Kindle Price: £2.99

Save £7.00 (70%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Pursuit of Happiness: Why are we driving ourselves crazy and how can we stop? by [Whippman, Ruth]

The Pursuit of Happiness: Why are we driving ourselves crazy and how can we stop? Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 179 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£2.99

Length: 288 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now

Product description

Review

"I LOVED this book. I found it SO WELL WRITTEN, so witty and funny and reading it I was often envious of Ruth Whippman’s facility with language. It is a hugely engaging read, accessible and so relevant ... I really, really, really, really enjoyed it and am quite evangelical about it." (Marian Keyes, author of THE WOMAN WHO STOLE MY LIFE)

"Like Bill Bryson, Whippman has a willingness to play up cultural differences to comic effect … She also has Bryson’s sharp ear for language ... With warm wit and chilling logic, The Pursuit of Happiness shows that the human desire for contentment can be manipulated and distorted until it is barely recognisable ... A whip-smart British Bill Bryson." (Sunday Times)

"[Ruth Whippman] writes with sharpness and wit" (Evening Standard)

"Ruth Whippman is my new favorite cultural critic, and her book was such a joy to read that I temporarily forgot about all my neuroses. It’s a shrewd, hilarious analysis of why a country obsessed with happiness is so darn unhappy." (Adam Grant, author of GIVE AND TAKE, ORIGINALS, and OPTION B (coauthored with Sheryl Sandberg))

"Those wanting to understand the complex reality of our personal quest for happiness might usefully turn to Ruth Whippman’s The Pursuit of Happiness – the lively memoir of a British journalist in California, on the hunt for that elusive but, as she sees it, increasingly sought-after, American ideal of happiness … Whippman – whose narrative voice is an unlikely mix of Kathy Lette’s and Louis Theroux’s – has followed her husband to Silicon Valley to start a new life … Whippman argues persuasively that happiness is something that emerges from the quality of relationships we have with others … The Pursuit of Happiness also sheds light on the link between religion and happiness." (Times Literary Supplement)

"She writes with a light touch ... Her conclusions are amusing and offer a useful commentary on this age of materialism and gloating." (The Times)

"Wry and often hilarious … Whippman takes readers on an engaging and perceptive personal romp through the $10 billion happiness industry, and, along the way, shreds much of the 'science' that happiness is both an individual responsibility and a solo endeavour. A great - and important – read." (Brigid Schulte, author of New York Times Bestseller OVERWHELMED: WORK, LOVE & PLAY WHEN NO ONE HAS THE TIME)

"Ruth Whippman manages the trick of being funny about what is, deep down, a serious problem" (Oliver Burkeman, Guardian columnist and author of THE ANTIDOTE: HAPPINESS FOR PEOPLE WHO CAN'T STAND POSITIVE THINKING)

Book Description

A very funny debunking of our obsession with achieving happiness, which will appeal to readers of Bill Bryson, Louis Theroux and Pamela Duckerman.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1984 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone Digital (10 Mar. 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B017S92JM2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 179 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #217,066 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Fiction Books
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

23 March 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
26 June 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
27 May 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
30 December 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
23 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
23 March 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
4 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
23 March 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?