Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
49
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2015
This is one of the easiest five star reviews I've ever given.

I wasn't sure where the book was headed when the plain-speaking (OK potty-mouthed) Darla Jo picks up a naked hitch hiker, but the picture painted of the Ohio countryside and the world in which she lives is so vivid I literally could not put this book down. I loved Trevor with all his sense of self-importance being turned on his head as he came down from his monumental high, and then we meet Joe as well, who added a whole extra something to the mix.

I thought all the characters were very well drawn and I could imagine them clearly. I found the writing style clever, and endearing as it dragged me along for the ride, and I was very disappointed in one way when the book ended. Not because it was one of those appalling cliff-hangers blatantly meant to lure a reader to buy the next installment (it wasn't) but simply because I will miss these people in my head. This is the first Julia Kent book I've read and I'm looking forward to more.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
bk 1 in Random series. Had me giggling right from the outset. Darla's sense of humour in this and the previous (Continuation of Her Billionaires) and following novels keeps the story bounding along at a rate of knots with such humour...Trevor and Joe also have their input making a great 3 some in the funny side of life. . This author can certain write great foreplay, sex, and family awareness, with every day drudgery, but with a great BIG dollop of humour. Absolutely loved this fun read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Yep I laughed, sprayed coffee over the cat when reading this. Not so much a love story as a meeting of kindred spirits. All the characters are good, some backstory but I`m assuming this will follow in another book.
Sad in places and so damn funny in others read it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Random Acts of Crazy is a story about a naked hitchhiker, Trevor, who is picked up by trailer park chick Darla on her way home. It's late at night and she stops her car for the fine-bodied, naked hitchhiker who has nothing with him but a straw hat and his guitar and that's where things kick off. Trevor is as high as a kite when Darla picks him up and he has absolutely no idea how he got from Boston to Ohio in one night. There is an instant connection between Darla and Trevor, but things start to get complicated when Trevor's band mate Joe arrives to pick him up and seems to be falling for Darla too.

Random Acts of Crazy sounded like a fun and flirty book, perfect for the summer and it didn't disappoint on those fronts. This novel is downright hilarious at times which is to be expected from the absurdity of the situation Darla, Trevor and Joe are in. This novel is written from the alternating perspectives of all three of the main characters though Darla's is without a doubt the most interesting and the funniest. Darla is one of those girls that doesn't take crap from anybody and has quite simple rules to life. By contrast, Trevor and Joe come from a world where there parents monitor their every move and doing what they want to do just because they want to do it is something that they're not entirely familiar with. The coming together of such different characters is brilliant as you can see them all learning something from each other, particularly Trevor and Joe who learn to let loose a little and realise that there's more to life than getting in Law School.

A lot of aspects of this book are completely ludicrous but because they're so darn funny, you accept them. The opening chapters of this book were excellent. The writing was witty, funny, sexy, but as the story progressed I felt that it started to get a little silly. Whilst you could sense some sort of connection between Trevor and Darla, there really isn't much between Joe and Darla which makes their relationship very unbelievable. The book mentions frequently that Darla isn't much of a looker and that Joe and Trevor are basically angels that have descended from the heavens above and not that I'm superficial, but I just don't believe that two rockstars, no less two rockstars from Darla's favourite online band, would both end up falling for the same country bumpkin within the space of a few hours. Before Joe's arrival, I really liked this book, but after his character was introduced things started to get very silly. I can't reveal what these silly things were but things started to get more and more and sexual and culminated in something that I was really surprised at. Props to the author for ingenuity because man I did not see that ending coming but at the same time, I couldn't shake the feeling that it was a little ridiculous.

The one lose end that bothered me was that you never find out how Trevor ended up naked on the middle of a road in Ohio. We did find out a tiny bit more about his journey about half way through the story, but no real explanation. I guess it'll always be a mystery.

All in all, this is a brilliantly funny novel with lots of sexual references (so no minors!), but the plot disintegrated into madness after the introduction of a third main character which is a great shame. I would highly recommend this book to people looking for a quick and witty summer read and it certainly has a lot of plot twists which keep things interesting, but if you're a realist, then this isn't the book for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Random Acts of Crazy is what this book constantly consists of and its freakedly slide splitting funny!!....like seriously - naked hitch hiker on the side of the road who was heartbroken over a chicken!? If tour looking for a book that has humor, some kinkiness, first time emotions and a lot of craziness then you gotta read this!

Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
I read Julia's "Her Billionaire" series and loved them but this was even better. The language is intelligent and way above the norm of many romance books I've read. It's also the funniest book I've read in a while. I had a bit of a problem with Darla's mid western language at first but I soon got into it and enjoyed the interaction between Darla and Trevor.

I loved the facebook paragraph. I am so with Julia on this. Who cares? I did enjoy the "Justified" allusion though. As soon as there was a mention of Kentucky and lawman I was there. It's one of my favourite programmes. Timothy Oliphant rocks. I think we have very similar taste and this makes the stories even more enjoyable for me.

Darla was an amazing woman; so much more that trailer park trash. She was a rose in a garbage dump! Trevor and Joe were initially behaving like typical ivy league snobs but Darla soon put them in their place (metaphorically speaking!).

The growing relationship between the three of them is nice and slow, for a menage and Julia describes well the angst all three are suffering trying to decide whether the relationship is viable.

I'm looking forward to Josie's story, "It's Complicated" which is the next book to include Darla, Trevor and Joe. I can't wait to discover what the men's parents think of Darla. I also love the crossovers between characters which Julia includes in all her books I have read so far. Julia writes her stories from the three main characters' points of view and not simply in third person. This makes the stories that much more interesting.

I highly recommended this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Dara meets a nude man on the road carrying only a giutar they are so different in all areas turns out he's a singer in her favourite group and has a rich family. Trevor and Dora click become loves then his friend Joe turns up who is also from a rich family and behaves like a snob well strengthen they all get together for a three some. They have to leave but change their minds love is powerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Fantastic, hot involves threesome which might be off putting if ur more interested in a traditional hot romance. It's well written tho so it didn't cringe me out or scream erotica. Well worth trying as the rest of the series is fantastic, funny and yes hot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
So odd, so real, so dam random and so much fun and reality in a crazy soup of emotion and fear and social comment, my reality is not your reality but understanding is half way to realisation. And then there's the sexxx . A random buy I will never regret.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
This is such a funny read it had me in stitches.
Darla is down to earth funny woman and she meets Trevor naked walking down the road and offers him a lift, and then meets his band mate and best friend Joss and so a threesome begins.
Brilliant, funny and beautifully written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here