A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £13.87 (70%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£5.99
Kindle price
£19.86
Hardcover price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£13.87 (70%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
  • RRP: £19.95
  • You Save: £0.09
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Rainsongs has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships from the USA! Expected delivery 7-21 days 2018. 1st Edition. Hardcover. Fine.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Rainsongs Hardcover – 9 Oct 2018

4.5 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£19.86
£13.52 £10.69
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Overlook Press; 1 edition (9 Oct. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9781468316636
  • ISBN-13: 978-1468316636
  • ASIN: 146831663X
  • Product Dimensions: 14.5 x 2.5 x 21.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,044,067 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

A compelling story, freighted with heartbreak and loss.--Shena Mackay, author of The Orchard on Fire

A beautifully written and evocative novel about grief and greed, art and life, isolation and emotion.--Amanda Craig, author of The Lie of the Land

A deeply moving meditation on loss and salvation. Hubbard brilliantly uses the restless moods and colors of the Irish landscape to evoke the transience of human emotion. Its echoes will remain with readers long after the book is finished.--Patricia Falvey, author of The Yellow House

Affecting . . . takes readers on a refreshing sojourn in Ireland's County Kerry . . . Hubbard's ruminations on grief carry this novel and should appeal to fans of Kristin Hannah or Claire-Louise Bennett.

For her keen and gracious insights into the relentless grieving process, for her transcendent evocation of the rough charm and enduring splendor of Ireland's rural treasures, Hubbard deserves a place in the literary pantheon near Colm Tóibín, Anne Enright, and William Trevor.

Quiet, gorgeous . . . a haunting read . . . So careful is [Hubbard's] prose, so beautifully wrought and thoughtful her passages, that the reader is swept along in this lovely, quiet novel about a woman picking her way carefully through loneliness, grief and healing.

About the Author

Sue Hubbard is an art critic, novelist, award-winning poet, lecturer, and broadcaster. Twice winner of the London Writers' Award, she contributes regularly to a wide range of publications including Time Out, New Statesman, and The Independent, and has also written for The Times, the Guardian, and New York Arts Magazine.


17 customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

By customer groups & interests
Literary Fiction
4.5
Fiction Books
4.6

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-8 of 17 reviews

15 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
2 September 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
14 May 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
13 March 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
26 August 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
23 January 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
11 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 May 2018
Format: Paperback

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?