Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The first thing I would like to say, how annoying that amazon mix reviews with the 'Heavyweight' box-set with the original release, i mean how does this help people make their minds up if they want to buy or not?.

Well anyway I have had my rant and I have to say 'Rocky' has never looked so good, because the edition you get with the Heavyweight box-set is just stunning, you could say picture perfect, it gets a BIG! 5/5 from me and the sound which is in DTS sounds brilliant. Rocky 2,3,4,5 look good they get a 4/5, and Rocky Balboa gets a 5/5.

All in all this is a great box-set and the only one Rocky fans should buy. and for £15 pounds you can't go wrong.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
66 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
Note that Rocky (1976) DVD has the old disc transfer so the image and audio quality on this disc is not that good. They should have put the new Rocky disc, anyway the audio/image quality on rest of the discs (I guess they are taken from the "rocky anthology box set") are really good, rocky 2-3-4-5-6 has DTS sounds. Rocky Balboa dvd is the only disc that has some extra features.

Technical Information of this box set:

-----------------------
Rocky

Audio: English 5.1, German, Spanish mono
Subtitles: English, Danish, Dutch, English HoH, Finnish, German, German HoH, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
-----------------------
Rocky II
Audio: English DTS 5.1, English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English, Hindi
Aspect Ratio:1.85:1
-----------------------
Rocky III

Audio: English DTS 5.1, English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English, Hindi
Aspect Ratio:1.85:1
-----------------------
Rocky IV

Audio: English DTS 5.1, English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English, Hindi
Aspect Ratio:1.85:1
-----------------------
Rocky V

Audio: English DTS 5.1, English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English, Hindi
Aspect Ratio:1.85:1
-----------------------
Rocky Balboa

Audio: English DTS 5.1, English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English HoH
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Extras:
Audio Commentary by Actor/Director Sylvester Stallone
Deleted Scenes & Alternate Ending
Boxing's Bloopers
Skill vs. Will - The Making of Rocky Balboa" Featurette
Reality in the Ring: Filming Rocky's Final Fight" Featurette
Theatrical Trailer
Trailer for Rocky
-------------------------
review image review image
11 comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
I bought this box set impulsively whilst shopping for other dvds. I had always found the original 'Rocky' to be an inspiring film but I couldn't recall the quality of the other films and assumed that like most film franchises (Robocop for example), it would start off brilliantly and then rapidly decline in quality with every subsequent film.

Having watched all Rocky films back-to-back one weekend, the consistency in the quality of the films is pretty strong. I enjoyed Rocky 1 and 2 with the fights with Apollo Creed, Rocky 3 with Mr T and Rocky 4 with Ivan, the russian. Rocky 5 was the only film I found to be a bit on the poor side but it wasn't a bad film. 'Rocky Balboa', the most recent film, is probably the one I found the most inspiring.

As someone who does alot of physical training, it's really motivational watching the scenes where Rocky is in training, especially with the Rocky soundtrack which is just unforgettable. It's a great box set and at a respectable price too.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
This review is solely based on the 40th anniversary edition & not the movies.

Priced at £49.99 at time of writing this review & with the new cover design which include the words '40th anniversary edition' you would think there was something special about this set. There isn't. The only difference between this set & the previous 'heavyweight collection' priced over £30 cheaper is a few art cards & the image on the outer case.

The discs are the same, in the same 6 individual cases, with the same sleeves. No new features.

So basically, if you think artcards & a new design on the cover of the outer box are worth £30 extra then buy it, otherwise it's a massive rip off intended to mislead customers into double dipping (or triple if you had the earlier undisputed collection).
review image review image review image
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2008
The best movie franchise of all time. Stallone may have made a few dodgy decicions in his career but Rocky movies always deliver. Number 5 was a strange ending so he came back with number 6 even though people laughed in his face and pre-judged the movie which just made it all the more satisfying when it was released to critical acclaim.
Every guy should own this.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2007
This is the complete collection of Rocky films, spanning all six films across 30 years. If you already own the Anthology box set there is little incentive to buy this new collection, simply because it differs very little from the previous box set. The most obvious addition is the latest film, Rocky Balboa. This film is a definite finale for the franchise, so rest assured you won't buy this box set only to find out Rocky 7 is on the way. The only other difference is with the original Rocky film, as this collection includes the "Definitive Edition" - a 2 disc set packed full of extras, that can also be bought separately.

Rocky 2 right through to Rocky 5 remain untouched from previous versions, which means they include nothing in the way of extras. This is what has disappointed many fans - a lot of people feel this is a missed opportunity and that extras should have been added. I'm somewhat inclined to agree with them becuase surely there must be some extra material on the cutting room floor that could have been included - promotional material, interviews, commentary, etc? Nope, nothing it seems. Despite this disappointment this is still worth getting for anyone who does not already own all the Rocky films.

It's also worth noting that this collection is a limited edition box set that is indivdually numbered. I'm proud to say I came across number 00051. How limited it actually proves to be is anyone's guess - I suppose technically it could go up to 99,999. Almost 100 thousand people owning a copy suddenly doesn't make it feel quite so limited.
33 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 December 2009
'Rocky' has soundtracks in English, German, and Spanish; main feature sub-titles in Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, German, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, also English and German for the hearing impaired.

'Rocky II', 'Rocky III', 'Rocky IV and 'Rocky V' all have English soundtrack; main feature sub-titles in English and Hindi, also English for the hearing impaired.

'Rocky Balboa' has English soundtrack; main feature sub-titles in English for the hearing impaired.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
No name Rocky Balboa is offered a chance to fight Heavyweight World Champion Apollo Creed, just because cocky Creed likes the sound of Rocky's nickname "The Italian Stallion." 'Rocky' transcends every other sports movie out there by being about a man who just wants to prove he can go the distance, rather than win outright. Most of the subsequent 'Rocky' films become about winning, but the first one was a beautiful tale of a man who was given a chance and took full advantage of it, he proves to the world what he can do. The first film is also about the innocent love Rocky has for the local pet store girl named Adrian. Adrian never talks and Rocky never stops talking, they're a perfect match.

The first 'Rocky' requires a little life experience to get all the nuances and meaning behind it. The rest of the films have their own beauty to them (except 'Rocky V'), but the first film is by far the best of the series.

The interesting thing about the later films is that there is still a story to tell with the perpetual underdog's life. His character continues to evolve and change throughout the series, but that humility and drive to excel are always there. In 'Rocky II,' we see that Rocky really has no idea what to do with the new found wealth that he's going to get from doing commercials.

'Rocky III' shows us an upset and ungrateful Paulie, as well as Rocky's beloved manager Mickey passing away. In a touching scene, where Rocky cries over the body of his fallen manager we are all reminded that this tough-as-nails man still has one of the biggest hearts out there.

'Rocky IV' gives us a glimpse at Rocky's determination and how Creed's cockiness brings him down. Many people consider this one to be their favorite film of the series. It's my second favorite, behind the first film, but for different reasons. By this time they had perfected the fighting scenes and upped the dramatic effect of the sound effects. Out of the series this one is the most fun to watch, but not the most meaningful.

The 'Rocky' saga embodies the underdog story to perfection. Like I said, he's always considered the underdog. That never fazes him though. His outlook on life can be compared to another movie character... Forrest Gump. Rocky has the best intentions, and always wants to do right by his friends and family even if they treat him terribly (I'm looking at you Paulie). Devastation meets him at every turn, but he perseveres.

Rocky is so iconic and so beloved because we love those gritty stories about people who aren't supposed to succeed, but do. We love seeing someone go from rags to riches. The story of Rocky is full of lessons on life like how to treat other people, what true friendship is, and how love conquers all. Sure I might be getting a little sappy here, but to this day, each and every 'Rocky' film (with the exception of 'Rocky V') chokes me up more than once during its runtime.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
I just finished watching the Rocky cycle, all 6! I must say it was excellent watching the whole series. I remember being disappointed by number five especially but it was better than I remembered, especially knowing how it was "top and tailed" by number 6. If you are a woman or male-child (physically or mentally) you may just want to watch I and VI but definitely watch VI again with the commentary by Sylvester Stallone so you can get the depth behind this life lesson.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
I have grown up watching these movies and I will always say that Rocky to Rocky IV is hands down one of my favourite film series. I can stand to watch Rocky V, and Rocky Balboa was a fantastic return to the big screen for the famous character. So on choice of films alone I certainly got my moneys worth.

The sad news is that the quality of the bluray itself is a bit of a hit or miss. The quality is not as sharp as a lot of the other blurays from the time (see: Alien Quadrilogy). There is a lot of blurriness and an exception amount of film grain in some of the later films. It is definitely a step up from my old DVDs, but I was hoping for a little more.

I wouldn't recommend buying it on picture quality alone but if you have a little extra cash lying around, it wouldn't hurt.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.00
£3.25

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)