Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2003
The original stories in this series to me are always more interesting because in the ones based on the games, you know exactly whats going to happen next, whereas in the originals you can take a pretty good guess, your not actually sure.
My main critism of this book is, however, when you think of Resident evil, the next thing you think of is zombies. In this book, there are none.
The zombies replacement are a few creatures that Perry has created and the hunters. The first one is a pterodactyl like bird, then comes the scorpians (which feature in RE:0) and then some goat-snake type thing. Perry seems to like dinosaurs as the main monster is a T-rex/tyrant type thing.
The good-guy characters that Perry created in Caliban Cove are beleivable and fit in well with the other characters such as leon and claire. Perry's bad guys, Griffin in Caliban Cove and Reston in this one, are not all that great though. They seemed typical cliche types, power hungry, insane etc and that was the main bad thing about the book.
Overall I think this book deserves 4 stars because it was enjoyable (although far too short).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 November 2012
This is the 4th book in the Resident Evil series by SD Perry, once again this is a stand-alone story not based on any of the RE games.

Since "City of the Dead" Leon Kennedy and Claire Redfield have hooked up with Dave Trapp and his team of S.T.A.R.S survivors. They were planning to go to Europe to help Chris Redfield and Barry Burton expose the truth about Umbrella. That was until the mysterious Trent turned up with a different plan.

Trent wants them to go to one of the other Umbrella facilities in Utah where they may be able to discover proof of Umbrella's illegal activities and so clear the STARS of any involvement in the Raccoon City disaster. This is something which the team are loathed to do. Trent sways them by telling them that the Utah facility has something that Chris needs to get the evidence on Umbrella.

As with "Caliban Cove)", the previous stand alone book, the best laid devices of STARS leader David Trapp never go to plan, and the team find themselves separated and in a desperate fight for survival against more of Umbrella's monstrous experimental creatures.

In the Epilogue we learn more about the man known as Trent, and some of his motives for helping (if that's the correct word) the S.T.A.R.S.

This is another good book in the RE series from SD Perry. I thought the introduction of more prehistoric DNA originated creatures was an interesting idea and possibly something that Umbrella might have been experimenting on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
I enjoyed this book, because I couldn't predict what was going to happen, even if I did know that the 'game' characters wouldn't be killed. This Resident Evil was full of action and fast paced, but where were the zombies? 😉
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2000
I must admit to being a giant fan of the Resident Evil series and was delighted with S.D. Perry's first three books. The fourth is no exception, with a gripping, action paction packed plotline. Sure, the formula is wearing a little thin, but why change it if it wasn't broken! The 'Planet' is a fascinating creation and introduces a load of cool new umbrella monstrosities for the team to battle. My only gripe is that the end...is a little disappointing and short lived - if anything, the book needed to be a few chapters longer. Still, for fans of the series, this is an excellent progression which I really enjoyed and heartily recommend to anyone. I just hope that S.D.Perry is planning to write some more in the series - how about a novelisation of the forthcoming Resident Evil 3 or a completely new story of the team's strike on the Umbrella Headquarters. I await them with baited breath...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 6 June 2012
Please be aware that this is the Italian version - there will be a new relaunch of the English version to coinside with the release of Resident Evil 6 at the end of 2012. If you are looking for new English version please click here - Resident Evil: Underworld.

I am a recent convert to the Resident Evil cult and looked for a way of taking the characters and their adventures with me when I have stay away from home, and don't have access to my Wii console.

In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to worse.

Umbrella Conspiracy is the first book in a series of Resident Evil stories by SD Perry and is based on the original Resident Evil survival/horror game. Following both Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine the book sticks to the story in the game, as best as it can.

The story switches between Chris (and Rebecca Chambers) and Jill (and Barry Burton) as they try to survive until help comes. There seems to be a lot of the running back and forth, retracing their steps and so on; of course, the characters in the book don't have limited carry areas like they do in the game.

Characters have been flashed out more then the game allowed, even characters which feature for a short time in the game are filled out and become more acceptable as part of the teams rather than being just passing names with no connection to them.

The only real problem for me was that it seemed far too short, there seemed to be some of the battles, puzzles, etc, missing, but it was (and still is) a fulfilling fan read.

This is a great substitute for the game when you have to be away from your console, whether that be for work or medical reasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 December 2010
This is the 4th book in the Resident Evil series by SD Perry, once again this is a stand-alone story not based on any of the RE games.

Since "City of the Dead" Leon Kennedy and Claire Redfield have hooked up with Dave Trapp and his team of S.T.A.R.S survivors. They were planning to go to Europe to help Chris Redfield and Barry Burton expose the truth about Umbrella. That was until the mysterious Trent turned up with a different plan.

Trent wants them to go to one of the other Umbrella facilities in Utah where they may be able to discover proof of Umbrella's illegal activities and so clear the STARS of any involvement in the Raccoon City disaster. This is something which the team are loathed to do. Trent sways them by telling them that the Utah facility has something that Chris needs to get the evidence on Umbrella.

As with Caliban Cove (Resident Evil), the previous stand alone book, the best laid devices of STARS leader David Trapp never go to plan, and the team find themselves separated and in a desperate fight for survival against more of Umbrella's monstrous experimental creatures.

In the Epilogue we learn more about the man known as Trent, and some of his motives for helping (if that's the correct word) the S.T.A.R.S.

This is another good book in the RE series from SD Perry. I thought the introduction of more prehistoric DNA originated creatures was an interesting idea and possibly something that Umbrella might have been experimenting on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 1999
The action and suspense it still there, but the plot is starting to become a bit "samey". Okay, the good guys (STARS and civilians this time) go to another secret Umbrella plant, directed by the mysterious Trent, kill and blow up some more Umbrella creations and get out in the nick of time. But, it was a good attempt, which finally sheds some light on Trent's involvement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is purely addictive, it contains a lot of action and plot which gets you very intrigued. The more interesting part is the part which John and Leon are in when they're in the test zones and when they all have to fight the fossil. Personally, i think it's brilliant and hope that S.D. Perry will write the story of Resident Evil 3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
this book was one of the best in the series and being an original novel you dont know what to expect unlike the game novelisations where if you have played the games your pretty much waiting for things to happen all in all a very good read but id have to say zero hour is the best of the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
This is just what you want from a written version. It highlights parts of the game with its "nods" here and there. But the overall story is brilliant. And for me now, on to the next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse