Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
440
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2013
Queenie is an amazing novel by Jacqueline Wilson - I couldn't put it down. The story is narrated by Elsie Kettle, and Elsie lives with her Nan. When Elsie's Nan gets TB she has to go into hospital, and Elsie's Mum comes to look after her. But then Elsie herself starts to limp, and when they go to the doctor they find out that she has got TB of the leg. Elsie has to go to hospital and she tells lots of stories to all the other children, and she becomes friends with a nurse called nurse Gabriel. The ward also has a cat called Queenie, and every night Queenie climbs up onto Elsie's bed and she pretends that Queenie can talk. Elsie and her Nan wanted to go and see the coronation, but instead Sir David orders televisions for each ward. What I liked best about this book was the way it was narrated: I feel like I know Elsie very well. I would like Elsie for a friend.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
(Written by 9- year old daughter): This book is the best Jacqueline Wilson book I have read on kindle and book.The basic idea is that the main character,Elsie,really wants to see the 1952 Coronation but she gets ill.She has to go to hospital and misses the coronation.She is really disappointed.But she gets a nice surprise.The cover shows Elsie and the hospital's cat,Queenie.At the end of the book,Elsie adopts one of her kittens and calls it Princess.I definitely love this book and I would recommend it to all Jacqueline Wilson fans.This book is excellent and I really want a sequel to come out.I also think this book is ideal for children who want to have a go at reading these books.I started reading this the day that it came out and I was so attached that I couldn't turn my kindle off until bedtime and I finished it the day after.The best bit is that the description is so good I thought I was part of the story and I could see everything.This is the best Jacqueline Wilson book ever!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Jacqueline Wilson's writing is just about the polar opposite of the propogandist fodder of Ms Enid Blyton a half century earlier and yet they, surprisingly, both appeal to the same young readership demographic. They both write for children rather than at them. Blyton may have written the same story 400 times but there is still an element in them that appeals to children who know they are written for them. Children know these things.

Jacqueline Wilson also knows what children want. They want honesty, they want engaging characters, they want humour and above all they want a good story that keeps them turning the pages (or in this case listening to the next chapter)

Queenie is the latest in a very long line of brilliantly crafted novels by the author who holds no punches when it comes to telling it like it is. She has courted with controversy often before and here she looks into a disturbing period in history that has hitherto been smoothed over by the likes of Blyton who always painted too much sunshine in the country lane.

Queenie tackles a subject ~ the treatment of sufferers of TB ~ in her own inimitable style. TB was, in many ways, the AIDS of its day, a subject rarely publicly discussed and the risk of contamination leading to extremes of paranoia.

Elsie Kettle, such an exquisitely named heroine, has contracted the disease through her beloved Nan and the book follows the consequences leading to a nightmare sanitorium that reminded me so of Solzhenitsyn's "Cancer Ward.

The book is carefully read by Finty Williams in a voice that, for me now, will ever be Elsie Kettle's. Even though you may have read the book it is wonderful to have it read to you by somebody who could certainly make bedtime a very special time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It takes over 2 hrs for Jacqueline Wilson too establish that Elsie has no friends of her own age, that her mother is neglectful and that two of the characters have an infectious disease. During this time nothing eventful happens, there is no interesting dialogue, or historical colour. Given the sad theme as well most listeners are likely to have given up long before this point. JW seems to have forgotten how rationing was still effecting people's lives, at this time. Giving away a rationed item like chocolate would have been a very big deal for example. Society was recovering from the War in many other ways, all of which is ignored. The newness of the National Health Service is also overlooked.

Elsie's main intiative is to fantasize, which I did not find either interesting or endearing. I would have liked more quirkiness from some of the other characters.

There is enough worthwhile content in this book to fill 1 or 2 hours. At nearly 10 hrs I found it a chore to listen through.

The reader, Finty Williams, has a clear rich voice which I would be happy to listen to again. She does not however add any drama to the narrative on this difficult occasion.

The language and perspective is suitable for 9-11 year olds, but I would not recommend it to any children I know.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I love love love LOVE this book!!! It's so warm and friendly, and so interesting and informative and with such vivid descriptions it felt like I was really there!!! I definitely recommend this to all Jacky fans!! I absolutely could not put it down, a brilliant read!!!!!!! Xxx
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
This rather large book arrived at approximately 9:30am, as I had missed the fact there was a new Jacqueline Wilson out. Bad mother, I know. At 9:31 my daughter settled down on the sofa, and there was silence, blissful silence, until after 4pm.

Then she demanded lunch.

Since then I have had lots of questions, about TB, and whether it exists now; about the Queens coronation; and then she went onto the internet to look up the pasteurisation of milk, and antibiotic resistance.

There really are not many authors that could keep my daughters attention not just through the book, but for the evening as well, doing research on questions raised. As there were no complaints I can only assume that Ms Wilson once again kept her historical details accurate.

I would therefore recommend this book, it still appeals to a child that has read every other book by this author, and left her asking when the next one would be along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
This book is probably the most heart warming, realistic, painful story I have ever read.

Elsie goes through a hard time with her mum who is hard on her. Her grandmother who gets ill and feels like her whole life is over. After that she gets ill herself. Elsie is very fond of one of the nurses who works in the hospital. I don't want to give the whole story rut away so I won't go any further. But I do believe this book is for seven or eight years plus. Maybe some of the mum bits are a tiny bit inappropriate.

On the whole this book was obviously thoroughly thought about , well written but in the whole the best thing about this book is the detail and the imagination. Elsie has a vivid imagination a tells stories to her friends in the hospital.
Another thing about this book is the emotions. Whenever Elsie is angry the way she reacts or the dialogue you can tell straight away like a book is supposed to be. Before when I used to read Jacqueline Wilson's book I thought that they were all written in the same way but exciting. But in Queenie it is different. As I have said before her ways of words, the detail and everything else made this story come to life.

As I look at Elsie I see a connection between her and Hetty Feather they are both bold and spiteful. They both like certain people and say bad thing about the people that they hate. They both don't know their fathers (Until Emerald Star the third Hetty Feather book). The flaws about them is that Elsie has Brown not red hair. Also Elsie loves her grandmother much more that her mother, unlike Hetty who loves her mother to death.

That is why I gave this book five out of five.
Great job Jacqueline Wilson this book made me very sad when I had finished it. It only took me two days - not full.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
This is the best book by Jacqueline Wilson yet!

I cried so much when I heard Elsie's thoughts about her nan being dead. There is a happy ending, rest assured. If you know you cry at sad bits, you'll probably cry a lot. I recommend this book to 9-12 year old girls. Once I started, I couldn't stop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
My Daughter loved the book, another Jacqueline Wilson Treasure. A story about a Girl and Grandmother that are separated due to their admittance to hosiptal, when all their plans change. The girl finds a new friendship in a cat, which helps here through this difficult time. Without saying more or the story will be ruined for you. This book is a definate for lessons in life being told in a real but sympathetic way in the wonderful "Wilson Way".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
This book is amazing the start might seem a bit boring at first, but DON'T let it put you off. Elsie, the main character, is a very brave, mischievous and imaginative child much like many of Jacqueline's other characters yet somehow much different. Both her and her beloved nanny were diagnosed with TB and sent to different places, Elsie looses contact with her nanny and her mum rarely visits her so if it wasn't for the other people in her ward, the cat named Queenie and Gabriel the kindly nurse she would be very lonely. This story is a mixture of sad and happy parts and I was close to tears near the end when I had read the final paragraph I did cry, I cried tears of joy and happiness as this book is very moving. If you aren't sure I would definitely recommend Queenie as it is a very, very good book filled with many mixed emotions and many pages to keep you going for a long time, but not so long it gets boring
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£4.99
£4.99
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here