Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2005
This book is the follow up to Mrs Frisby and the Rats of Nimh which I enjoyed and this sequel is equally enjoyable. It is about a group of intelligent rats that live in a valley and a city rat who has a person in his family who was originally with the rats of Nimh. He comes to Thorn Valley and joins forces with them to fight a flood. This is a good book for teenagers and you need to have an imagination - it reads better if you have read the first book to give you some background.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I read the first book: Mrs Frisby and the rats of NIMH to my children in the 70's, and after the author died never thought to see any follow on books. His daughter has written this so beautifully, she's a credit to her father. My grandchildren thought it was 'super', it was a job to remind them they didn't need to read the whole book before going to sleep.
I will read all three books over and over again, after all I'm only 66.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2001
A brilliant follow-up to the original Mrs Frisby book. I didn't put this book down. I was totally involved from the very beginning and couldn't wait to see what happened next. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Having read "Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH" to my grandchildren, I was intigued to find out what happened next. Jane Leslie Conly makes a good job of following on the story; not an easy thing to do. Would recommend anyone who has read the first book to read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2000
This book is a must for any child. I read this book some 15 years ago and still remember it clearly. As a child who never read, this was one of the few that I did read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Excellent,fast moving,gripping plot,with good factual content.This is a worthwhile read and an admirable sequel to her father's novel, "Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
My son read Mrs Frisby and Rats of Nimh and enjoyed it. This is sequel and he liked it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2008
In Racso and the Rats of NIMH, the Rats of NIMH have developed a self-sustaining community in Thorn Valley, where they are completely isolated from humanity. Timothy Frisby, the youngest son of Mrs. Frisby, travels from his family's home to Thorn Valley. (Although his mother is an ordinary mouse, Timothy has inherited the extremely high intellect and long lifespan of his father, NIMH escapee Jonathan.) During his trip, Timothy meets Racso, the son of Jenner (a rat of NIMH introduced in first book who is widely considered to be a traitor). Timothy and Racso arrive at Thorn Valley, but while Timothy integrates and begins receiving the same accelerated education as the rat children, Racso, coming from a colony of savage urban rats, has trouble adjusting to life in a cultured town of rodents. Racso is also burdened by his family history, as his father deserted the rats' previous colony, placing them in danger of extinction. Life in Thorn Valley is suddenly threatened when humans begin planning to build a dam there, flooding the entire area. Racso, Timothy, and the entire rat colony must observe and sabotage the dam construction before the valley is underwater.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Excellent service
Great book 👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
This children's book is the sequel to Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O'Brien. The story is as follows: city rats, field mice and the Rats of NIMH join forces to fight the imminent flood (man made) that threatens their home in Thorn Valley. To achieve this they must gather their supernatural knowledge and wits to battle against the humans and their plan of destruction.
I found this book tedious, the characters annoying, and the plot unoriginal and ludicrous. The action and adventure is not in the least thrilling, and the themes and their impact extremely weak. I cannot recommend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse