Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2016
I purchased this due to an obsession I have with Claire Redfield - its great, some parts are quite funny and sassy. This is why we all love Claire, she is a bit nuts at times. The story is a tiny bit different then the game but the general moments are there. The writing is great and I found myself reading it through in one go. Its small enough but packed with good moments from Redfield - Chris and Claire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
Resident Evil Code:Veronica is the sixth book in the Resident Evil saga written by S.D.Perry, and is based on the Codename Veronica computer game.
I have been a great fan of the Resident Evil games for both their gameplay, and the stories behind them, a while ago I bought the R.E. Nemesis book to see if it was any good, and it was brilliant. Since then I have bought all of the books in the series, Code:Veronica being the latest, and completeing my collection.
While this book stays faithful to the style of the others, and is gripping in most parts, it didn't quite seem as good as the other books, it is also in my opinion to short. Most books in the series are roughly 230 pages long, (of which Code:Veronica is) R.E. 2 City of the Dead being the exception at around 330 pages, this reflecting the length and plot developments of the game. Seeing as the game of C:V lasted considerably longer than RE2 I was expecting the book to reflect this, by being an equal, if not greater length than R.E.2 City of the Dead.
However, the book is not as long as the forementioned title, and I feel that this damages Code:Veronica, It seems rushed. Espescially at the end of the book, where plot developments happen to spontaniously. People reading the book who haven't played the game through, may find the later half quite empty, due to the rushed nature of events. The fact that Chris's final confrontation with Wesker is completely left out is nearly unfogivable. As such Wesker's hatred for Chris doesn't come across with the same intensity as was apparent in the game. A little more insight into Weskers' character would have been nice. The weakness of certain parts of the book may be a reflection of the weak plot of the game itself. Which seemed to be desperately searching for any plot, just as an excuse to carry on the franchise.
While all this seems quite negative, the book is still excellant, just not AS excellant as the other books in the series. The interaction between Claire and Steeve is wonderfully portrayed, and gripping. As to is the insight into Alfreds' and Alexias' warped minds, which adds greatly to the enjoyment and understanding of the story behind the book. The final revelation about Wesker at the very end, saves the sagging second half of this title.
If you are a fan of S.D.Perrys' R.E. titles then definately buy this book. Although it may be hard to follow in places, if you aren't familiar with the plot and events of the game. Overall 4 stars, just below the excellance of the other titles.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Can't argue with that price, love these books and S.D. Perry captures the slightly hammy acting from the games too! The sellers even write a lovely note on the receipt! Thanks guys, it was a pleasure doing business with you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Really enjoyed reading this book. Brought back memories of me playing the game. As we got introduced to more characters, I had a mental picture of them already in my mind so the story just flowed. Well worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Ive always loved the game and is one of my favourite Resident Evil games, the book is just as good a little bit different in some things but that's to be expected. I would definitely recommend this to a classic RE fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
I've always been intrigued as to how this book would play out as i'm a big fan of the resident evil games and code:veronica is my favourite by far.
To me, it played out perfectly in book form. The suspense, horror, and even the romance was fantastically described.
It was also interesting seeing how they replaced some of the puzzles that would have dragged on in a book.

Character wise i couldn't have asked for better. Claire and Steve were portrayed very accurately and it was very easy imagining scenes from the game whilst reading it, and i didn't half cry near the end with that scene between them.
There were some accuracy problems, but nothing major that particularly stood out and although the end felt a bit rushed i can well imagine that if chris's part in the arctic had been played out fully, it would have dragged slightly, so i can overlook that.

All in all an brilliant example of survival horror with a suspenseful and romantic twist that fans of the resident evil games will love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2002
Another RE game, another novelisation by SD Perry. But this one doesn't seem to have the same style as previous titles. I thought the novel would be as long as City of the Dead, with the Dreamcast version of the game being as long as RE2. Also, having read the novel, it felt like Chris' part of the story was not as important as Claire and Steve's section in Rockfort. It's a shame, as the book could have been done better, but it's still a good read, very faithful to the game's events, with not much being given away, in terms of secrets and puzzles, for those who haven't yet played the game. I'd still recommend it but not if you love the game and have completed it several times, as these gamers will be left slightly disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
This is the last of the RE books that S D Perry has written, & I have enjoyed every one of them.

What makes CV & the preceding stories special, is the characterisation SDP gives to both our heroes, heroines, villains & villainesses.

Code Veronica (& Darkside Chronicles) is (are) the most psychological of all the RE games. S D Perry's novelisation of CV tries to reflect that, but is beaten by her independent RE stories (Caliban Cove, Underworld), City of the Dead & Nemesis.

Code Veronica is however another Clare Redfield adventure, and Clare's personality shines through as it did in City of the Dead (RE2 novelisation).

The only scantily told happenings of Clare's activities in Paris, with the other RE regulars - needing a novel itself, - which lead up to her presence where Code Veronica begins, is the only aspect of CV I found disappointing.

I hope that Ms Perry will novelise RE: Revelations, as its a survival horror game in the classic RE tradition, starring Jill Valentine & Chris Redfield.

Going to try the (non RE) novel "The Summer Man" by SDP next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2001
The novelisation of CODE:Veronica is a gripping read, but a number of factors prevent it reaching the level of the previous books in the series.
The author appears to be slightly hampered by the length of the book, with the arrival of Chris Redfield being compressed into the last section of the novel. This is made more apparent by the detail and consideration which has obviously gone into the first half of the book, with the first exploits of Claire and Steve being written in a level of detail equal to the other Resident Evil novels.
The book appears to suffer slightly from being based on the original Dreamcast version of the game, rather than the more recent update of the title. This means that much of the focus on Wesker is removed, with the Ashford family recieving the main emphasis of the title. While this may be a disappointment for owners of the PS2 version of the game, Perry makes Alexia an extremely imposing figure, extrapolating her powers from the game in the gripping finale.
Overall however, the book is extremely well-written, with the development of the characters accomodated well, and some truely chilling passages, including a distrubing look into the mind of Alfred. There is plenty here for those who have not played the game to enjoy, while other readers will be smirking at a number of in-jokes, including Perry's observations as to Steve's appearance and the neat way in which the game's final puzzle is circumvented.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
When I looked at this book firstly on amazon.co.uk I knew it was going to be a very gold read. Having played the game beforehand, I knew what was coming in the book but what made this book very entertaining and engaging was the way she presented the personalities of both Steve Burnside and Alfred Ashford. This beautifully prepared and well written adaptation of the hit smash game was something I was looking forward to in a written format. And when it finally arrived I couldn't contain myself. The book remains true to the events that took place in Code Veronica such as the part in the palace and the military training facility when Claire Redfield meets a Bandersnatch for the first time, it wasn't just this that captivated me but it was the way S.D. Perry used suspense to build up the storyline which is usually very typical of Resident Evil games, for example, when you open a door it takes ages or if there's a boss fight they play a theme for a few seconds to present the monster. What was also interesting was that she didn't merely copy the game version but made it her own. As you journey deeper and deeper into the book you get that sense that people are alive and they have emotions - and most of all, they think. S.D. Perry lavishly mentions some of Alfred's treacherous and very honest thoughts which is a device that immediately caught my attention. Steve on the one hand was boyish and acted like a teenager which is exactly how he is portrayed in the game. Valiant, heroic and brave - especially when he wants to show Claire that he is strong and very masculine. Overall, this book will blow you away and in excess of this describes those grizzly little things like the flesh on the face of zombie rotting away.....you'll be sure to go on a thrilling journey on Rockfort Island when you read this gripping tale of loyalty, friendship and a tale of heroes racing against time.

By Daniel Mateus
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse