Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
978
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
Okay, let's get serious for a moment. This show, start to finish is simply superb, we are blessed with ONE WRITER, Michael Hirst, and he does a fantastic job to ensure the story is consistent in every episode. These days we have issues with the likes of The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones where we'll be offered one or two decent episodes, some episodes full of side story which we don't care about and the most annoying thing ever.....filler episodes that do nothing to move the story forward.

The Vikings, they are not a race of people, Viking was a profession, and that profession was one of brutal raids upon other lands where they killed without hesitating, these are the bad guys that you hate to love.

The lead character played by Travis Fimmel is Ragnar Lothbrok, a farmer with a family and Viking raider when required, the story follows his ascent to legendary status through a need to rid the land of greedy earls, to his need to learn and understand other cultures, his friendship with christians that was seen as unacceptable in the Scandinavian culture and his desire to simply settle down to being a farmer once more.

The acting is honest, the dialogue pulls you in, it has drama, beautifully subtle comedic moments and it has the violence we would expect from such a show.

Unlike the Game of Thrones, this show doesn't feel the need to fill every episode with ridiculous sex scenes and constant over the top swearing, it doesn't have heavily convoluted storylines and this benefits the storytelling greatly.

Give it a go and stick with it, you won't be disappointed!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
As many people have pointed out there are many historical inaccuracies, bu then it wasn't written as an accurate account of history. The two things i found a little bit ridiculous are: 1) how many people are slaughtered in viking against viking attacks compared to the number of births.. numbers don't really add up. and 2) If the vikings had sailed directly west from Norway they would have completely missed the british isles apart from The Shetlands, which wasn't actually part of britain at the time anyway. The vikings are known to have followed the coast so they didn't get completely lost and then turn west when they were looking for something to 'smash and grab'. Otherwise the show is good, but bloody, entertainment.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Good things about all seasons:
- Excellent individual performances throughout.
- Interesting story lines and unexpected twists, making it addictive at times, especially seasons 1 and 2.
- As someone interested in history, and not too annoyed by minor historical inaccuracies, the viking culture, and indeed Anglo-Saxon historical context, was very intriguing. I thought the attention to details about viking way of life for all made this unique. It was not just about fighting, it was about values and beliefs.

Bad things about all seasons:
- seasons 401 and 402 lose the plot for me, especially the trivial domestic affairs which I thought added nothing to the broader story.
- I was annoyed at the perceived superiority of vikings in pitch battle with the French and English, especially the Saxons. Surely Saxons had their own fighting warriors? It just made every battle predictable and stupid.
- I first liked the spiritual that people were going through from season 3, but at times it seemed like it was an unnecessary distraction and that it had the series became more about aesthetics rather than plot.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As the seasons sins into soap opera and lesbians, the original Vikings remains the definite one to watch. The quality blind argue that season 5 is as good as season 1 and they even say that the Last Kingdom is as good as Vikings but it is even worse than season 5!

So original Vikings is the masterpiece. I went downhill after season 2 in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
i gaveve it this rating as the dvd is great as arrived early and i love watching the dvd as isveryy good and exciting and was a verygood priceif i see more dvds from this sellar that i am looking for i willl happily buy from this sellar
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
The best tv series ive watched in a long time. Very interesting story plots and twists.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
This programme is not to be missed or under estimated, I have not seen anything this good before, the raid scences, fighting scences are intense, out of the world and what can I say about the acting, but you will have to watch it to know how insane good it is. It's hard to keep remembering how bad Vikings where, but although the programme gives us no illusions that they are, it also opens your mind to what things may have been from there side. But apart from weather it is historicaly correct is irrelevant in this programme, I mean we still only know a s my all amount of information, but this is just an all-round amazing watch that should be enjoyed for the work and storyline. But most of all for acting of the cast is like nothing I have enjoyed before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Great series following the life and times of a Viking clan, good insight into all aspects of their lives from raiding to farming. Not sure how much is based on fact and how much is poetic license but it's watchable and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Like the story very well presented that's why I give 5 stars
The actors well it gets better as it goes by seasons
Sets well I thinks if they have more money it will be a awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Well worth watching. The characters are interesting and the plot progression keeps it well paced. It's beautifully shot and if anything, gets better with each series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)