Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2012
I used this textbook throughout my undergraduate psychology degree and I found it to be a really helpful guide. It provided a good starting off point to understanding different mental health disorders, the dsm, etc, and gave helpful references so you could then look at other sources which went into more depth. The book has a lot of good examples and case studies, as well as learning exercises within each chapter to aid your understanding. I would definitely recommend it to anyone studying psychology, or even those with an interest, especially those who want to go down the clinical psychology route, as I've found it really helpful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2008
At last a text for UK students which focuses in a clear concise way on psychopathology issues from a European perspective! Excellent use of case studies and a very informative DVD accompany the text. The change in terms from abnormal to psychopathology is welcome and de-stigmatises the all too damaging stereotyping of mental health.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2010
This textbook is very well structured and cover a wide range of topics within the field of psychopathology from mood disorder to substance abuse and developmental issues. I am using it whilst studying for my degree and its been great. It's very explanatory so even if your not a student you will find it very insightful. Everything is covered from concepts and diagnostics to therapies and concordance issues. What sets it out from some other textbooks is that a majority of case studies and statistic referred to are from UK research. If your studying with the aim to work in the UK as a psychologist this aspect is particularly relevant. A lot of other textbooks that are published in the USA refer to American examples, whereas this gives a better idea of what is going on in the UK. The DVD is great addition too and also provides some career advice as well as case study interviews.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
This is an excellent introduction to psychopathology and clinical psychology. I managed to read it from cover to cover, which is a miracle for me as I never usually have the patience to read a whole text book.

I found the first few chapters a little boring. However, it gets more interesting later as the bulk of the book is composed of chapters that explain specific issues, such as schizophrenia and depression.

You should read this book if you are thinking of becoming a clinical psychologist like me, or if you just have an interest in abnormal psychology. Please bare in mind though, that it is just a general overview. If you want further detail you can read the recommended titles listed at the end every chapter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I love this book. it's amazing, it covers a wide range of psychopathology in a modern way of writing. Everyone in mental health should have it in his library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
This is an excellent book to have if you are studying any area of mental health. Fast delivery. Very happy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Such a thick, big book & incredibly interesting. Such a great price!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
needed for studies - took a while to come but appears to cover the module material - hopefully will assist with getting me good grades
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Good quality and very thorough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)