Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
107
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2004
A book that kicked off the movie and re-ignited interest in finding the old girl. Once reading the book you can understand why. The book starts off in a remote island owned by the russians. And soon sweeps across America, Scotland and England. Clive has the knowlage and panache to keep you interested all the way along. Also Clives knowlage on the Titanic and its history is astounding and teaches you things all the time.
This book is full of twists and turns and keeps you guessing all the way along. A exhillerating and informative read at the same time!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 1999
If this had been given the treatment it deserved when it was made into a film then James Bond would be dead and we'd have never met Indy Jones... Clive Cussler's Dirk Pitt books are the greatest adventures stories of recent times.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Loved the movie despite the bad reviews from the alleged "critics", even though according to Lew Grade "it would have been cheaper to have lowered the Atlantic"!
I recall reading this in paperback many years ago and thought I'd have another go with the Kindle edition. On the whole a very good yarn that differs somewhat from the movie in that there is blood and some sex that we didn't see in the movie. That aside a good read apart from the usual spelling mistakes in the transfer to Kindle but my only real gripe is the fact that when Pitt was driving South following the Colorado miners' trail he saw a sign saying Southampton 30 kilometers? Similar to the USA we still hang on to our miles until Brussels decrees otherwise.
A good read and it doesn't tax the brain overmuch! 5*!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
This is a typical Cussler offering featuring his hero, the hard drinking, womanising tough guy, Dirk Pitt. When the Titanic sank it dragged with it to the murky depths an extra secret in the form of a mineral mined in the depths of Russia. Fast forward several decades and the USA government find that they now need this material to ensure their safety and dominance in the cold war with Russia. A plan is hatched to 'Raise the Titanic' but with international politics rearing its head and saboteurs lurking in every shadow will the mission be a success?

What follows is an adventure story set over a number of continents and time periods. As usual the plot is extremely far fetched (at times unbelievable) but as long you can accept this then the pages disappear at a rate of knots. This is one of those novels where as long as you don't get too bogged down in the detail you will find yourself lost in the plot and enjoy the journey.

Some people may be put off by the obvious sexism and macho attitudes, but for me, a Cussler book just wouldn't be the same without them. This is Pitt's fourth outing and is probably the first novel to really hold together a fairly intricate plot. I like reading series in order, but it isn't really that necessary with the Pitt books, so this could well be the ideal place to get an introduction to the author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Obviously a nonsense today since we now know the Titanic broke in half on the way down but, this is still a very good read even if the suggested method of raising such a large vessel and floating her into New York sounds more magical than possible.
I have read many Clive Cussler books and this one is amongst the best. If you like Gung-Ho adventure stories with a larger than life main character, AKA Dirk Pitt, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Talk about stretching credibility! However must confess to a lump in the throat when the old lady sailed into New York harbour! Full of the usual swash-buckling adventure that we associate with Dirk Pitt and ... as usual ... thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
This was the first Clive Cussler novel I decided to read and as it turned out was a really enjoyable one.
Cussler's writing style is brilliant,in that,it's crisp,clear and fluid and makes you want to keep turning the pages and reading into the wee small hours.
The story translates better in book form that the 1980 film of the same name,although we now know that the Titanic broke in two as it sank to the bottom of the ocean and is not in one piece as imagined in the book.
I won't go into too much detail regards the plot,i'll leave that up to the reader,but the one thing I like about Cussler's style is the detail and facts he includes that make up the central core of the book and the way all the loose ends are neatly tied up.
Looking forward to the next underwater NUMA adventure.........Vixen 03
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I love Clive Cusslers books usually, but found this one a little disappointing. Found some of the inaccuracies annoying and the story far fetched. Looking forward to reading another one of his hoping it will be of his usual standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Raise The Titanic was the very first Clive Cussler that I read. It was excellent and started me on a mission to own all his writings. I now have 45 of his excellent books and have been entertained for many many years. long may he prosper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2004
If your a fan of dirk pitt and also love the story of the titanic this book combines them both dirk as usual has to fight his way through many dangers in order to complete his mission, and the ending provides something most people would to this day love to see happen the titanic finishing her maiden voyage aided by pitt.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse