FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Proposal has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Proposal Hardcover – 7 Nov 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 184 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£14.99
£1.43 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£14.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Proposal
  • +
  • Deep Blue Sea
  • +
  • Perfect Strangers
Total price: £30.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Review (7 Nov. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755383540
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755383542
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 3.1 x 23.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (184 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 335,389 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

More romantic than a candlelit proposal. On Valentine's Day. In Paris. From Ryan Gosling (Heat)

A tantalising blend of elegance and mystique...irresistible (Closer)

A heart-wrenching punch-packing love story... Perry creates escapism at its best (Express)

An irresistible page-turner (Marie-Claire)

A London to New York story to curl up with on a wet weekend (Daily Mail)

Utterly delectable and spellbinding. An absolute treat for you this Christmas as it's simply magical...will leave you with a smile on your face and a sparkle in your eye (I Heart Chicklit)

As beautiful as it is tragic and the ending will leave you in tears, so be prepared! (Chick Lit Club)

The Proposal has all the sparkle and warmth of a Christmas novel... Fans of Tasmina Perry, New York, Christmas and love will be more than satisfied with this book (Novelicious)

Book Description

Escape with Sunday Times bestseller Tasmina Perry in this modern fairytale that moves between past and present, encompassing debutantes, 1950s New York, country estates and a secret love buried in time.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
It was a present for my mum, it seemed it took her a while to get into this one, she commented that it was not as good as Tasmina's first books.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Welsh Annie TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 30 Sept. 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I've always been a big fan of Tasmina Perry's writing, but the last couple of books haven't really been my cup of tea at all. But I'm delighted to report that I absolutely loved this one, and would highly recommend it to anyone who any romance in their soul and defy you to finish it without a tear in your eye.

Amy Carrell, a New Yorker working as a waitress in London while trying to get a break as a dancer, wants to spend Christmas with her family after breaking up with her wealthy boyfriend, having realised that she will never match up to the expectations of his parents. Spotting an advert in The Lady for a companion to an elderly lady, Georgia Hamilton, she joins her for a Christmas trip to Manhattan. Georgia is a wealthy ex-publisher with a difficult relationship with her own family and, in addition to the magical excursion to New York, her own story as one of the last debutantes in the late 1950s slowly unfolds. And what a story it is - fascinating in its detail about the life of a debutante who doesn't have quite the aristocratic background required, full of awkwardness and fraught with difficulty, who finds true love only to have it cruelly taken away. Amy sets about trying to put things right, and it's a really beautiful story, exquisitely told.

I thoroughly enjoyed every page - this is a much slimmer book than the author usually produces, and I escaped into it for an afternoon and devoured it from cover to cover. Amy is a really endearing character, who makes you really feel for her in her attempts to fit into a world where she's really struggling - eating her artichoke with a knife and fork in a charity shop dress that's shedding its sequins.
Read more ›
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Thank you very much to Emily Furniss and Headline Book Publishers for sending me a beautifully presented review copy of The Proposal by Tasmina Perry. This is my first Tasmina Perry novel.

After Amy’s boyfriend suddenly ends their relationship, Amy feels lonely and home sick and a rash decision to escort the very rich, very elegant, very English Georgia on a trip to Amy’s home town of Manhattan ensures the reader is quickly drawn in to this story. Before you know it, you’re engrossed in the rather odd pairing of the young American dancer getting to know the slightly eccentric, and older, Georgia.

It seems strange that such a successful, wealthy and elegant lady has never been to New York but we do find out her reasons as the novel continues. With Amy as her companion, the two discover New York and each other in a beautifully descriptive prose.

I much preferred the story of Georgia back in 1958 and I found myself wanting to continue reading about the life of the young Georgia much more than the present day. I fell in love with the early romance of Georgia and Edward, and could have read a whole book just about their life in the elegant old school London. I wasn’t as interested in Amy’s story as I didn’t connect with her as I did with Georgia.

Amy is a caring character though, as she finds herself finding out about Georgia’s past she feels the need to involve herself in helping elderly Georgia accept what happened and deal with the truth going forward.
I was then left sorely disappointed with the abrupt ending of the book, it seemed rushed somehow and the reader didn’t get to find out about Amy and what became of her potential new romance.

Sadly, a disappointing ending often leaves me feeling very deflated about the book as a whole, and this is why I had to rate three stars. A better, more complete end would have bumped this up a star as I really enjoyed the descriptive elegance surrounding The Proposal.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I read this book a while ago, and I'm only getting to review it now. We're going to be relying on what I can remember in detail from 9 months ago... Should this review fall short, remember this: I adored this book and gave it 5/5*. I never give 5/5*.

This book is the definition of subtle perfection. I love that this novel is dual point-of-view, and dual timeline. The glitz and glamour of the Debutante Season in Georgia's story gave me definite vibes of Gossip Girl, if only a slightly more mature version, while Amy's modern-day difficulties and relationship woes were all too relatable. Although there is a considerable age difference, Georgia and Amy's developing friendship is lovely to read about, and I was surprised by how much I really connected with Georgia.

Make no mistake, this is not a particularly light or fluffy read. There were certain plot points I didn't see coming, that truly had me gripped! These darker elements run in the background of the story, and there is an obvious commentary on social class, and the role of a woman in marriage. Some Feminist ideals are carefully brought into question, and not everyone might agree with the sentiment. However, this reader is one great big feminist, and I did not take offence, nor did I start burning this book. So I'm sure you'll survive.

Overall, I really enjoyed this read, and was totally swept away to a different time and place. I shed a tear or five by the end of the novel, and this is definitely a book I'll be keeping, and rereading!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category