Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2011
Easily the best of any Toots & The Maytals releases. However Disk 1 is Disk 2 and vice versa ( not Amazons fault ). Highly recommended!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
This album is great, great music etc. The only problem is that the track listings are wrong - the listings for disc 1 are actually for disc 2 & vise versa. Oh well, at least all of the tracks are there! Otherwise, lovely album!
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 August 2015
I once heard that back in Jamaica, when musicians such as Toots and his bandmates were kids, they'd attend school for lessons in either the morning or afternoon, then attend music school for the opposite period. Some of our best loved reggae/ska musicians learned their craft at this school, which apparently, a nun founded for them. The raw joy of the music given here on this double album showcases the kind of stuff they got up to. There seems to be a natural rhythm in Jamaican people and they use it to perfect effect if they intend to record themselves.

If you're into reggae, then get albums such as these to hear the raw, un-Westernised sound that makes it work. This is just beautiful to listen to. The typical Roots sound that the likes of Desmond Dekker and Bob Marley, and, yes, Toots and the band crafted. These guys ought to be heard in their original formats. It's so clever. The whole spirit of the music comes alive in these recordings.

Beautiful album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
As previous reviews, my product had two cd's the same. I sent mine back and am getting a refund. I would have preferred the cd's but that did not seem an option. Perhaps I should have kept it, even though it was half there. The music is great by the way. Shame about the manufacture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
This album has all the good vibes of traditional old time reggae. It is a mellow vibe to relax to or use as a party background soundtrack.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
As other reviewers have said, the CDs are named incorrectly and are reversed but luckily I do have two separate CDs and not two identical ones as others have said. Also, both CDs have a fault where they get stuck at certain points although they were perfectly clean and not scratched when they arrived and when I played them. I'm pleased with the songs and quality of the singers though so will put up with the aforementioned defects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
Receive CD - printed labels are Disk 1 and Disk 2 but I have two copies of the same CD (Disk 2 according to the track listing - so no Louie, Louie)

Not the CD's fault but I can only listen to 1/2 the CD - so 3 stars only

Really can't be bothered with the hassle of sending back for a refund though
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
There's all the usual hits here but also some superb songs I've never discovered before. Immediate stand out was 'It Must be True Love', excellent melody triumphs over the silly organ parts and just fills you with joy. The first dozen or so Ska songs struggle to differentiate themselves and there's that 'closed in' lo-fi production typical of 50s/early 60s Jamiaca. But as you head towards 'Sweet and Dandy' each song becomes distinct in itself and each is better than the last. Toots Hibbert really can write a song and the reggae versions are fresh interpretations that benefit from the more open recording sound of the late 60s/early 70s. Looking forward to listening again and letting each gem of a tune catch my ear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
Like most people, there is a problem with the CD's. Ive got two CD2's even though they are labeled differently. I am in the process of getting a refund or a replacement. Really wanna hear CD1, so I am going to try to get it. Songs on CD2 are brilliant anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
My first look at these guys and very impressed. The gospel roots are there and plenty of really good beat, which combine to make it a compelling double CD. I'm a staunch Bob Marley fan, but normally struggle with Ska music, but Toots really rock for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)