Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2001
I bought this book in Jan 2001 and at that time I did have 2 Years VB6.0 experience and a MCSD and this book was still invaluable. It is my most read VB book. This is a brilliant concise book full of code examples and I read it from cover to cover. I still refer to it now, its much better than MSDN for help. Its A5 in size and 580 pages long and I carry in my briefcase every where.
It covers a huge range of VB functionality from the different ADO cursor types to sort routines to manipulating the registry to object oriented programming with VB6.0. All explained clearly and concisely with code examples. Since I brought it into work seven other members of the team have bought it as well.
For brushing up for a technical interview - this is it. For moving from a beginner/intermediate VB6.0 developer to a good intermediate/advanced developer - this is for you. If you are a beginner get a teach your self in 21 days book first, then read this to learn how to do things properly. This doesn't cover specific areas in extreme detail - you need a specialist book for that, but this does cover the breadth of VB6.0 to a good/advanced level of detail.
Basically if you do VB for a living you should have this book.
I really hope Dan Fox does a VB.Net version next year. (Hint Hint!)
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2002
A lot of people have learnt some other programming languages and want to use VB as an RAD tool. This book is targeted at those with programming experience who wants to grasp VB concepts quickly. The chapters are short and well written. I found it particularly helpful because it doesn't waste time explaining the programming basics. I just want to know the syntax and structure of VB and get started quickly. This book does just that. It is a good reference book while you are writing the program, too!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2000
I've been developing in VB since version 2.0 back in 1994. During this time I have flicked through many books, but none have persuaded money out of me. This book is different. It doesn't go into the history of the microcomputer, why you need to program, how BASIC was conceived and all that rubbish you normally get - it leaps straight into a 'refresher' introduction (which is actually quite good - I learnt a couple of things from it!), and then heads off to tackle subjects such as ADO, the ListView and TreeView, APIs, DHTML and such like. All in great detail. All with code examples. The reason I bought it was it contained a section on Object-Orientated Programming and how it fits into VB. This is great. Go buy it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2002
Many VB books are large in quantity, for example "the complete reference, Visual Basic 6" published by Osborne, but this is not. If you like direct to the point books, like myself, this is for you. If you can code the solution to a problem two or more ways this book will help you take the correct approach. If you have coded before or not this book is probably the best to help you to produce the best application. When it is on my book shelf it is the best value book there. I only wish I had this book to get through university.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2001
If you are at all serious about learning to write professional code, YOU MUST BUY THIS BOOK. After a useful but not elementary beginning section, the author continues with discussing subjects such as Win32 API, ADO, ActiveX ,IIS and DHTML applications. Refers to OOP techniques quite a bit, especially Chapter 15. An excellent Quick Reference section in part III of the book
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2002
This book is an excellent one stop place for all your VB6 problems. It even covers things which MSDN likes to hide, such as Services. Many aspects of VB are covered but mostly in small detail, just right to give you that shove in the right direction. At this price, buy one for yourself and your friends.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2000
I have been developing VB on and off for 4 years now and although I have only had this book for a couple of months it is by far the grubiest I own by virtue of it contantly being picked up and read. The first few chapters are not the usual 'lets start completely from scratch' but offer a useful memory jogger for some of the more basic concepts before covering a number of more advanced and extremely useful areas of VB. The Treeview and ADO were particularly useful. Beware this is not a complete reference book for VB and makes no pretence to be. This is merely a collection of some of the more useful techniques for writing VB applications.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2002
The synopsis of this book describes it as being ok for beginners, and although its a great book, not recccomended for people new to coding/programming/scripting, Instead of teaching you, it lists code and explains it, this is a good intermediate and advanced way of learning the language, A few more explanations wouldve been nice. A good reference to have on the shelf, but dont start here as a beginner
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2001
The book covers a lot of the "wizzy" features of VB, such as handling databases, OO techniques and web applications. However, many of the code examples are incomplete, and usually seem to miss out the bits you actually need. Also, it seems to talk a lot around some topics, often in more than one section of the book, without actually saying explicitly what steps are needed to do the job. For example, I have been trying to use this book to understand how to handle ODBC databases, and have had to hop around three sections, without actually getting a complete "how to do it from scratch" explanation in any of them. This is where the code examples should help, but don't. It also omits "boring" stuff like how to handle files using the standard VB techniques rather than using FileSystem Objects.
Overall, rather disappointing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2002
Well, maybe this book doesn't fit the basic needs, but in the back cover is quite explicit: it is for intermidiate/advanced users.
But this doesn't mean you can't buy if you are a newbie. Although there is no tutorial, for a minimum-experienced programmer, it will fit his/her needs.
Well organized, i rate it 5 *****
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here