Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2013
I have a number of Michael Freeman's books, some of which are very good and thought provoking, they will help you become a better photographer. This is not as good as some of his others. There is an error on page 84 (possibly a typo or poor proof-reading), which is contradicted by what is correctly stated on page 20. Replace references to dots per inch (dpi) with pixels per inch (ppi) and this section is correct.

This book is a step above a basic introduction to printing, but no more than intermediate. There are many clear illustrations and good reference to a range of printing related issues. I think it is actually very difficult to produce a reference to printing which will not be out-dated quickly, due to the rate of advances in technology. Michael Freeman has made a reasonable stab at it (typos aside!), but this will not last long and will not meet all the needs of someone looking for advanced information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
This book is stunningly presented with outstanding print and image quality. It covers just about everything in terms of providing a general understanding of printing, colour space and presentation. I couldn't award 5 stars as I would have preferred a bit more specialism on printing itself and sharing of a few professional workflow secrets on soft proofing and test printing. There was good advice in the pre-printing and preparation areas but I just wanted a bit more in covering first prints, what to look for and what then to do to improve subsequent prints. Overall though a great book to those new to printing and colour managed workflow. As always the text by Michael Freeman is beautifully written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
A good book for the person who wants to produce a high class product from their own printer. Although Epson is in the title and is covered in the text the whole book is much more orientated to the art of printing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
This book is beautifully printed, with many colorfull pictures and covers many aspects of printing, generally and relative to your Epson.
So you will find these chapters: 1-PRINTER AND INKS, 2-PAPER, 3-COLOR MANAGEMENT, 4-PRINT COMPARISONS, 5-THE CRAFT, 6-PRESENTATION AND DISPLAY.
The layout is beautiful, and there are many nice pictures and explanations. The only problem about this book is that it does not deliver
what it promises: the best from you printer. Let me explain what I found out. Page 84 is about Software setup and resolution. Any digital image
will have alpha x beta pixels, a resolution measured in pixels per inch, and a size: Width x Height. (In fact if you divide alpha by Width you will get
resolution). A picture you want to print will probably have a different size than the "native" size of you image, so you will have to resample it.
(It is better to do it in Photoshop than to let your printer do it)
Usually (but not necessarily) you will reduce it. So the author is suggesting that you set the resolution to 300 pixels/inch.
Apparently though, from research done on the internet most Epsons have a "Native" resolution of 720 pixels/inch.
This means that the optimal setting will be 720 pixels/inch (or at least a multiple of this figure like 360/inch), otherwise the printer
will have to "resample"/"interpolate" and the quality will be reduced. Anyway, I did try it on my Epson and with help from a magnifying lens I could
clearly see the difference between 300 and 720 dpi.
(So honestly...not alot of difference but still enough that it could be seen; why shouldn't I be getting the most when I just have to type a number?)
Now what disturbs me most is that the author doesn't even have a clue about the 720 dpi number, and I wonder
how much he really knows about these printers and how to get the most from them.
If such information is not covered or even mentioned in this 192 page book, where will I find it? Does this book deserve to call itself: "The art
of printing"?. Are the authors really masters of this Art? I leave the answer to you.
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
An excellent book. If you want to know about Colour Management etc this book is easy to read. The information is good for all printers and is very informative.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
Great book, lots of information,would recomend it to
any one starting to print there own picture.lots of
how to pages, Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
You can get too wrapped up in your compute r screen when you should be checking out your print. I have a new epson xp615 and yes when I first tried it the results were not good but that was down to the paper. Subsequent prints were really good and it made me concentrate on the photography rather than computer manipulation. So yes read this book, refer to this book and I would advise using 5 x7 prints rather than 6x4 .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
Excellent book on printing photos on an Epson printer. Lots of detail. Good buy and will help anybody using this type of printer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)