Prokofiev: Violin Concert... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 2m ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2, Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £15.20 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
31 new from £5.61 6 used from £2.59
£15.20 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Geneviève Laurenceau Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Performer: Genevieve Laurenceau
  • Orchestra: National du Capitole de Toulouse
  • Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
  • Composer: Sergei Prokofiev, Sergei Rachmaninov
  • Audio CD (24 Jan. 2011)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Naive Sa
  • ASIN: B0046VRR1Y
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 845,748 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sergey Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor, op.63, Allegro moderato
  2. Andante assai
  3. Allegro, ben marcato
  4. Sergey Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances, op.45, Non allegro
  5. Andante con moto (Tempo di valse)
  6. Lento assai - Allegro vivace - Lento assai. Come prima - Allegro vivace

Product Description

Product Description

Following two highly praised recordings of Russian orchestral music (V5068 and V5073), this is the third recording by the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse and Tugan Sokhiev for Naïve. The CD includes two more great Russian masterpieces, Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances and Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto. The latter features the orchestra’s new leader, the talented soloist Geneviève Laurenceau. Tugan Sokhiev became music director of the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse in 2008, following three years as principal guest conductor and artistic adviser. During this collaboration he has conducted many critically acclaimed concerts across Europe and Asia, and their first two discs for Naïve received remarkable reviews. Tugan Sokhiev has just been named music director designate of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and will take up his role as music director from the 2012-13 season. He is a regular visitor to this country, conducting the Philharmonia Orchestra. Born in Strasbourg in 1977, Geneviève Laurenceau was awarded the Grand Prix of the Académie Maurice Ravel at Saint-Jean-de-Luz in September 2001, and later won the fifth ‘Violon de l’Adami’ award, She has performed as a soloist with the leading French and international orchestras under the direction of such conductors as Michel Plasson, Kees Bakels, Walter Weller and Tugan Sokhiev. Both Prokofiev and Rachmaninoff left Russia following the Revolution of 1917, and both made careers abroad as composer-pianists. However, while Rachmaninoff resolved never to return to Russia so long as it was under Soviet rule, Prokofiev took a more pragmatic approach and, though cautious in his dealings with Soviet authorities, remained on good terms with the Soviet authorities. Personnel: Geneviève Laurenceau (violin), Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Tugan Sokhiev (conductor)


(5 stars) Scintillating and inspiring...striking intensity and visceral power make this recording from France so easy to adore. -- Classic FM Magazine (Disc of the Month), (Andrew Mellor), April 2011

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Our conductor is Tugan Sokhiev, from Ossetia (think, Gergiev?). By all accounts he is someone to watch ... or even better, to whom we may now listen on a new classical disc. He is music director in Toulouse, following on the departure of long-time director Michel Plasson. Sokhiev did a first disc on the Naïve label that combined really stellar, compelling readings of the Mussorgsky-Ravel Pictures, and Tchaikovsky's fourth symphony.

On this disc Sokhiev and the Toulouse band are joined by fiddler Genevieve Laurenceau, who has a rather distinguished pedigree herself; though she has not yet appeared all that much in the USA classical catalogs. She studied and/or coached with violin pedagogues like Wolfgang Marschner and Zhakar Bron and Jean-Jacques Kantorow. She won a few fiddle competitions, one of which financed her recording of violin/piano music. She holds both violin concertos and chamber music in her active repertoire. She is guest professor in the UK where she also collaborates with Stephen Kovacevich. Since 2007, she has been concertmaster in Toulouse. She plays a Stradivarius fiddle, dated 1682.

By way of fair disclosure, let me say that I like the second Prokofiev fiddle concerto somewhat less than the first. But, I must say - this recording really puts it across, drenched in Slavic lyricism - pretty much no holds barred. All the modernish chromatics are there in intervals and harmonies and passages of busy elaboration or contrast; but the lasting, musical deep impression is a Hot Samovar-toned way with the fiddle's notes and phrases: the Stradivarius moved to constant Slavic song.

Tugan Sokhiev proves himself a most attuned musical partner to Laurenceau. He, too, lives, breaths, and moves forward in the flow and sweetness of Prokofiev's deep song.
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse