Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
54
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2002
I got turned on to Lynyrd Skynyrd when I heard 'Sweet Home Alabama' for the first time. I thought I would buy this album to see what they were like over the course of an album. They are awesome! There are no two ways about it, 'Pronounced' is brilliant.
It has it all, great songs, great riffs and one of the most amazing rock songs ever written in 'Freebird'. The guitar solo is longer than most songs!!! I would highly recommend this album to anyone who loves the guitar as an instrument!! Truly amazing!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2006
This Skynyrd line up were superb & this is a very fine record. No quibbles - it's just pure brilliance. Every track is outstanding - great tunes, gritty vocals & superb musicianship. An absolute "must have" (along with all the other albums from the pre plane crash Synyrd).

To be honest, you'd have to be barking mad not to buy this record - it's more than "just" a rock album, it's touched by genius.

Superb in every sense. A truly marvellous record by a truly excellent band.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
I'm gonna keep this review short and sweet!

Lynyrd Skynyrd's debut 'Pronounced leh-nerd skin-nerd' is, in my opinion, probably the greatest album ever made... ever! It is as close to perfection as is humanly possible! Every song is spot on so I won't bother naming highlights... Not even Free Bird can steal the show... well, just about! If you like rock music, or in fact any music, this album is a must in your collection. The musicianship on this album is second to none...

I really can't recommend this enough... It truly is a work of music art, and is a lasting memory of why 20th October 1977 was the darkest day in the history of music. Buy and you won't be disappointed, it's that good!

Fly high Free Bird...
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2005
Although i had heard Skynard tracks before, after buying this album on vinyl resantly i was shocked at it's brilliance. Not only does the album contain the rock classic 'Freebird' argueably rocks second greatest ever track behind Stairway, but all of the other tracks on the record are superb. From the opening riff of 'I ain't the one' the album takes the listener on a good only fashioned rock'n'roll journey which include the haunting 'Tuesday's gone' , the lyricly biting 'Things goin on' as well as the sheer rock genius of 'Gimme three steps'.
To sum this album up is tough all i can say is that as a student of today i , after buying the album exactly 30 years after it's realise, still find it to be as fresh and sensational as it was when first relised.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Lynyrd Skynyrd's first album may as well also be known as their Greatest Hits! All the classics are here! 'Tuesday's Gone,' 'Simple Man,' 'Gimme Three Steps' and of course, their signature tune 'Freebird,' the other four tracks are just as good just often overlooked by comparison. There are a few bonus tracks including demos as well which are great and handy if you're a budding guitarists and want to solo you're heart out over the outro of 'Freebird' you can essentially use these demos as backing tracks.
The songs are surprisingly riffy and the guitars dominate the mix as much as the vocals, if not more so. The production is great and noticably 70's sounding - which is definitely a good thing.
As good a debut as you're ever likely to hear and still untouched to many, if you want a Skynyrd album in your collection and you're considering one of the many compilations / greatest hits collections, don't bother, just pick up this instead, it's got all you need!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"...Look out glitter kids, a real Rock 'n' Roll band just showed up..." - raved the on-the-money reviewer in America's hip music magazine "Record World" in the late summer of 1973. Southern Rock was up and running (again) – Atlanta style.

Funnily enough - and despite its supposed kick-ass reputation (mostly through the epic Side 2 finisher "Free Bird") – I've always thought of Lynyrd Skynyrd's debut album as a more mellow, sexy swagger of a record than an out-and-out rocker – a slightly inebriated good old boy with a bottle of Jack Daniels in one hand and a Delta 78" in the other - deeply enamoured with both. And like the utterly brilliant "Second Helping" LP that followed in April 1974 – both have stood the test of old father time rather well my son. Here are the Mississippi Kids...

US released November 2001 (December 2001 in the UK) – "Pronounced Leh-nerd Skin-nerd" by LYNYRD SKYNYRD on MCA 088 112 727-2 (Barcode 008811272722) is an 'Expanded Edition' CD Remaster and plays out as follows (76:03 minutes):

1. I Ain't The One
2. Tuesday's Gone
3. Gimme Three Steps
4. Simple Man
5. Things Goin' On [Side 2]
6. Mississippi Kid
7. Poison Whiskey
8. Free Bird
Tracks 1 to 8 are their debut album "Pronounced Leh-nerd Skin-nerd" – released 13 August 1973 in the USA on MCA/Sounds Of The South MCA-363 and January 1974 in the UK on MCA Records MCG 3502. AL KOOPER produced the album and it peaked at 27 on the US LP charts (didn't chart in the UK).

BONUS TRACKS:
9. Mr. Banker (Demo) – non-album B-side of the US 7" single "Gimme Three Steps" released 5 November 1973 on MCA Records MCA-40158
10. Down South Junkin' (Demo) - non-album B-side of the US 7" single "Free Bird" released 4 November 1974 on MCA Records MCA-40328
11. Tuesday's Gone (Demo)
12. Gimme Three Steps (Demo)
13. Free Bird (Demo)
Tracks 9 and 10 first appeared on the 1991 MCA 3CD Box Set "The Definitive Lynyrd Skynyrd Collection"
Tracks 11, 12 and 13 are PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED

LYNYRD SKYNYRD were:
RONNIE VAN ZANT – Lead Vocals
GARY ROSSINGTON – Lead Guitar (Tracks 2, 3, 5 and 7) and Rhythm Guitars on all others
ALLEN COLLINS – Lead Guitar (Tracks 1 and 8) and Rhythm Guitar on all others
ED KING – Lead Guitar on "Mississippi Kid" and Bass on all tracks except "Mississippi Kid" and "Tuesday's Gone".
Note: LEON WILKINSON composed many of the Bass Parts for the album but left the group before recording (Ed King plays all the Bass parts as noted above). But then Wilkinson re-joined the group as Bass Player and King changed to Third Guitar player for their next LP "Second Helping" album
BILLY POWELL – Keyboards
LEON WILKINSON – Bass (see Note above)
BOB BURNS – Drums

ROOSEVELT GOOK – Bass, Mellotron and Backup Harmony on "Tuesday's Gone", Organ on "Simple Man", Mandolin and Bass Drum on "Mississippi Kid", Organ on "Poison Whiskey" and "Free Bird"
STEVE KATZ – Harmonica on "Mississippi Kid"
ROBERT NIX – Drums on "Tuesday's Gone"
BOBBY HALL – Percussion on "Gimme Three Steps" and "Things Goin' On"

The 12-page booklet has new liner notes by RON O'BRIEN that includes a potted history of the band, quotes from an Al Kooper interview (the album's Producer) and the sequence of how their 'Sounds Of The South' debut LP came about (recording began 27 March 1973) as well as black and white photos of the boys peppering the text. But the big news is the fantastic Audio. DOUG SCHWARZ has used the original Stereo Master Tapes and this album sounds just great – full of presence and the right kind of swagger. The Remaster isn't overly trebled for the sake of it – just punchy and clear - the rhythm section sweet and warm too...

Skynyrd's debut is counted in (1, 2, 3) to the huge guitars of the jabbing "I Ain't The One" – Ronnie clearly having some woman trouble (her rich Daddy doesn't believe his protestations of relationship innocence). The genuinely touching "Tuesday's Gone" is a Southern Rock Ballad and I can remember being hooked by this one track alone (kind of got me into the band). The acoustic guitars and those drums are huge – whacking your speakers with a clarity that is shocking. The catchy guitar boogie of "Gimme Three Steps" was an obvious single – MCA launched it in November 1973 after the album had been brewing using the non-album "Mr. Banker" on the flipside. "Gimme..." sounds fab as Ronnie preens "Excuse Me!" before a guitar lets fly. The brooding 'mama done told me' tale of "Simple Man" would start a trend in the writing of Van Zant and Rossington – songs about family, loyalty and how a body should "...take your time...don't live too fast..." - advice they sang about but ignored all too often. It ends Side 1 with a wallop.

Side 2 opens with another fave of mine – the guitar pinging Boogie of "Things Goin' On" where the boys lament that there's "...too much money being spent on the moon..." when ordinary folks are struggling down in the ghetto. Roosevelt Gook puts in a blinder on his mandolin anchoring "Mississippi Kid" with a Bluesy Down Home feel while Ed King does his Slide thing. Another familiar theme (pills and booze) rears its ugly little head in the superb rocker "Poison Whiskey" where doctor looks at the poor man and shakes his head because he's seen this body and soul rot too many times before (lyrics from it title this review). And it ends on the penultimate Skynyrd number that MCA actually wanted the band to edit down to three minutes twenty-nine before they even recorded it (luckily the group stuck to its creative guns). "Free Bird" is of course almost a cliché now for longhaired hippy Rock – but it still amazes – and the remaster has brought out those army of guitars like never before. Fly high indeed. Die-hard fans will know that "Free Bird" was edited down to 4:41 minutes for 7" single release in the USA and the rare Promo version has a Mono Mix on one side (Stereo on the other). Unfortunately both are AWOL from this release and to my knowledge remain so on the digital front. That said – what puts this 'Expanded Edition' into the solid 5-star category is the superb five bonus tracks that reek of the true Skynyrd – sloppy, moody and simplistically brilliant.

The run of five studio-quality 'demos' feel like a cool alternative debut album - just as good as the 8-track original. Fave-raves include the broke and busted musician's plea in "Mr. Banker" where a penniless Ronnie is willing to trade his Gibson Firebird for foreclosure (yeah right). Both "Tuesday's Gone" and "Gimme Three Steps" are similar to the finished polish of the album versions – just a little rougher around the edges and I think funkier for it. The rowdy Demo of "Free Bird" stretches the album's 9:03 to 11:09 minutes and when that pace-change guitar break kicks in – it starts to rock – but then they seem to lose a guitar that clearly made the finished LP version so work. Despite its fame - it's probably the least successful 'demo' on here...

A packet of Skull 'n' Crossbones Cigarettes adorns the back cover of their debut album – 'Lynyrd Skynyrd Smokes' it says on the side of the snot-nosed box. Well they sure got that right...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Blue collar American rock (whether Southern or not) didn't get better than Lynyrd Skynyrd's debut. Authentically tough sounding, with simple but wonderful lyrics from Ronnie Van Zant, a man clearly wrestling his hard man persona with the softer side. Not a duff track to be found here, and of course it contains Freebird, truly one of the great rock songs. However the bouncy Gimme Three Steps, plaintive ballad Simple Man, and the cautionary message of Poison Whiskey easily match it. The remaster adds a bunch of great tracks recorded at Muscle Shoals before their major label deal. Down South Jukin' & Mr Banker being the pick of the bunch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Classic rock n roll, fresh enough to still taste the blues, brilliantly timeless, well except for the lyrics which are absolutely mindless twaddle. Embarrassing but I suppose part of the norm in the day; much too much "My woman..." and "My gun..." stuff for my tastes. Still for all that most of the music still stands strong today, especially the soaring ballads; the amazing `Tuesday's Gone' and the near unrivalled `Free Bird' a song which you could never tire of and which was used brilliantly in Rob Zombies film `The Devils Rejects'.

This is danceable stuff, toe tapping, clicking your fingers to the beat. Especially on the musically brilliant uke attack of `Mississipi Kid' which for some reason makes me want to purchase a spittoon.

Drops a star purely because of the state of some of the lyrics, musically though it is through the roof and the perfect album to visit if you are a fan of Black Label Society or bands of that ilk.

Track list
I Ain't the One
Tuesday's Gone
Gimme Three Steps
Simple Man
Things Goin' On
Mississipi Kid
Poison Whiskey
Free Bird

Bonus Tracks
Mr Banker (Demo)
Down South Jukin' (Demo)
Tuesday's Gone (Demo)
Gimme Three Steps (Demo)
Free Bird (Demo)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Love this album,'though when I first heard it(believe it or not) I disliked it.Probably because I was expecting a heavier sound,but heard a more laid back blusey music, almost country.I gave it another try and was blown away.What was I thinking when I first tried it?Anyway the electric guitar playing,especially on classic Freebird is the best you will hear anywere on record or even live.The vocals are so laid back and natural just adds to the pleasure of hearing a great debut.So glad I got to hear it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Goes without saying that the music's great, but how's the record... Excellent recording. Nice flat pressing and other than a very small pit in the vinyl on side 2, which makes just 4 slight ticks, very quiet. Poly lined inner sleeve makes a nice change to the usual paper only things supplied with most LPs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)