Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2012
Absolutely fantastic continuation of the Raffles The Gentleman Thief series. Though the novels can stand alone, reading the series in succession allowed me to see the character development and added depth of this third installment. Bunny continues as a wonderful narrator, ever worried about Raffles, who began dispirited but rose to his typical lively craftiness in his aim to steal from the former Prime Minister. Though Mary Flanagan is absent, the introduction of Lucy Rosebery provides another truly engaging female. As before, the freshness of Foreman's writing modernises the world of Raffles for today's reader, making the novella an immensely enjoyable and funny read (perhaps the funniest yet!). With just enough of a twist and action, this short novella keeps you engaged until the last word. Definitely recommend this and the whole series to any fan of historical crime fiction.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
The funniest and most touching Raffles story yet. Although Raffles: A Perfect Wicket works as a stand alone story there is an added depth and context to the piece should you have read the other books in the series. Bunny is as endearing as ever and again, in the form of Lucy Rosebery, the author adds an attractive female character to his cast. As ever there is a surprise ending. As ever the dialogue and wit are particularly enjoyable. As ever Raffles charms and confounds.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I enjoyed this novella immensely. I remember Raffles on the TV when I was a child, but I haven't read any of the stories. I found this very amusing, particularly enjoying the appearance of Inspector Lestrade and the mention of Sherlock Holmes. I would definitely like to read more of Raffles and Bunny's adventures.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2012
Love, politics and even a bit of cricket feature in this third book in the series. An immensely fun novella that works well on its own and as part of the whole series. What keeps me coming back to the Raffles series is the wit, charm and surprising endings. This installment is probably the best one yet.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
Raffles: A Perfect Wicket is just as witty and charming as its predecessors. Raffles is up to his usual antics with planning a heist on Lord Rosebury, however in this adventure Raffles shows his softer side. Instead of stealing all the valuables Raffles sets it up so that Bunny can steal something more valuable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
This eagerly anticipated third instalment does not disappoint. Foreman skilfully adapts the successful formulae of its predecessors, but this time Raffles has his sights set on his most difficult prize of all for the ever diffident Bunny.

In `Bowled Over', Foreman slowly began to peel back to the layers of Raffles, and this time he teases out the softer side of Bunny, as the sweet Lucy Rosebury is introduced. It seems love is just as alluring as the wealth of the former Prime Minister in this one- if not more!

This novella is packed full of warmth, charm and, as always, the illustrious twist you don't see coming!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
This was my first encounter with the new Raffles series which has left me wanting to read the previous instalments. Both the writing and characters are both engaging and witty making 'A Perfect Wicket' a wonderful quick read. The dialogue is fast-paced, packed of humorous quips, literary and sporting references alike. Whilst the eponymous Raffles is intriguing, the narrator Bunny brings a very human voice to the novella, and the twist in the tale bring the story to a satisfying finish. The ideal book for when rain stops play this summer!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
I am really enjoying Richard Foreman's Raffles books, and in particular the fact that each book further develops the relationship between Raffles and Bunny. Raffles: The Perfect Wicket gives Bunny his time to shine, although maybe not as wholly by himself as first seems.
Yet again a perfect read for the train. If only these would come out as often as I have to travel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Loved it. Loved Anthony Valentine playing the part on the tv many years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
A good yarn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here