Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £3.00 (38%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Reason to Breathe (The Breathing Series #1) by [Donovan, Rebecca]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Reason to Breathe (The Breathing Series #1) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 232 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in The Breathing Series (3 Book Series)
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.99

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now


Product Description

Review

Emotionally intense and heart-achingly beautiful, Reason to Breathe will linger in your thoughts long after you turn the last page. (Tracey Garvis-Graves, New York Times bestselling author of On the Island)

About the Author

USA Today bestselling author Rebecca Donovan has been a writer most of her life, but has just recently been deemed an author. Her debut novels, Reason to Breathe, and its sequel Barely Breathing, have resonated with readers around the world. Out of Breath is the stunning finale in this series. She lives in a small town in Massachusetts, USA.

www.facebook.com/thebreathingseries
www.rebeccadonovan.com
@BeccaDonovan


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4340 KB
  • Print Length: 548 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (8 Nov. 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009X0R5F6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 232 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #91,657 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Don't get me wrong I did enjoy that book. BUT...
The violance bit - I honestly cannot see anyone taking it for so long and not doing anything about it, regardless. Friends who also keep quite?! Hmm, don't think so. A bit unrealistic to me.

Neverless I have read the 2nd book and waiting for the 3rd one, so it is good. It is not 5 stars though.
1 Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Don't be deterred from reading this if you are older. As a self-confirmed bookworm in her mid 30's, I long ago discovered that books focused on young adults in high school/uni often make the best reads. This is one of them.

This book broke my heart with the physical and mental abuse Emma suffers at the hands of her vile Aunt, along with how strong she is at coping with it. Her best friend Sara is also a strong character in supporting her and helps lift the storyline away from Emma's trauma's. Her potential love interest Evan, is a sweetheart but naturally the course of true-love isn't smooth and I wanted to bang their heads together (probably not the best choice of words based on the story, but is the best description I feel!)

I very much struggled to put it down and thankfully the second book is available as the ending is a true cliffhanger and left me a little numb and with a tear in my eye.
2 Comments 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Slim on 13 Feb. 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
This book was amazing. I bought it last night, and read a few pages last night not thinking much of it. Then today I picked it up for a few mins read and could not put the book down.
Emma is determined to get through high school, despite all the things that are pulling her back. She doesn't wallow in self pity or put herself first. She puts her two little cousins first, and thier happiness. She knows they are safe, and well loved, Its only Emma that deals with the beatings from her Aunt. And they are pretty scary scences in this book that broke my heart to think this really happens to people. But Emma didn't even tell her best friend, whom is her only friend. She tells Sara the rules of the friendship, Sara guesses something is not right but doesn't push.
Emma is counting the days to when she leaves her Aunts house and starts in college and is finally safe.
Insert annoying boy who worms his way in to Emma affections.
I loved this book, I'd love to give it a bad review as of the way it was ended. But it will encourage me to buy the next book to find out what happens. So it sells!
Great story, defently buy it!
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A truly outstanding book that has you hooked, on the edge of your seat and praying for a miracle for the life of the lead. Its one big OMG moment after another and as you go on Emma's journey and the book is so intense! The torture that Emma endured was shocking and you were constantly hoping that something or someone would come and save her, this is where Evan comes in.

He pursues her and wants to get to know her, something that no one other than her best friend have really wanted to do. She's reluctant and unsure but soon kicks off a very good friendship and relationship with Evan. The problem is, he doesn't know her secrets and she isn't going to tell anybody. You were constantly waiting for the penny to drop and thinking why doesn't anyone realise what is going on? Will she ever be free?

I loved the interactions between Evan and Emma and was glad that she had someone to look after her, even if he didn't realise it. The ending was a complete shocker. I think my face was in shock a while after reading it and I went out and got the sequel right away. It was unreal and totally unexpected. A really great book and series that will blow you away.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I thought this started off a little slow, I very nearly stopped reading about 30% into it but something told me to persevere and I am glad I listened to that little voice.

I found that the story of Emma and Evan was a very sweet teenage love and even though I admit I didn't really and still don't really understand what Evan saw/sees in her. It was a very innocent love story and strangely I actually quite liked it.

It was easy to guess what was happening to Emma when she was home and her aunt was a truly awful character. I found myself getting annoyed with Emma's character a couple of times because she was coming across as very weak and scared and I honestly wanted her to stand up for herself.

I have given this 4 stars because overall the story was very good but what made the story for me wasn't just what was happening to Emma, it was her friendship with Sara and Evan, the secondary characters make the story seem better and in some ways make Emma a bit more likeable as a character. If she hadn't had any friends etc that made her seem that way I am not sure I would have liked the story as much as I did.

The ending to this was just "wow!" literally as soon as I had finished reading I was downloading the next one I was absolutely dying to know what happens next.

The writing style definitely suits this new genre of books "new adult" and I would recommend this to readers who like YA books, I am slowly becoming addicted to New Adult genre and this definitely won't be anywhere near the last of what I read from this author or genre.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover