Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17


on 11 January 2017
Comprehensive but accessible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2013
I recommend this to any sociology student because it gives a detailed description and examples on how to construct projects and dissertations - essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2015
Came in useful for my studies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2013
Although It doesn't really relate to my course but there are some areas where I use for my assignments... therefore, it has proved very beneficial for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
Very useful. Quite a large book that covers a range of topics good for 1st year sociology uni students and those interested in the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2000
This clear, concise book is a god-send for the student (or general reader alike) interested in carrying out a sociology-based research project. The text is lively, enthusiastic, laying emphasis, through the voice of many experts, on the best ways to carry out a social investigation.
Although the text is hard going in a few places with an occasional assumption of prior knowledge, its strategically placed references to real world research and well-thought out case studies make this a student-essential reference book.
Definitely one to keep on the shelf and dip into!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2009
This is an excellent book, and should be essential reading for any university student embarking on a research project. I recommend it to all my students, from first years to postgraduates. It is accessible, well written, and has useful examples. One of my students (a final year undergraduate who bought and used this book while completing her dissertation) told me that it doesn't patronise, as she found other research methods books did, but provides a clear and concise discussion of the topics. Students who used this book did not need any others. I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2009
I have an excellent opinion on this social research guide for several reasons.
It seems usefull both for the more experienced researcher, searching for clarification on specific topics, as well as for the research student, working at a more basic level - here, particularly, I emphasize the interest of the book in terms of research teaching.

Several chapters prove equally usefull - the book is planned in a way that integrates quantitative and qualitative methodologies, allongside with a structure that reviews most common research steps, in a way that preserves complexity. Cross-references to relevant contents present in other chapters proves extremely valuable.

Has an example, Chapter 12 on "Analysing survey data", even though out of date according to recent software available, still has, nevertheless, interest in explaining the basics of quantitative analysis for less experienced researchers in quantitative approaches.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2016
Nicely written book that gives good overviews of a lot of different research techniques. Also has a nice-looking layout which makes it less boring to look at than most research methods textbooks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)