Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
208
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2017
Bought this because I heard the theme music and saw a trailor on Youtube. These kind of films don't usually appeal but I found this one quite compelling and very beautiful to watch. The story eventually drew me in right up to the end. Worth watching. Very happy with purchase - arrived quickly in excellent condition. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Very good film arrived on time as always well packed great in blu-ray & action/story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Awesome movie. My favorite Chinese kung-fu epic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
One of the most beautiful films made. In my all time Top 20 movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Fantastic movie great fight scenes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Truly unbelievable visuals and sound.
The greatest showcase of the power of Blu-Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Beautiful film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Heartbrakingly beautiful film. Don't be put off by the subtitles, visually they don't matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
Director Zhan Yimou is a great director of drama. But he has never directed an action film before. So I went into this with some trepidation. But he has shown with 'Hero', that he is an overall great director. This movie was very well cast and directed.

Jet Li plays a nameless warrior who presents to the Emperor of Qin the weapons of the three greatest assassins. All of who had sworn to kill him. We are taken on a trip through the stories of the Nameless and how he killed the three assassins. And then once again when the emperor tells us his interpretation of what he perceives happen. Ever perception of the story has its on emotions, visually displayed by its own primary color. The filming is also epic; they were able to use the Chinese army to fill in as extras for the emperor's army.

The conflict shows us the emotions involved with what that emperor was trying to do; unite the seven provinces under one rule. It does delve into both side's reasons and how one person's assassin is another's hero. And what we learn is both sides of any conflict have its heroes. But the main theme this movie tries to get across is that it is a great hero who thinks of his land before his own desires.

For the martial artist we are treated to Jet Li and Donnie Yen fighting each other. It is a wonderful fight. And I hope we do not have to wait years to see them paired up again. This fight alone is worth watching the movie for.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)