Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2017
To reassure people again, on the disc menu you get a choice of languages and if you pick English it runs in the original form. So the only thing German is the writing on the box.

I like the books and I like this series. The series does not follow the books closely because using the episodic TV format it cannot. I actually prefer that, seeing them as two closely related but different things. The problem with straight adaptations from books is that you see the director's imagination and characters not the pictures you have formed in your own head. This often leaves me slightly disappointed as they are almost certain to be different.

This point however leads me to my one issue with this series. As ripped as Craig Horner is, in my mind he does not have the presence to be the Seeker. Using him would be like using Tom Cruise to play Jack Reacher. Oh hang on..... I was really surprised to find Craig is 5'11" as he comes across much smaller on screen, especially in scenes where all the main characters are together.

Put that minor irritant to one side though and just enjoy this entertaining romp. One word of caution, some of the detail in some of the scenes involving various monsters mean this is definitely a 12 possibly even a 15 certificate. I would not recommend this for younger members of your family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
A high-fantasy adventure based on a Terry Goodkind's novels, which has high production quality and is enjoyable to watch. This production is significantly lighter than game of thrones (more akin to the 1980's film Willow or the Shannara chronicles).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Fantastic series from the sword of truth novels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Just started to watch this. So far so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Enjoying series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
read the books, brilliant escapism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Excellent family fantasy series...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
I just love this show and even today i don't get it why it was cancelled. one of the best shows i ever seen :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Blah.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 August 2012
Firstly if you select the english audio soundtrack you see the series as it was originally filmed [with the origianl english voices/soundtrack], it's only the box and booklet that are in german! although various language overdubs are available {French, German, Polish and Hungarian!] and a lot more with subtitles. So what you actually get are all 22 episodes of the first series spread over 6 discs and filmed in the original english stereo soundtrack. There are a few extras such as audio commentries and again these are all in english, so don't worry if you can't speak german.
If you are not familiar with the story it's a typical sword and sorcery costume adventure, centred around Richard Cypher [Craig Horner] who is the Seeker of the title. In the first episode you learn he's meant to fulfil a prophesy and gets aid from Kahlan [Bridget Regan], a Confessor [a woman who has mystical powers that put people under her control] and 'Zed' [Bruce Spence], a world weary wizard. Each episode is a 'stand-alone' story as the group travel from one adventure to the next but there are underlying themes that twist and turn throughout the series as they continue in their quest trying to defeat an evil sorcerer.
The series is well acted, costumes are perfect for the storyline and the CGI effects are -for the most part, very good, whilst the first few episodes display a lot of tongue-in-cheek humour that makes it suitable viewing for all the family, albeit with some aggressive swordplay, but as the storyline develops and the series progresses, it becomes more serious and 'darker' as the sense of evil grows.
This is an excellent buy [I paid just over £13 on Amazon] and is regularly ahown on late afternoon/early evening TV, so it's generally suitable for most ages, but there are some gory fight scenes, a few scarry moments [with monsters] and there are more 'adult' themes toward the end of the series, so bear that in mind if showing it to younger viewers [the box set carries a 16 age rating].
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)