Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
64
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£32.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2015
Brought for my partner as part of the set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Cracking pace, can't put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2017
I've only ever bought one Bourne book by Eric Van Lustbader and this wasn't it. Unfortunately, a relative of mine must have seen the one book I did buy lying around and ever since has been buying me his books as presents; I don't have the heart to tell her how bad they are. So, I read them just for amusement.

The amusement is in spotting the errors. Errors in logic, errors in continuity, errors in geographical placement, and errors about the stretchable limits of human belief. His books are a cornucopia of amusement for those who are safely past their teens and have a preference for adult literature, and as a way of reminding themselves of how far they have come.

The narrative is flat and juvenile in its construction, naively simplistic, no big words; and the dialogue is a continuously boring trickle of predictable cliches with dated vocabulary and repetitive cadence. No matter who is speaking, or what their nationality, they all speak in the same manner and use the same sentence structure. Characterisation is consequently deficiently shallow and not helped by occasional archaic phraseology straight out of the nineteen eighties, particularly when attempting a British persona.

The storyline would have us travelling all over the world, but once off American soil the author's attempts at exotic description are superficial and woolly, their perspective limited; suspiciously they look to have been constructed from nothing more than a casual trip around Google Earth. The plots are sexually adolescent, gratuitously violent and excruciatingly complex, and yet contrive to read like a child's progressive reading resource.

In short, these books are truly awful.

If you happen to be around Mount Holiness Church in Inwood, New York State, one still and moonless night, don't be afraid of the rustling noises coming from the cemetery, it will just be Robert Ludlum turning in his grave.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
The latest in the Bourne saga does not disappoint, and has the uncanny ability to reflect the current state of world affairs so accurately. Jason still has his old enemies, the US government, on his trail, but now finds himself embroiled in the dangerous world of Middle Eastern terrorist fanatics. There are the usual plots and sub plots to keep you turning the pages, in fact , not wanting to put the book down until you finally get to the finale. All in all, a fantastic read and a worthy sequel to the original books by Robert Ludlum.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
I read this book and love how each new book builds on the last book and builds upon the previous plot which then gives us another incite into the complex complex life of Jason Bourne; yet but still does not tell us who he was before he became Jason Bourne of the Treadstone program. Read it, however you will not understand fully unless you read all the books before. The author builds on writing's of the creator of Bourne Robert Ludrum, Eric Van Lustbader has taken over the mantle and given us novels which creates tension and excitement and far better than the films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
There is a consistent quality to the Jason Bourne books and this one certainly attains that.
Full of the twists and turns that you expect, this is an excellent edge of your seat read.
Bourne regularly gets himself into serious situations and then turns it into something else often to his eventual advantage.
I do not know how many more books there will be in the series, but rest assured I will read them all.
For me, there are few better thrillers available and even less with a pedigree this good and consistent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
I love Robert Ludlums books.. but really a new release. Lets call it what it is....it is a book written by someone else.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Excellent story, well executed. Exciting story coming at the same problem from so many different angles, I love the Bourne series and hope they continue, it cannot be easy coming up with new adventures for him but so far very successful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2016
I thought I had read the last of these and was looking for a holiday read. All the usual stuff applies and the storyline is great. Some interesting thought provoking material in there too. Does the job admirably
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2017
What can be said about this series that will do it justice. It was thrilling,it was impossible to put away. It was as good a read as you could get. Diets hope Jason makes a return sometime soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse