Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2003
Like 'Strife' this book is written from the point of view of another person different to Morgan. Alisa is Morgan's little sister's friend and she turns out to be a witch, the story is written from her point of view. It keeps much to the other book's style so if you liked them you will like this. It makes a nice change from the other books though as it differs because is about a different person. When a first started reading this book a didn't think it was going to be as good as the others, as it was about a diffreent person but it still managed to grip me like the other books
If you liked the other books this is a must.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2003
This book is absolutley fab! i couldnt wait for the wicca version to come out so i read the sweep one instead. its exactly the same but you dont have to wait for publishing dates. this books told from the view point of Alicia and its good, although not the best tiernan book i have read. its all about Alicia going to find her Mom's family and it is a pretty good read. worth the time even if you do like the books told from Morgan's view point better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
I totally recommend this book, and all of the rest of this series. Cate Tiernan is an amazing writer and has really kept me captivated with this series. This book is especially interesting as it is written from another characters point of view, and handles many teenage issues as well as including the magick theme. 5 Stars *****. Read the whole series or your missing out!!!!!
x
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Alisa Soto grew up thinking that she was a normal girl and her biggest worry was the impending marriage of her father and his young pregnant fiance. Then Alisa discovered Wicca and with it a world of temptation, beauty and fear. With it, Alisa discovered that she is incredibly unique - a talented half-witch, unheard of even in the magickal world. Now Alisa is determined to seek out her mother's family and learn more about her heritage.

This is the thirteenth book in the Wicca series (which began with Book of Shadows) and is narrated by Alisa. The previous installment was jointly narrated by Alisa and Morgan and it's great to have a book purely from Alisa's perspective as she's a really great fascinating character. This is probably one of my favourites of the series as I really like Alisa's voice.

The setting of the book has also changed as Alisa goes to Gloucester, Massachusetts in search of her mother's family. Turning up on her uncle's doorstep she is thrown in at the deep end, and in doing so she soon discovers that her family need her just as much as she needs them. Strange telekinectic incidents have haunted the family for generations and Alisa may just hold the solution within her.

I really liked Alisa's family, especially her Uncle Sam and her reunion with her family is particularly well written. Some family members are thrilled by her presence, some take it in their stride and others are reluctant to acknowledge her. It is also great to see how someone with a mundane childhood reacts when introduced to a family immersed in magick. The other thing I loved is that Alisa manages to use her experience to grow as a person, becoming more focused and centered in herself and using it in a positive way.

The romance angle is also a little different. Alisa finds herself irrevocably drawn to Charlie Findgoll, a geeky witch who is open and friendly from the moment they meet. But Charlie is Alisa's newfound cousin's boyfriend and so the attraction becomes something they both resist from the beginning even as their friendship grows.

All in all this was an awesome read and I'm looking forward to Full Circle.

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 9/10

Overall: 49/50
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2004
Although the Wicca series is primarily about Morgan, I found Alisa a much more interesting character and this really comes out in Reckoning. With her dry humour, her bewilderment about her past and her abilities along with her growing up and the difficulties this presents she brings a more empathetic quality to the story than Morgan, the 'uber Priestess to be', does after her inital human drama is over. I return to this story, along with 'Strife' (the other story featuring Alisa's voice), more than any other in the series.
If I had Cate Tiernan's ear for a minute I would positively bludgeon her into writing more with Alisa's character. But until I get the chance, this book will remain my favourite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2016
Love this Series. Fantastic story line.
Cate Tiernan is a brilliant writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2003
I think is not one of the best book in the seris but we do learn about Alisa who runs away from home to find about her mother's family and she does not get a warm welcome off everyone. I read this book with in a night and can't wait for the rest of the seris
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
ok book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse