Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Amazon Music Unlimited subscribers can play 40 million songs, thousands of playlists and ad-free stations including new releases. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Richard Strauss: Lieder has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
+ £1.25 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: These items are only visually examined, not tested, we are happy to refund any item that is found to be unsatisfactory .... PLEASE NOTE: All items have been donated to our charity, everything we sell has been previously owned (is second-hand) and even if marked as "very good" will show some signs of this; we will only mention major faults in our listings. items marked as "Acceptable" may show signs of heavy use, tears, annotations etc. All images are supplied by Amazon and may not match the product listed, if you are looking for a specific copy PLEASE check with us, we are always happy to answer any question. We will ALWAYS INCLUDE A RECEIPT. All our items are listed, packed and sent by volunteers who will endeavour to get your purchase to you as quickly and safely as possible. Our volunteers handle hundreds of items a day and occasionally we may get it wrong, if you have any problems or are not fully satisfied with your purchase, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.49

Richard Strauss: Lieder CD

Price: £9.80 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 31 Jan 2012
£6.56 £6.50
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
AutoRip is available only for eligible CDs and vinyl sold by Amazon EU Sarl (but does not apply to gift orders or PrimeNow orders). See Terms and Conditions for full details, including costs which may apply for the MP3 version in case of order returns or cancellations.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
18 new from £6.56 3 used from £6.50

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Composer: Richard Strauss
  • Audio CD (31 Jan. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Ondine
  • ASIN: B0062WDHZA
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 271,179 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Allerseelen, Op. 10/8
  2. Schön sind, doch kalt die Himmelssterne, Op. 19/3
  3. Die Nacht, Op. 10/3
  4. Ich trage meine Minne, Op. 32/1
  5. Die Georgine, Op. 10/4
  6. Ach Lieb, ich muss nun scheiden, Op. 21/3
  7. Mein Auge, Op. 37/4
  8. Meinem Kinde, 37/3
  9. Muttertändelei, Op. 43/2
  10. All mein Gedanken, Op. 21/1
  11. Ständchen, Op. 17/2
  12. Zueignung, Op. 10/1
  13. Das Rosenband, Op. 36/1
  14. Wie sollten wir geheim sie halten, Op. 19/4
  15. Du meines Herzens Krönelein, Op. 21/2
  16. Mein Herz ist stumm, Op. 19/6
  17. Befreit, Op. 39/4
  18. Morgen!, Op. 27/4
  19. Cäcilie, Op. 27/2
  20. 3 Lieder der Ophelia, Op. 67/13
  21. Malven, Op. posth.

Product description

Product Description

This CD features Finnish star soprano Soile Isokoski and her longstanding duo partner Marita Viitasalo, with a selection of Lieder by Richard Strauss. Included are such popular songs as Zueignung, Cäcilie, Morgen!, and Allerseelen. Along with the cycle of 3 Ophelia-Lieder and Strausss final complete composition, Malven, this collection spans 65 years of Strauss writing. The music of Richard Strauss has been a cornerstone of the singing career of Soile Isokoski: His music just sits so well in my voice, in terms of both its range and its lyrical quality. Soile Isokoskis earlier CD release of Strauss Orchestral Songs and Vier letzte Lieder (ODE982-2) became a major commercial success and earned her a Gramophone Award. Soile Isokoski is hailed as one of the finest singers in the world (Isokoski's lyric soprano is like liquid gold. David L. Kirk, Fanfare Magazine, March/April 2009) whose recordings have been praised as top-choice and garnered the highest distinctions at the BBC Music Magazine Awards, Gramophone Awards and MIDEM Classical Awards.


There may be no great surprises here in respect of repertoire-all familiar favourites here-but this recital by Finnish soprano Soile Isokoski offers a rare treat in terms of vocalism.Seldom today does one hear a singer offering such pure tone and stylistic poise,articulating the text with unaffected clarity and blooming in the silvery top register that Strauss exploits so lovingly.Highlights include the three Ophelia songs and a rapt Befreit. **** --Telegraph,12/02/12

There is always illumination to be had from hearing a great artist at work, and it will come as no surprise to Lieder lovers that there are fine things here… a very distinguished recital. --Piers Burton-Page, International Record Review

Isokoski's technique has stood the test of time: she pulls off the vivacious delicacy of Wie sollten wir geheim sue halten and the sotto voce rapture of Ständchen alongside effulgent rhapsodies such as Cäcilie. 4*/5* --David Nice - BBC Music Magazine

The intense, silvered beauty of her tone... and the unmannered clarity of her diction are unique in this music today. She instinctively conveys the sensuality of Strauss's flower songs (the minionettes of Allerseelen, Die Georgine, Das Rosenband) and the rapture of his love songs, mostly to his future wife, Pauline: two of his wedding gift set, Op 27, are included here. The strange Ophelia set, rarely programmed, can never have been more sumptuously sung. --Hugh Canning, The Sunday Times

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
Grady Harp
5.0 out of 5 starsIn Full Bloom
24 September 2012 - Published on
2 people found this helpful.
Santa Fe Listener
3.0 out of 5 stars*** 1/2 An experienced Strauss singer uses her lovely voice to good effect, but without much interpretation
31 January 2013 - Published on
One person found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?