FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Reality of Social Con... has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Unused and unread, minor cosmetic imperfections such as scuffing or minor creasing. Publisher's remainder stamp to a non-text page. No-hassle refunds are always available if your book is not as expected. In stock here - same-day midday dispatch from England.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Reality of Social Construction Paperback – 19 Sep 2013

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£30.99
£25.34 £18.99
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • The Reality of Social Construction
  • +
  • The Causal Power of Social Structures: Emergence, Structure and Agency
Total price: £61.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 296 pages
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press; Reprint edition (19 Sept. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1107630169
  • ISBN-13: 978-1107630161
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 1.7 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 746,979 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

  • See Complete Table of Contents

Product description

Review

'In his typically clear and engaging style, Dave Elder-Vass here articulates an important new position in social theory, one offering to reconcile realism and social constructionism. With many insightful commentaries along the way about such thinkers as Archer, Searle and Saussure, The Reality of Social Construction is not only a theoretical advance but an apt choice for courses in social theory.' Douglas V. Porpora, Drexel University

'Social constructionism is an influential approach in social science that easily runs off the rails, but critical realism keeps our thinking on track. Dave Elder-Vass's account of social constructionism makes a valuable contribution to the growing body of critical realist theorizing of social life. A must-read for anyone sorting out the promise and pitfalls of social constructionist social science.' Christian Smith, Author of What is a Person?: Rethinking Humanity, Social Life, and the Moral Good from the Person Up (2010)

'… perhaps the best known of the latest generation of realist social theorists … there is a great deal to be appreciated in Elder-Vass's discussion of prominent thinkers … his account of John Searle's work is one of the best I have read.' Jamie Morgan, Journal of Critical Realism

Book Description

Many features of our social world are said to be socially constructed by forces such as language, culture and knowledge. Constructionism is usually seen as opposed to realist social theory. This book argues that versions of these ideas are compatible and that social scientists should be both realists and constructionists.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 2 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

21 May 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
19 March 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
lithuanian clown
5.0 out of 5 starsa book that should be read by all social scientists
16 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
religionprof
4.0 out of 5 starsReaders who enjoyed Hacking's or Searle's work on this subject will probably ...
5 June 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful.
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
31 July 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?