Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
155
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2015
I have read a number of Stella Rimington books and I always find them an easy read. I think it helps knowing that the author really does know about the subject that she writes about. I like the way each character is built, and in many cases can relate them to real life people I know (good and bad). I like the way that the inter agency rivalry surfaces and am sure this really does happen. So if you are looking for a good action tale that isn't too far fetched then look no further, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Excellent reading, yet another in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Really enjoyed this book a great series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
An intelligent mystery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
Liz Carlyle returns in Stella Rimington's sixth novel. When a British Muslim is captured by the French navy on a Somali pirate ship, Liz is called in to investigate.

I've been looking forward to this book for a while - until now Rimington has released a new novel every 12 months but this one is 9 months later than that. I'm not, however, convinced that it was worth the wait.

There's little I can find to criticise though - the book just failed to grip. I didn't feel motivated at the end of each chapter to continue to the next, and the action was sparser even than in the previous books in the series. For the most part though the writing was good and everything (apart from some aspects of Birmingham) was utterly believable - as would be expected from an author with such first-hand experience.

The main problem with the plot I think is that it doesn't flow very well. It's very episodic and takes a while to build up to anything, and it really isn't until right at the end that things come together into a coherent adventure. It does leave plenty of scope for a sequel though, so I'm hoping there are plans for more.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
This series gets better with each new case. The prose is blessedly free of cliche and sensationalism. Much like the protagonist, M15 agent Liz Carlyle. The plot is an absorbing one, about intelligence work in the present: exploring the issues of piracy of the Horn of Africa, seamlessly intermingling the global spread of Muslim extremism. The story moves along at a good pace, and is easy to read.The security services are peopled by credible, "grown up" characters.
Liz Carlyle's private life continues to unfold from the earlier books, but does not distract from the core of the book.
I finished this book in 2 sittings. Hurry up and write the next one, please, Ms Rimington!
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Rip Tide, Stella Rimington, Bloomsbury, 2012 (2011), 369pp.

This is an excellent story about intelligence operations, featuring the author's recurring character of Liz Carlyle and her regular supporting cast. This is not an action `thriller' as such, though there are many thriller elements, including agents being murdered and kidnapped, commando raids and pirate attacks, and suicide bombers at large in Birmingham, though that is kept for the finale, and is not the bread and butter of the story, as such. That is concerned with the detail of intelligence gathering and surveillance, which slowly builds up a picture that reveals what the baddies are up to, allowing for a response to be formulated. Though moving at the measured pace of the stories in this series, this is definitely thriller territory, but with plenty of time for Liz's private life to be interwoven into the action.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
Straightforward and complex at the same time, Rimington is a modern author with the knack of producing fast-paced action you simply must read. This is the first I've read - thanks to the price - but I will now look at the others by Stella Rimington.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Rip Tide, Stella Rimington, Bloomsbury, 2012 (2011), 369pp.

This is an excellent story about intelligence operations, featuring the author's recurring character of Liz Carlyle and her regular supporting cast. This is not an action `thriller' as such, though there are many thriller elements, including agents being murdered and kidnapped, commando raids and pirate attacks, and suicide bombers at large in Birmingham, though that is kept for the finale, and is not the bread and butter of the story, as such. That is concerned with the detail of intelligence gathering and surveillance, which slowly builds up a picture that reveals what the baddies are up to, allowing for a response to be formulated. Though moving at the measured pace of the stories in this series, this is definitely thriller territory, but with plenty of time for Liz's private life to be interwoven into the action.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
I am addicted and looking forward to the next book in the series and ho poo usefully many more after that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here