Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2017
Excellent reference book. Small, handy and well-organized. Words are easy to find. Good quality binding. Does not fall apart or loses pages. A flexicover binding would be a welcome addition to the next edition of this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
It's seen better days, but that just means that someone else found it useful before I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
Needing a new thesaurus I bought this American version. Reviews were positive and it was cheap. A mistake. For a crossword clue I needed a four letter word beginning with k for an avian preditor. I tried "hawk" but there was no entry for it. I tried "falcon",kestral" and "eagle" but again no entries. "Kite" was the obvious answer from my falling - apart Penguin thesaurus. This Princeton volume boasts on the backcover that it contains no obsolete terms. Hard to believe these words are obsolete in America, especially "eagle". Maybe I will just buy an up to date Penguin.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 October 2010
It wasn't until I opened the package that I realised it was the US version - in US English (a misnomer to me - English should be uniquely English).
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
The book is fine just as you would expect however, the print is so tiny I even struggle with new reading glasses
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
I brought this book as a gift for my dad,who is an avid crossword fan.
I wanted to get him the best,and had always heard that Roget's is the best thesaurus available.
He was pleased when he opened it but now he has used it a few times,he is even more pleased.
At this price,it is a steal.
As ever,buying from Amazon,delivery was outstanding..it said 3-5 working days,but arrived in 2,making it in time for his Birthday and covering for my ineptitude.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
I was very disappointed to find this book to be small in format but thick for a format of this size. In the case of a novel, which may be read once or twice, this hardly matters but a reference book should withstand constant use without falling apart. The spine is gummed and breaks easily. I foresee that this book has a limited life. Moreover, the text is uncommonly small, making it hard to read. A magnifying glass is practically essential. I think these considerations should be made clear at the point of sale. I use Roget constantly and I see that I shall not get my money's worth. I award two stars for the quality of the contents but for the means of delivery, zilch (blank, diddly-squat, goose egg, hill of beans, insignificancy, nada, naught...)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
An excellent little Thesuarus that's made easier to use by its dictionary format. Be warned that the type is rather small, ( it has to be really to keep it a manageable size ), so you'll need good eyesight or some form of magnification.

I bought it for my daughter, to improve her vocabulary and all in all it does the job very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
Purchased for a 96 year old lady who thought her Scrabble partner might be cheating. I'm not sure if she intends to look up words or throw the book at him - she hates to lose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
My consistent avocation for more than a decade now has been english lexicology (the study of words) and I have built a respectable library of relevant material. After repeated comparative tests and rigorous assessments of each and every one of my resources I have concluded that this book stands out as the most comprehensive,up-to-date, and above all, practical guide in the market. Its competitive advantages are:
- It lists a mind-boggling array of synonyms (spanning the whole semantic spectrum)for each entry and the arrangement is alphabetical and not based on the semantic proximity of each synonym to the entry - making it completely descriptive and not prescriptive.
- It refers every entry to its relevant concept, effectively linking the word to the idea and mirroring the way we actually think!
- The above produces a concept index which captures our world in intuitive conceptual categories.

BY FAR THE BEST BOOK IN ITS CATEGORY
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)