Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2014
When you read text like ganong or gyton, things appear really simple... Not so with mr wests book, doesnt explain things well at all rather reader is more confused woth the concepts after reading this
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
This is the only book that my physiology lecturer told to buy. Even though it looks small, the contents are exactly what is required for this module. Explanations are clear, and make the understanding of the topic rather straight-forward. The topics are logically divided and the chapters are in the right order. MCQs at the end of each chapter allow for self-check. Also, some of the calculations that are basic to understanding of the topic have a separate appendix at the end with the formulas and sample questions.
I would highly recommend it to any med student for respiratory physiology module.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
I must say, I've only bought the book, because the previous version got good reviews.
I find this book very useful to brush up what you've learned during physiology and patophysiology classes.
On the pro side: compact and lightweight, still tremendous amount of information inside, plus online content (key sticker inside).
I would give it 4,5 STARS - if I could - since some areas are not really deep and you may need to do some research, although very few!
If you are interested in reviewing these areas without the need of huge textbooks order instantly!
Be warned, size may be deceiving: small but not an easy thing to read! :D
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2003
Great book, everything you need to know about resp physiology in a nutshell. Easy to understand and remember. Extremely well written. One of the best buys so far and great for exams.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
This book is pretty amazing. It covers the needed concept in a very simple manner. If you just take time to read it I think the book is worth a purchase! :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
Great book, am 'reliably' informed it is essential for the FRCA exams. Typical US book - printed on thin cheap paper but the content is solid, took me some time to understand everything, but it is core resp physiology pure and simple
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
As always an excellent read. In the highly physiological field that is Respiratory Medicine I find that this volume and its companion, Pulmonary Pathophysiology, provide a first taste into the field that can hardly be improved upon.

Information that might be expanded upon (after all, such a small volume could never pretend to be comprehensive) is readily identifiable and so might be readily complemented by further reading.

Maintains within LWW's wonderful tradition of small succinct books intended for easy learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2001
They say good things come in small packages. Well it just happens to be true. a tiny book but gives you all the information you need on the difficult subject of respiratory physiology.The topics are well divided and there are frequent clinical examples. The diagrams reinforce and explain the text which can be confusing. I read the whole thing in one sitting. This is the main book of choice for answering those tricky questions that your consultant asks!!!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
Great and extremely informative to get to the real nitty gritty of respiratory function. Starts by assuming the reader has a high level of knowledge already, so careful thought needed to digest the information. Do not expect to scan read this and gain understanding, this needs careful reading. as a critical care practitioner, it is useful for ongoing learning, from a ventilator and physiotherapy perspective, but it is not an easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
This is another of my favourite physiology books - really really good.
I learned a lot from this & haven't found another resp book as good.
It's very small & thin, so not a massive over-detailed book. I really recommend this for understand physiology of the lungs. Also, it helped me a lot to understand pathology once I knew physiology of healthy lungs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)