Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
16
Resonance
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


on 3 December 2017
I've just finished Resonance and Dolley's done it again! Smith and Mercado are an unlikely pair of heroes. Both appear to be dysfunctional but they each have a valid reason for their rather odd behaviour. I kept expecting Graham Smith to wake up and for it all to have been a dream. I'm glad that it wasn't and I'm also delighted that they found each other. The plot was refreshing in its originality but not everyone will 'get it'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
This book had enough intrigue to keep me reading, I was hoping that some thing great was going to happen, yes I found it ok, but would not read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2016
Having very much enjoyed three of Chris Dolley's steampunk-novels, this 'straight' SF novel came as a bit a surprise, but despite some problems with slow pacing , I really enjoyed this clever attempt to deal with parallel worlds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2012
I came across Chris Dolley when looking for cheap reads on the Kindle and thoroughly enjoyed his account of moving to France - not at all the sort of "Moving to France" book you might expect - although elements of Peter Mayle type stuff (haven't actually read him) might emerge - found myself involved in a truly gripping detection story and was so sorry to finish it I immediately got on to the Kindle store to find more by him.

I loved this book - obviously totally different to the above - transports you to a whole different (but also actual) reallity. From the start you care about the characters - and then the characters become more complex .... a wonderful don't-put-down read for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2015
It isn't often that I can be bothered to leave a review, in fact it is only the extremes that motivate me, the very good or the awful. This fortunately falls well into the former group. An unusual subject woven into an addictive read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2016
An interesting book, with a great story line. However, I did miss Chris' more fun side in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2015
Enjoyed this. Unusual to find a different take on the multi-verse idea. And a plot that romps along fast enough that the pages turn all by themselves and you look at the clock and realise that it's really late, you'll feel terribly tired in the morning, but just one more chapter tonight.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
Great product, would recommend it! This seller is first rate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
I ploughed and tried until I felt that this was not really worth the effort and could not be bothered about the outcome...about a third of the way through. The supposed plot is odd and uninteresting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 October 2010
This is one of the most original new science fiction books I have ever read. In fact, as an inspired new take on a familiar SF idea it's original enough to stand comparison with "The Time Traveler's Wife" or "Memoirs of an Invisible Man."

Graham Smith is a thirtysomething loner who works as an office messenger in a government department in London. Most of his colleagues think he's deaf, retarded, or both: he hardly ever speaks and appears to have an obsessive-compulsive disorder. What they don't know is that this is how he deals with a universe which keeps changing around him. One month someone he knows will suddenly disappear and it will be as if they died years ago or were never even born. Six months later they might suddenly reappear, but could be in a different job, or be married to someone different to the spouse they had before - and it will seem to everyone except Graham that it's always been that way.

Buildings, colleagues, close relatives - all may be there one day and changed or gone the next. Graham thinks this means that any aspect of the universe might "unravel" at any moment. He has learnt at an early age that the best way to cope is to say as little as possible, keep to as regular a routine as he can, and carry notes which tell him where he lives and works so that he can find his way home or to the office in the altered universe should these details change around him.

Annalise Mercado has heard voices in her head since she was a small child. All the voices are of girls who call themselves Annalise: eventually she realises that she is in telepathic contact with two hundred versions of herself - all living in very slightly different worlds.

Then Annalise hears about a man called Graham Smith who exists in all these worlds and appears to be in great danger.

Graham and all the different versions of Annalise soon find that there is a great threat to all their worlds, and that they are at the centre of it - along with a mysterious and powerful company caller Paradim and something called the Resonance Wave ...

A bit like a cross between a more grown-up version of "Worlds of the Imperium" and a better written version of "Alternities" but in future, if it is as big a hit as it deserves, this book may well become the standard by which SF stories about multiple worlds are judged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here