Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
75
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
Its a great album, apready had it on CD so when starting to collect vinyl, was a no brainer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Grat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2006
Released at the height of the Hair Metal years of rock, and even supported by a tour with Guns n' Roses, Nine Inch Nails' debut opus Pretty Hate Machine was an unlikely success.

But has it stood the test of time? Yes, and in some ways, no.

On the opening track, 'Head Like A Hole' Trent Reznor sets out his stall, combining heavy guitar riffs with an infectious dance beat, to create what is still, a rock dance hall favourite. The lyrics point towards the mindset that Trent Reznor was in at the time - angry, lost, heartbroken and confused at the world around him. These feelings are propagated by tracks such as 'Terrible Lie', 'Something I Can Never Have' 'Sin' and 'Ringfinger'. However.... the album at times can sound 'of its time' with the almost comedy rap of 'Down In It' and 'Thats What I Get' showing the albums age.

Dont let that put you off though - this is a powerful work, that even in its lowest points, shines through unlike so many late 80's rock albums have managed to do.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Nine Inch Nails debut album finally gets it's much needed reissue and a proper one at that! Now it's back in the safe hands of Trent Reznor who up till last year must have thought he'd never get the chance to remaster it but after a long journey he finally got it back and has done a great job with the remaster.

By Reznor's own admission Pretty Hate Machine had become dated in both sound wise and looks wise what with the bands name being sideways on the cover and that jewel case(Reznor has always been a digipack/gatefold man), and a 2005 reissue by rykodisc records did nothing to change that(a small change to the artwork being the only change). Reznor has totally overhauled it, improving the sound no end, listening through a decent pair of earphones and you will hear the difference, the beats sound heavier and bigger without going over the top in loudness, and Rob Sheridan(art director, video director etc) has been brought in to do the atwork and packaging and what a job he has done, the pink is gone(Trent thought it looked dated) and it's now a digipack/gatefold as opposed to the original gatefold, in a recent interview Rob stated that it was really hard to get the original design on the cover as he couldn't get his hands on the original artwork, this despite the help of Gary Talpas who did the original artwork, just goes to show we shouldn't take for granted the work that has gone into this remaster.

It's all very well making it look and sound nice but if the songs are no good then it's a waste of time, but that was never going to be a problem with PHM, from the opening beats of former live staples(nin no longer tour as a live act) "Head Like A Hole" and "Terrible Lie" they remind you of what a great debut album PHM is, it shows what a ear Reznor has for a catchy tune. First ever single "Down In It" sounds better now than it ever did, halfways through the album we get to another of Reznor's favourite live tracks "Something I Can Never Have" which is just haunting and will make the hair stand up on the back of your neck, and was used to good effect in the Oliver Stone movie "Natural Born Killers" for which Reznor did the soundtrack. The second half has some of Reznor's catchiest songs he ever did such as the brillant "Kinda I want To" as well as the original version of "Sin" which is not as heavy as the version that was released as a single which is the version they play live. "Ringfinger" uses a drum sample from the Jane's Addiction track "Had A Dad"(The two bands co headlined 2009's nin/ja tour). With the reissue we get one new track a cover of the Queen track "Get Down Make Love" which was originally included on the single "Sin", Reznor totally changes the track from the Queen original and even has got a nice Queen sample in there.

Many people were hoping for a 2 disc version with 5.1 sound like what he did with "The Downward Spiral" or a studio version of Now I'm Nothing of which there is none available, but really the most important thing is that Pretty Hate Machine has been remastered even as recently as last year Reznor said there wouldn't be much chance of that happening.
22 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Woe. Pain. Anger. Rejection. And some very catchy industrial beats.
Trent Reznor has become legendary for the sound he perfected in "Pretty Hate Machine," his exceptional debut album. Wrapped in catchy industrial beats and sizzling basslines, he exposes all the rage and pain from being betrayed. Like a bad breakup, it's raw and rough and painful, but there's a strange catharsis once it's over.
It opens on a high note with the ear-blowing "Head Like A Hole," which alternates between dark techno and explosive hard-rock. "Bow down before the one you serve/you're gonna get what you deserve... Head like a hole, black as your soul/I'd rather DIE than give you control!" Reznor snarls. And he sounds like he means it, too.
That mix of rage and bitterness permeate the songs that follow. Not every song is a rockin' ragefest: "Something I Can Never Have" is a sweeping, haunted ballad with Reznor lamenting that "I'm starting to scare myself." It's one of the most powerful songs on a hard-hitting record, and shows Reznor's anguished vocals at their best.
But the majority are harder, angrier songs with Reznor's rough industrial-pop, raw singing and sparse electronic beats. The second half does drag a bit, but is pulled back up by the explosive "Sin" ("You give me the reason/you give me control/I gave you my purity/and my purity you stole!") and hauntingly out-there "Ringfinger."
"Pretty Hate Machine" could, in a sense, be seen as a concept album -- a mapping of the painful emotions in a breakup. Okay, painful breakups are not a big deal in the musical world -- every cheesy popstar does them. The difference is, Trent Reznor does them with passion, genuine anger, and explosive music that mirrors the betrayed feelings.
Reznor gets much flack for his angsty songwriting and accompanying vocal style. But it has to be admitted that even when the songwriting is sub-par -- the rather whiny, it's-God's-fault "Terrible Lie" -- Reznor's rough vocals bring them to life in all their painful glory.
This is also Nine Inch Nails' most minimalist album -- no soundscapes, just the guitars and electronics. The instrumentation matches the theme of inverted love -- Reznor throws in some poppy industrial beats, which manage to be darkly catchy and gritty at the same time. Underlying all of this is some smoldering, twisted guitar and drum machines.
Explosive rage, betrayal, confusion and pain lie at the heart of "Pretty Hate Machine," an unforgettable debut that Reznor has yet to equal in pure emotion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2003
Much livelier and more melodious than "Downward Spiral" and "The Fragile" this hit a whole generation of alternative rock fans like an industrial steamhammer when it was released at the end of the eighties. "Head Like A Hole" was still being played in rock clubs in the late nineties and "Something I Can Never Have" featured in Natural Born Killers' soundtrack, showing the enduring power of this LP. The best thing is, neither track particularly stands out (well, maybe "Something...") amidst the other songs on offer on this stunning album.
"Head..." kicks off proceedings in fine style, its angry guitar, haunting synth and Reznor's bitter vocals spitting out of your stereo leaving you breathless and on edge. The industrial sound with which NIN were often associated comes through on "Terrible Lie" before things slow down a little for "Down In It" and its surreal lyrics. "Sanctified" brings things up to an industrial snarl again before the piano intro on "Something I Can Never Have" drifts in to make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up.
"Something..." is a masterpiece. So simple yet incredibly beautifully crafted and with an amazingly poignant image drawn through Trent's bitter-sweet lyrics.
Once it's over you feel yourself emotionally drained and it's almost a relief to have the bouncy "Kinda I Want To" kickstart you back into life.
"Sin","That's What I Get" and "Only Time" revert to the industrial rock that permeates other tracks on the album and "Ringfinger" is true to form as well, brimming with samples (spot Jane's Addiction!) and electronic beeps and drumbeats, as well as tortured guitar licks.
One of the albums that changed the direction of rock music in the late eighties and early nineties, along with the likes of Living Colour's "Vivid", Jane's Addiction's "Nothing's Shocking" and Faith No More's "Real Thing" and an essential addition to the album collection of today's army of Nu-Metallers looking to see where it all began...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2002
I won't rate myself as a NIN fan. I wouldn't rate myself as a fan of any band in particular, since i listen to so many different kinds of music. However PHM is one of the most exquisite pieces of work I have had the privilege to listen to in my life. It made me buy downward spiral, and it surprised me that it was so different an album than PHM but still an excellent piece of work. So, as a music fan i would rate NIN and PHM alike with a 5 out of 5. Simply because truth never hurt more than the way NIN state it. In its simplest, and most beautifuly sad form. Thank god for albums like that. By the way, after listening to Something I can never have, i wondered how did i ever come to like "everything I do" by Bryan Adams. Personal thanks to NIN for making such music for us to listen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Woe. Pain. Anger. Rejection. And some very catchy industrial beats.

Trent Reznor has become legendary for the sound he perfected in "Pretty Hate Machine," his exceptional debut album. Wrapped in catchy industrial beats and sizzling basslines, he exposes all the rage and pain from being betrayed. Like a bad breakup, it's raw and rough and painful, but there's a strange catharsis once it's over.

It opens on a high note with the ear-blowing "Head Like A Hole," which alternates between dark techno and explosive hard-rock. "Bow down before the one you serve/you're gonna get what you deserve... Head like a hole, black as your soul/I'd rather DIE than give you control!" Reznor snarls. And he sounds like he means it, too.

That mix of rage and bitterness permeate the songs that follow. Not every song is a rockin' ragefest: "Something I Can Never Have" is a sweeping, haunted ballad with Reznor lamenting that "I'm starting to scare myself." It's one of the most powerful songs on a hard-hitting record, and shows Reznor's anguished vocals at their best.

But the majority are harder, angrier songs with Reznor's rough industrial-pop, raw singing and sparse electronic beats. The second half does drag a bit, but is pulled back up by the explosive "Sin" ("You give me the reason/you give me control/I gave you my purity/and my purity you stole!") and hauntingly out-there "Ringfinger."

"Pretty Hate Machine" could, in a sense, be seen as a concept album -- a mapping of the painful emotions in a breakup. Okay, painful breakups are not a big deal in the musical world -- every cheesy popstar does them. The difference is, Trent Reznor does them with passion, genuine anger, and explosive music that mirrors the betrayed feelings.

Reznor gets much flack for his angsty songwriting and accompanying vocal style. But it has to be admitted that even when the songwriting is sub-par -- the rather whiny, it's-God's-fault "Terrible Lie" -- Reznor's rough vocals bring them to life in all their painful glory.

This is also Nine Inch Nails' most minimalist album -- no soundscapes, just the guitars and electronics. The instrumentation matches the theme of inverted love -- Reznor throws in some poppy industrial beats, which manage to be darkly catchy and gritty at the same time. Underlying all of this is some smoldering, twisted guitar and drum machines.

Explosive rage, betrayal, confusion and pain lie at the heart of "Pretty Hate Machine," an unforgettable debut that Reznor has yet to equal in pure emotion.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
when i first heard about nine inch nails i thought they were a metal band and put off listening to them. Then i listened to this and realized i was completely wrong. what i found was music based on beats and clever sampling. guitars and other conventional instruments are only used to provide noise here and there instead of being the focus which gives nine inch nails a very unique sound. there's nobody else who makes music like nine inch nails and that alone makes them worth listening to once.

this album raises the bar so high that i look at my other cd's as crap. if that isn't a recommendation, i don't know what is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2003
Listening to Pretty hate Machine again, several years after buying it, it's hard to believe that the album is now fourteen years old. But sure enough it is, and it only goes to show how ingenius Trent Reznor was and how he still influences the music market today. I have three Nine Inch Nails albums, The Downward Spiral, Further Down the Spiral and Pretty Hate Machine, and in my oppinion this is by far the best. The reason I say this is that whilst the other albums seem a bit of a mish mash recipe of hardcore industrial and ambient noise, every song on Pretty Hate Machine straddles the line between heavy synth and metal music, creating a beautiful hybrid that puts modern day bands such as Linkin Park to shame.
From start to finish, there is not a bad song on the album; even Reznor's mock rapping on 'Down in It' stays in perfect harmony with the music. The meaningful lyrical style holds true throughout the album, delivering stark emotional messages and social commentary, whilst also injecting subtle black humour. The standout tracks on the album are 'Head Like a Hole', 'Terrible Lie', 'Something I can Never Have' and 'That's What I Get'.
In short, Trent Reznor was and still is a genius and Pretty Hate Machine is a truly landmark album that sounds as fresh today as it did fourteen years ago. And bear in mind that this review is coming from a rap fan.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.53
£5.99
£7.20

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)