Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by momox co uk.
£25.08 + £1.26 delivery
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Robert Schumann: A Portrait [2011]

Additional DVD options Edition Discs
Amazon Price
New from Used from
(Aug 30, 2011)
£25.08 £18.99
Dispatched from and sold by momox co uk.

Product details

  • Actors: Various Orchestras inc. Vienna Philharmonic, Munich Philharmonic
  • Format: Classical, Colour, DVD-Video, NTSC
  • Language: German
  • Subtitles: English, French
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 4:3 - 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Classification: Exempt
  • Studio: EuroArts
  • DVD Release Date: 30 Aug. 2011
  • Run Time: 110 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • ASIN: B0055ISAEU
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 226,106 in DVD & Blu-ray (See Top 100 in DVD & Blu-ray)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Product Description

Commemorating the 155th anniversary of Robert Schumann's death (8 June 1810 - 29 July 1856), this film by Ernst Burger reveals his human side through a chronicle of his life from 1828 to his death in 1856. While the music features prominently, Burger's focus on his biography and personality truly brings him to life. Contemporary depictions are interspersed with excerpts from his music performed by Leonard Bernstein and the Vienna Philharmonic, Vladimir Ashkenazy, András Schiff, Zoltán Kocsis, Hermann Prey and Daniel Barenboim with Sergiu Celibidache and the Munich Philharmonic, among many others. Though ending on a note of sadness, we are left with profound gratitude for the genius who left us so many musical masterworks. With the voices of Michael Tregor (Robert Schumann), Sophie von Kessel (Clara Schumann) and Joachim Höppner.


Absorbing German documentary with English subtitles, charting the life and work of a sublime creative genius, from uncontainable outbursts of musical elation to utter despair, illustrated by pictorial and musical examples ---- 4* --Julian Haylock, BBC Music Magazine

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
John D. Randolph
5.0 out of 5 starsGood flim
17 September 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful.