Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Learn More Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2013
This an excellent guide book for everyday use whilst enjoying your time poking around on the rocky shore. Whatever you find you can be guaranteed that Maya will have a clear picture and some interesting information about it to help inform you. A great help to those with enquiring minds or enquiring children to better inform your visit to the local rockpools and help promote a lifelong love of this unique environment. Maya's enthusiasm for the topic is very evident in this book as well as her love for all things marine.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
As a recent convert to sea kayaking I thought I should learn more about the life around the shores. The other books I've looked at are either far too simple or laid out poorly (I'm looking at you Collins Gem) or too dry and academic. This version is large enough to give lots of rich background details. It features photographic images of the species. It's organised by phylum rather by habitat so it's much easier to find the thing you're looking for. Small enough for a decent sized pocket and loads of extra info to go and follow up. One slight complaint is that it seems a little South West centric, but I'm assuming this is due to there's more variety there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Full of information for your seashore hunting. Everything expertly explained. Something for all the family. My grandchildren and I will love using this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Having grown up at the seaside, with a father as a keen fisherman and now two children 5 and under, this wonderful book has become a family favourite. With its beautiful illustrations and vibrant colours, the seaside comes alive within the pages of this perfect-sized book. Maya Plass' expertise is clear and the book is easily accessible for the lay person making this a perfect accompaniment to any seaside visit and also as a general indoor learning experience for all ages. A must-buy for anyone interested in the sea creatures of our Great British coastline.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Very useful introductory chapters. Quite informative/educational illustrations of species anatomy. High quality of representative species photos. Wide coverage of subjects. Obviously written by a person with scientific knowledge as well as love for the subject!

I found in it useful material for my website (greekwildlife.gr)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
A fantastic book to help answer all the questions my children love to ask! My knowledge of the seashore is fairly limited but with Maya's fantastic book I am equipped to answer all their questions.

This is a book that will be using for a very long time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
A good balance of illustration and text. Well written and informative. One to dip into time and again. A good reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
this book provides masses of information and is really helpful when on the seashore with the children thanks a bunch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Very useful book for explaining life on our sea shore to my children's hungry minds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Great little book. Very interesting and have recommended to peopld.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)