FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Raising Global Nomads: Parenting Abroad in an On-Demand World Paperback – 15 Sep 2006

4.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£12.95
£11.46 £0.93
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
£12.95 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


Frequently bought together

  • Raising Global Nomads: Parenting Abroad in an On-Demand World
  • +
  • Third Culture Kids: The Experience of Growing Up Among Worlds
  • +
  • Belonging Everywhere and Nowhere: Insights into Counseling the Globally Mobile
Total price: £37.51
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 248 pages
  • Publisher: Expatriate Press; First Edition, First Printing edition (15 Sept. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0968676030
  • ISBN-13: 978-0968676035
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 1.4 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 667,569 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

About the Author

Pascoe is well known to travelling spouses around the world for her inspirational and humorous culture shock books about being a wife and parent. She also speaks to expatriate communities and human resources groups about the challenges of expatriate and repatriate life facing the spouse and family.


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
This book provided a decent overview of what one might expect when moving a family overseas. There were some helpful hints and plenty of food for thought here. I was a bit off-put by the author's assumption that when one takes a position abroad one earns a lot of money, hires a relocation service, has company support during the move, or household help after. Her recommendation to turn to those extra privileges when things get tough is not appropriate for everyone (e.g., those of us in the academic research world). I found this book lacking in the gritty details of helping kids to not only live through, but thrive in this kind of nomadic life. That said, I found Pascoe's anecdotes and tips reassuring and appreciated the final chapter on identity development.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A book full of useful insights about bringing up children when living overseas. Boundaries and discipline form part of the explanations, as well as sympathy and tips about how to deal with issues when they occur.
I would recommend this to any expat parent who's nervous about not "spoiling" their loved ones to make up for living outside their "expected" environment. The section on repatriation is accurate and helpful, as I recently found out!
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Anyone already familiar with Robin Pascoe's warm and engaging style will not be disappointed with this book, which is as funny as it is informative. In guiding us through the potential minefield that is raising your children between cultures, she draws not only on her own extensive experience in parenting abroad, but also on her many years as the web's Expat Expert, and as a successful and renowned global speaker on family relocation issues. She has clearly heard almost every story of global parenting, and makes great use of this treasure trove of experience. She has also done extensive research on children's development and creating optimum environments for their happiness and success, under the most trying circumstances, and this helps inform this very thorough, and informative, book. If you are feeling unsure and insecure about your own overseas parenting style, don't hesitate to buy this book -- and even if you already know you're on the right path, Pascoe will amuse, entertain and enlighten. No mean feat in an on-demand world!
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 3.8 out of 5 stars 10 reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars I am an expat coach and have been reading anything ... 18 Oct. 2016
By Entrepreneur Wannabe - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am an expat coach and have been reading anything I can put my hands on regarding third culture kids or expats. This is book is less theoretical than others and more practical.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help for families on the move 27 Dec. 2008
By Quality review - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is fantastic for families that move! It makes sense, and could possibly replace a counselor in regards to emotional problems due to relocation. The book helps me understand my confusion growing up and moving, as well as help my kids understand themselves better while we are a Foreign Service family, uprooting ourselves frequently.
Thank you to the author! I had ordered two by mistake but chose to keep the extra copy as a gift to a friend. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed with this book 24 May 2010
By Willys Wrencher - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I was disappointed with this book and stopped reading it early on when the author advocates a form of lying to your children in order to help them with culture shock. After reading that I immediately returned this book to Amazon and started searching for other books on re-entry and culture shock.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not live up to my hopes... 13 May 2016
By DN - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Although this book does contain some useful information, I was generally disappointed. While the author advocates an approach to raising children abroad that seems to have worked for her family, her own biases clearly shine through. The book seems to have been written with a very particular type of expat in mind -- a woman who takes a very traditional gender role in following her husband's career abroad and whose family is quite financially well-off. She actively discourages women from trying to find work or pursue their own careers while abroad with children, and she dismisses "angry feminists" for having taking issue with such statements in her previous books. She speaks only in passing to cross-cultural couples or couples who may value more egality in their relationships. As a therapist who specializes in working with expats, I was very hopeful that this book would prove to be a good resource for my clients, but I don't think I could really recommend it after all.
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive and useful book about raising TCK 24 Dec. 2012
By Véronique Martin-Place - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Some authors are coming into your life and will never go. Robin Pascoe is part of them with her book « Raising Global Nomads. Parenting Abroad in an on-Demand World ».
In the tradition of Dave Pollock and Ruth E. Van Reken, Robin Pascoe examines all the issues about family expatriation in a global and ever changing world. She studies in a systematic way the steps that expatriated families encounter, i.e. the announcement of the departure to an unknown country, the settling, the search of the school, the health abroad, the repatriation to the (unknown) home country, etc. ...
But Robin Pascoe's book is much more than a simple guide for expatriate families and their children. On the basis of her own experience (she is the spouse of a Canadian diplomat and lived in China, South Korea and Singapour) and numerous testimonials scattered with humor and perceptiveness all around her book, the author give smart and practical advice in order to be better prepared to the challenge of parenting abroad and in a context of recurring expatriation.
The positive aspect of this book is also the contributions of two expat experts. Lois J. Bushong deals with the too often taboo topic of expatriate families' mental health (depression, drug, alcohol, divorce, etc. ...). Barbara F. Shaetti writes about TCK's identity development. She gives solutions to parents in order to tackle this step with serenity.
« Raising Global Nomads » is then a comprehensive, useful, lively and exiting book. A must read without moderation!
Finding Your Feet in Chicago - the essential guide for expat families
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category