Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 April 2011
I was looking for another detective radio 4 series to listen to and took a 'chance' with Inspector McLevy and his faithful constable Mulaholland. Truth is I saw Brian Cox's name attatched to this series and knew it would be worth a try. This 2 cd set contains the stories 'For Unto Us' and 'The Trophy Club'.
Based in Victorian Edinburgh, McLevy has a no nonsense approach to his work. A dour scotsman with a thirst for solving crime. He treats all criminals with contempt, without exception. Brian Cox does a splendid job and brings Inspector McLevy to life in our imagination.
Is it me, or are these briliant radio 4 plays so much more entertaining than todays television (a medium that is lacking 'vision' even more these days). There are now 3 cd's in this collection. All detective fans will enjoy McLevy and his sometimes very dry one liners.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2009
I've been listening to these on BBC4. They are a great mix of the mean, gritty and turgid back streets of 19th century Edinburgh and charming, witty banter between McLevy, Mulholland, Jean Brash and Lt. Roach.

The voice acting, incidental music and sound effects are all spot on.

It's interesting to see in Ashton's interpretation that he has not made McLevy anachronistically a "modern man" with modern sensibilities, but has kept him of his time period. Yet he still shows a lot of depth of character which is not offensive to our modern standards of how we treat people. Sometimes likable and other times too staunch to stomach. This makes for a very fascinating study.

I haven't had a chance yet to read any of the real McLevy stories such as "McLevy: The Edinburgh Detective" so am wondering if Ashton's radio series stories are based on the original McLevy stories, or are they simply his own original creations?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2010
This was great radio and makes for great listening again and again. The ensemble cast is very good indeed, but there is considerable pleasure in Brain Cox's magnificent voice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 August 2014
These two detective dramas follow the intriguing character Inspector James McLevy as he patrols Victorian Edinburgh in an attempt to bring justice and protection to those who need it. McLevy is a man of intelligence, integrity and compassion and played by the ever reliable Brian Cox, who gives the character some depth. Siobhan Redmond also stars as Jean Brash, a local madam with wide nets that McLevy often finds himself trapped in. These two leads make this a very listenable drama.

The mysteries are not overly complex or mind taxing, but do explore the darker side of human nature and desire. There is a broad dash of humour that works pretty well. The storytelling is aided by McLevy having a sidekick who is just as intelligent who McLevy can spark ideas off and banter with.

The two 45 minute dramas are each on a separate disc win a fold out jewel case. Liner notes are the usual uninformative fare from BBC audiobooks, but this doesn't really detract. I'll be looking out more entries in this series, 4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 April 2014
These two detective dramas follow the intriguing character Inspector James McLevy as he patrols Victorian Edinburgh in an attempt to bring justice and protection to those who need it. McLevy is a man of intelligence, integrity and compassion and played by the ever reliable Brian Cox, who gives the character some depth. Siobhan Redmond also stars as Jean Brash, a local madam with wide nets that McLevy often finds himself trapped in. These two leads make this a very listenable drama.

The mysteries are not overly complex or mind taxing, but do explore the darker side of human nature and desire. There is a broad dash of humour that works pretty well. The storytelling is aided by McLevy having a sidekick who is just as intelligent who McLevy can spark ideas off and banter with.

The two 45 minute dramas are each on a separate disc win a fold out jewel case. Liner notes are the usual uninformative fare from BBC audiobooks, but this doesn't really detract. I'll be looking out more entries in this series, 4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2010
I love listening to McLevy on the radio, and now I have the chance to listen when I want.
I enjoy his Scottish quips, his sidekick Mulholland, and the temptress Jean Brash.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2013
I've loved all of this series and this one did not disappoint. As am exiled Scot I know part of the appeal is the accents and the familiar landmarks, but the stories are compelling and he characters well developed and complex. Just wish there were more left to enjoy
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2013
I first came across these in a bargain bookshop and I must say they are quite wonderful! The stories are funny, quaint and quite enthralling. The actors surpass themselves and I'll be getting more of them. Pity there's so few in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2014
The cast is exemplary, led by the excellent Brian Cox, and the storylines are good. This, along with the other Mclevy CDs, has humour, drama and pathos. A really enjoyable listening experience. I heartily recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2009
We very much enjoyed this recording and found it held our attention and made the time go on a long journey.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)