Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
33
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2015
I should like this comic but I just don't. I read a review where someone said it was juvenile and I have to agree. The premise is Jason Todd is found by Starfire who rescues him after he is wounded, he then proceeds to sex him up and then they decide to fight crime and get Arsenal from a maximum security prison. After that Todd decides they should all sort of fight crime while half not to maintain appearing cool on their deserted island with an alien space ship and then Starfire sexes up Arsenal. The plot then proceeds to discuss aliens and finally mystic old as time cults with supernatural assassins.

It just lacks the depth of other properly written DC comics. It wants to be Batman with a super intelligence protagonist but constantly points out Todd isn't Batman. It wants to be all sexy with Starfire being half dressed at all times, and undressed off scene the rest of the time but then never goes into that with any proper gusto so it feels more like titillation than any actual attempt at story telling and well Arsenal is the least compelling hero I've come across in years. There is down on your luck and great fighter anti hero etc etc and then there is just down on your luck z list hero.

It is a shame, I like the Red Hood I think he is a great hero and Arsenal and Starfire in Death of the Family actually come across as very mature and wise but in their own series they don't.

Get this if you want to see but if there was a fire I wouldn't be running to save this one (of course after my family and pets are safe).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
A total bro-fest, wasting the huge potential to explore Jason's psyche. We have here the two biggest losers in the DC universe teaming up, and so this could have been a very interesting character study of what it's like to be rejected from a conventional hero clique, and how to make your own rules and team codes. Despite having three potentially interesting characters, this had dull and half-baked set pieces linked by filler. There is no character development, no discernible overarching plot, no exploration of their relationships, nothing but: "here is a tedious summary of my backstory, here is Starfire showing off her birth canal, here is some shooting/blowing stuff up..."ad nauseum. Maybe it gets better in the next part of the run?

There is way too much Starfire in creepy pornographic photoshoot poses (Rocafort is a cheesecake artist so I expected that, but not this much!) But they have retconned Starfire to be braindead, or she has lost her memory which somehow results in her having sex with everyone, or something, which is the single most offensive retcon I've ever encountered). Red Hood and Arsenal always have all their clothes on while she is mostly naked, she has virtually no serious dialogue, she doesn't drive any aspects of the plot apart from when they have to save her, and she doesn't do anything on the team apart from be available for sex. She could have really easily been removed from this series, and Roy and Jason could have simply had sex with other people, or each other, and it would have been loads less cringeworthy (although perhaps DC would avoid the latter scenario). Here are some sexy violent alternatives for you:

If you like ultra-violence and anti-heroes/villains being awesome, check out:

-Gail Simone's brilliant "Secret Six"
-The first few issues of the New 52 Suicide Squad, collected in a paperback called "Kicked in the Teeth", which is OK
-Marvel's "Darth Vader" by Kieron Gillen, which is amazing!

If you like sexy people in comics, check out:

-DC's "Grayson" (Bit too much gratuitous beefcake for me, not really canon Dick Grayson here either; reminds me strongly of FX's "Archer")
-Marvel's 2006 "Marvel Boy" mini-series by Grant Morrison
-Image Comics' "Wicked + Divine" by Kieron Gillen
-the brilliantly-written "Swords of Sorrow" from Dynamite Comics (featuring three iconic almost-naked female protagonists)
-any New 52 Catwoman issues after Judd Winnick stopped writing and the amazing Ann Nocenti and Genevieve Valentine took over, especially "Keeper of the Castle"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Having gotten back into comic books over the past year or so I have been thoroughly impressed by The New 52 relaunch and having amassed a fairly large number of 'Volume 1's' Redemption was the last one of 2012 I acquired. I knew very little of Arsenal and Starfire and only a little of Jason Todd's history as Red Hood (as a teenager many moons ago I remember reading A Death In The Family and feeling loss at what seemingly happened to him at the hands of the Joker). I more or less 'grew out' of comic books after that so whilst been aware of the Red Hood's existence over the years was ignorant to his identity.

Anyhow, enough of my backstory. This graphic novel worked on so many levels for me - I thoroughly enjoyed it and cannot wait for the next installment. I have read reviews where the title has been criticised as sexualising some of its main characters (anyone reading it will know what I mean!) however I say 'don't read it then! and pick up something more child friendly!'

The characters evolve nicely over the course of the book and there are several great action sequences with an interesting storyline running through it. I won't give any spoilers away. My receommendation - buy it!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I came into this book because I like Batman and I wanted another read within the batfamily and although I wasn't too stoked on the nightwing book, I really enjoyed this, they made redhood a fresh feeling character and I understood and emphasised with his plight, the comedy in it is well balanced and doesn't feel forced or too stupid, it has some mint action and character development and I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes a witty, laid back and fun character. I have to admit I really do like this character
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
I grew up with Jason Todd's Robin so it's great to see the love for the character grow now his adult origin is all re-established. The New 52 continuity rules confuses things but it's worth getting past that and enjoying this book for the fun read it is. Whilst I think Todd works best as a street-level character I think this alternative team has a great punk-rock chemistry and the dubious morality leads to some genuinely witty moments throughout. I'm not a huge fan of big silly space monsters etc but somehow it works and I'd be very interested to see where things go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Not too bad but felt a little clunky and poorly written. Also every new chapter gets an intro by Jason with a run down of the story so far and his frickin life story. Mid story. Which is understandable due to it being a collection of issues before a graphic novel, but gets boring after the 3rd time. Could have been put in a preface to the issue rather than the story. It's an ok read but more for die hard hood fans I fear. Although I like him the dialogue feels a bit unplausable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
none of the characters really grabbed me to be honest.
and the plot didn't really pop either
i heard some good stuff about the book
but it was mainly just mildly diverting and certainly not great.
I especially hated the kinda /sorta retcon of red hood past
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
Yes Starfire does bump uglies with Arsenal, but that's not just what this book is about. The first volume follows Jason Todd getting out and away from the dark knight's shadow. Todd assembles a small group of misfits on a mission to seek vengeance when one of Todd's mentors is murdered but as always it's not as simple as that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The story running through issues #1-7 of DC Comics' New 52 series Red Hood and the Outlaws is collected as Red Hood and the Outlaws Volume 1: REDemption TP. This is an excellently scripted and illustrated story, that illuminates the history of each of the three main characters as the story unfolds, so that we know just how much of the `old' characters has made it into the New 52, and the answer seems to be enough of it (a few minor tweaks here and there) that these are still the Jason Todd, Roy Harper and Koriand'r that we once knew.

In this story, the three are drawn together by accident, and then into an adventure that explores the `new' aspects of Jason Todd's life, drawn from his days training with a mystical martial arts sect that I've never heard of before, which Talia al Ghul had enrolled him in following his resurrection. This is serious revision, but fits in to a hole in his back-story seamlessly. Koriand'r now has a few new (?) alien characteristics, such as a different sort of memory to humans, so while she can remember that there was someone called Nightwing in her past, it has no relevance to her life today (though Jason is livid at the sight of Dick's old uniforms in her wardrobes). I really don't know much about Roy Harper's life after his days as Speedy, or even whether `Speedy' was deleted in a previous Crisis.

Anyway, this is an all-action non-stop action-adventure sort of story, with extra violence and adult innuendo, so be warned. And then go and read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse