Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2015
As this book was designed for the specification, everything you need to know is in the book!
It's not as colourful as I hoped, but straight to the point, with step to step guidance to solving the equations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
This book is brilliant! Currently studying a2 chemistry and I feel that my chemical ideas textbook is just all over the place ,but this however is like a breath of fresh air, it's well laid out as contains everything you need to know. I highly recommend this book as I have noticed a vast improvement in my work, don't think I could get through my exams without it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
This book is really helpful for those sitting OCR B salters exam. Covers all the necessary material but in slightly less detail and makes it easier to understand. Would definitely recommend as a revision aid for anyone doing a-level chemistry, especially for those who are struggling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
I bought this book after the AS Revise really helped me through my first year of A-level Chemistry. This is a life saver!! It's really clear and easy to understand, it covers all the main points of the unit and leaves out most of the waffles from the Chemistry Ideas. I love how in the contents page it clearly shows the unit and what you will cover in each one, because I find Chemistry Ideas jumps around quite a bit. If you do want to go into more detail, it says at the top of each page where you can find the corresponding topic in Chemistry Ideas which I love! instead of having to flick through all the pages or use the index. I would recommend this revision guide to anyone who is taking Chemistry onto A2 as it tells you what you really need to know, provides clear diagrams and has exam tips in every page! really worth it :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
This is fantastic to use along with what's taught at school, as it summarises the main points that you need to know. Although parts of the syllabus is not in this guide, it really does help to have a read through just to revise the work. This used in conjunction with Storylines, Chemical Ideas will surely lead you to success! Get it now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
The revision guide is brilliant and is a great accompliment to the school book. It is very helpful and simple to follow. I would recommend having this product if you are studying this topic with this exam board. There was quick delivery which is always useful :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2009
Doesn't actually cover the entire syllabus, despite claims to the contrary.

Misses out enormous swathes of the Chemical Storylines material explicitly stated on the OCR Salters Specification, and gives shallow, unhelpful explanations of what's actually *there*.

Grab a copy of the OCR Salters Specification from the OCR Website, and then use that and Chemical Ideas/Storylines- the official course textbooks. You can do a *lot* better than this.

Granted, it's a revision *guide*. And, yes- it's concise. One can't help but feel that it's just a bit *too* concise, though. A few extra pages of padding out would have worked wonders.
Stay well away.
Thankfully, this specification's being phased out this year- hopefully, the next edition will make some headway in fixing these problems.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This is quite disappointing for the "official" Salter's A2 revision guide. Although its designed to be condensed (for revision purposes), this really does make it waaay too condensed to be of any real use. Whilst it is really easy to read and follow, it definitely won't get you the A/B grades alone. If you read the specification you'll understand exactly why - this book merely just "touches" on each topic soo briefly;' without going into ANYWHERE near enough detail needed to get over a B/C.

Overall, I'd still buy it - especially if you're the type of person who absolutely needs something extremely condensed to revise from. But use this guide with a lot of caution. It may tend to mislead you into thinking you know a topic inside out - but you will really struggle during the exam because this guide doesn't prepare you for anywhere near the amount of detail needed. I've seen people who did light revision from this guide who just couldn't do the past papers - because it doesn't prepare you very well. Having said that, some sections are still quite strong, so it's still worth having a look at.

As I said, this IS worth buying, but I'd defintely use it alongside the CGP guide too. The CGP A2 guide is MUCH better - full of the detail that'll get you the A or B grade, but still not as chunky as a textbook. Yet the CGP guide is also quite crammed and long, so get this one too if you require condensed notes as well. Use them both together - don't just rely on this one!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
I found this revision guide to be extremely useful when revising for A2 exams. I still refer back to it at University. It could have been a little better organised internally but most of the content was there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
It is a very helpful book, I love how it is full
Of practice questions and answers, because it allows me to know my strengths and weaknesses.
It also includes a tick list of things covered in the course and also information on important things for practicals.
However it is best used along side the main chemical ideas book, on its own (as any other revision book) it is simplified.
But when used with the main book it is very useful and a great exam help
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse