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra under Barbbins nicly balances Hagai Shaham's excellent perfomance. The magazine Strad describes Shaham's performance on this CD as "Jaw Dropping," and it is that magazine's "pick of the month" for August 2003. Highly recommended.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Look for similar items by category