Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 29 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2013
I have used the hard copy for years - now I carry it with me where ever the kindle goes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
Online version inadequate
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2013
There are sections of this thesaurus that are missing. Why? I tried to archive this book and then download it again but to no avail. I want my money back!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2012
This is an excellent product. I use it on Kindle For PC. It is much easier to use than the paper version. Searching is very easy. It takes you to an index where there are links to the various senses and parts of speech. This is the first Kindle reference book I have bought that is optimised for searching. This book is a model for other publishers to follow (including big names in publishing!).

Some reviewers suggested there were spelling mistakes. I haven't looked, and perhaps never will look at every word, but everything seems fine. Roget does contain some foreign words, some old English words, and some words in unusual, but correct senses. For instance, under 'desire', there is '... twist; thirst...'. 'Twist' does look odd, but is used perfectly correctly. Elsewhere, 'drouth' is used perfectly correctly in the sense of a shortage, even though, 'drought' is more normal.

So a good cheap book which is easier to use than the print version.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2013
Can't really complain at a purchase price of £1.99, and the search, within the limitations of the Kindle OS, works reasonably, but it appears to be based - admittedly from a limited number of searches - on 'American' English with only some of the variations linked so it seems that finding some words where there are US/English spelling variants might be a bit hit & miss. Some examples: searching for 'humour' & 'rumour' returns no results and can only be found using the American spellings of 'humor' & 'rumor'; searching for 'defence' does return the US version 'defense', but 'defence' isn't actually listed.

Disappointing that this aspect isn't mentioned in Amazon's product right up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2012
This is such good value and so easy to use. Very comprehensive and it is easy to use and search.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2013
This may be useful for creative writing for linking moods, concepts etc but does not work in any straightworward way for helping solve crossword clues which is what I wanted it for.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2012
I am disappointed with this. I had expected the same or better than the printed version but find that the alternative words offered are very limited and one is left referring to the e-dictionary, which is good but which does not do the same job.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
This is supposed to searchable but it isn't (unless mine has not downloaded properly), hence its use as a resource is somewhat limited. Disappointed in the purchase.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)