Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Quintessential Hank Thompson 1948-1979 CD

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 10 Aug 2009
Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Amazon's Hank Thompson Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (10 Aug. 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Raven
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 513,632 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Humpty Dumpty Heart
  2. Whoa Sailor
  3. Wilde Side of Life
  4. Waiting In the Lobby of Your Heart
  5. Rub-a-Dub-Dub
  6. Wake Up Irene
  7. Fooler
  8. Breakin' the Rules
  9. Honky-Tonk Girl
  10. We've Gone Too Far
  11. New Green Light
  12. Wildwood Flower
  13. Breakin' In Another Heart
  14. Most of All
  15. Don't Take It Out On Me
  16. Blackboard of My Heart
  17. Rockin' In the Congo
  18. Squaws Along the Yukon
  19. I've Run Out of Tomorrows
  20. Anybody's Girl
  21. Cocaine Blues
  22. Six Pack To Go
  23. Oaklahoma Hills
  24. Hangover Tavern
  25. On Tap In the Can or In the Bottle
  26. Smoky the Bar
  27. I've Come Awful Close
  28. Older the Violin
  29. Who Left the Door To Heaven Open
  30. I Hear the South Callin' Me

Product description

Product Description

Raven presents the only definitive, multi-label collection from the master of Honky Tonk and Western Swing – Hank Thompson. The Quintessential Hank Thompson 1948-1979 is a modest title for the most comprehensive, 30-track career overview of one of the greatest Country artist of all time. Thompson began recording in 1946 and he scored his first #1 hit in 1952 ('Wild Side of Life'). His Brazos Valley Boys was Billboard's top-ranked US Country band from 1953 to 1965. A genuinely influential performer – George Strait, Lyle Lovett, Asleep At The Wheel, Dwight Yoakam and Vince Gill all owe him a debt – Thompson was elected into The Country Music Hall Of Fame in 1989. The Quintessential Hank Thompson comprises original recordings for Capitol, Dot and MCA. It features all his biggest Country hits – 31 years of chart placements – with three #1 smashes ('The Wild Side of Life', 'Rub-A-Dub-Dub', 'Wake Up Irene'), 21 in the Top 10 and four Top 20 hits, plus classic album cuts ('Cocaine Blues') and highly regarded latter-day hits – 30 tracks in total. These earthy, rollicking hits sound as fresh as the day they were recorded. With superb quality audio, extensive liner notes and color booklet.

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.3 out of 5 stars 6 reviews
5.0 out of 5 starsDefinitive Thompson Collection
10 September 2015 - Published on
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsQuintessential Hank Thompson
28 July 2012 - Published on
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.
4.0 out of 5 starsIf not the King of Western Swing but certanly the Prince!
30 November 2013 - Published on
Verified Purchase
N. Arseneault
5.0 out of 5 starsClassic
22 December 2014 - Published on
Verified Purchase
Toney Nittinger
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
15 September 2016 - Published on
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?