Ralph Vaughan Williams: A... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ralph Vaughan Williams: A London Symphony and other works [BBC Symphony Orchestra; Martyn Brabbins] [Hyperion A68190]

Audio CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
Amazon's Choice recommends highly rated, well-priced products available to dispatch immediately.
Amazon's Choice for "vaughan williams london symphony"

Price: £11.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 27 Oct 2017
£10.66 £11.05
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Ralph Vaughan Williams: A London Symphony and other works [BBC Symphony Orchestra; Martyn Brabbins] [Hyperion: CDA68190]
  • +
  • Vaughan Williams: Sinfonia Antartica; Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra [Mari Eriksmoen; Roderick Williams; Hélène Mercier; Louis Lortie; Bergen Philharmonic; Edvard Grieg Kor; Sir Andrew Davis] [Chandos: CHSA 5186]
  • +
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams: Scott of the Antarctic – complete film score
Total price: £39.77
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: Martyn Brabbins
  • Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • Audio CD (27 Oct. 2017)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B073LWR87S
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 53,722 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. I. Lento - Allegro Risoluto
  2. II. Lento
  3. III. Scherzo: Nocturne - Allegro Vivace
  4. IV. Finale: Andante Con Moto - Maestoso Alla Marcia -Allegro - Epilogue
  5. Sound Sleep - Various Performers
  6. Orpheus With His Lute - Elizabeth Watts
  7. Variations - Royal College of Music Brass Band

Product description

Product Description

Vaughan Williamss London Symphony (the composers favourite of the nine) makes a rare appearance in its 1920 first publication. Three lesser-known works complete a highly desirable programme, while Martyn Brabbins and the BBC Symphony Orchestra understand how this music should be played like few others. This is mandatory listening.


The BBC Symphony Orchestra are on magnificent form, and Martyn Brabbins's big-hearted direction digs deep and scales the heights. Wind solos in the Lento are exquisite, and there's a seismic tamtam thwack at the climax of the finale. Unmissable, and deeply moving. --The Arts Desk, January'18

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

27 October 2017
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
|Comment |Report abuse
17 November 2017
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
|Comment |Report abuse
20 February 2018
Verified Purchase

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: song cd

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?