Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2000
This book opened my experience of Jesus as healer, as feminist and mystic. Our traditional translations limit our experience of the powerful and relevant words of Jesus that are illunimated and opened by the expanded translations of his words from his native language. Here we meet the Native Middle Eastern Jesus that we has been hidden from us in the West. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2000
A book that can open the door to inspired renewal for those who have wistful respect for the message brought to Mankind over 2000 years ago. It has heart-warming sincerity fueled by Neil's native familiarity with the languages and ethos of the environment at the time the story unfolded. By working jointly with the expanded message of The Lord's Prayer as well as the practical exercises using the lungs, it is truly uplifting to read and also provides therapy for major stress.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
This is one of the most beautiful and profound books that in my 73 years of reading tens of thousands of books that I have come across. It is a work of considerable and impressive scholarship and of great spiritual insight. It suggests a daily pratice and its few pages repay reading and re-reading again and again.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
I have been treasuring this book since it was first published nearly twenty years ago. As somebody who trained in Theology, yet always felt uncomfortable with the conventional translations, Klotz's book liberates the Lord's Prayer and The Beatitudes from their sterile straightjacket. Klotz's approach is that of the Middle-East - this is an interpretative Midrash on the words of Jesus. The words of Middle-Eastern mystics were always understood on different levels. The conventional, non interpretative, fundamentalism is barely two hundred years old ; yet astonishingly it holds sway with so many. With Neil Douglas-Klotz read the words of Jesus as he, as a Jew influenced by Rabbinic Judaism ,would have meant them. Total inspiration.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2006
This book is very liberating. It really gives a wonderful explanation on the Lord's Prayer. This aramaic version of the Lord's Prayer is very powerfull. When you pray the way the writer explains it in his book, by doing body prayers, wonderfull things start to happen in your life... without even asking for it. Just buy this book, tune in, pray and doors will open...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
this book undoubtedly won't appeal to everyone. to those that are invested in the religious dogmas that have been created by the christian church there will be some unappealing revelations.

but to me, it confirms many of my personal views about the true nature of the message jesus gave to the world. it is both revelatory and challenging, as one grapples with ones own perception and depth of understanding. in that regard, i found it very worthwhile and meaningful.

i would also like to add that this book very much tries to bridge the divide between jews, christians and muslims, in as much as by peeling away those layers of dogma, i truely universal vision of religious belief is revealed. i wish this book every success. the world certainly needs its message of tolerance and truly spiritual enquiry.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
This was an interesting book both from a Theological perspective and of personal study. The content gives an understanding of the original language that Jesus spoke, AND communicated in those days to his followers. In that respect my goal was to try and understand the real communications verbally in those days, thus better enabled to give a more interesting sermon / homily to Church members. Reading this book definately made me think seriously about some translations late that authors commenting on biblical matters are a little off mark by the interpretation of words. In today's learned and educated society it is imperative Priests know about what they speak about, and secondly speak with accuracy too otherwise the whole of Christianity will be veering off course. A very interesting and enjoyable book to read, though a little heavy for some, provokes much thinking, and that is what is required.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2008
This books takes the Lords Prayer and the Beatitudes as they were originally written in Aramaic and gives us the insight into the meaning that Jesus really wanted us to have. The author provides many meanings and explains how the Aramaic roots and the culture of the middle east lead to a much deeper meaning than is presented in the standard bible. Foe example, "Wela tahlan l'nesyuna, Ela patzan min bisha", was first transalated into greek and then into english, to give the very confusing, "And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil". Who on earth can understand God leading us into evil indeed! The Author gives us a much more reasonable translation: "Don't let surface things delude us, But free us from what holds us back", among a number of other interpretations.
This little book is allways with me - higly recommended as a "tune up" for your spirit!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
I had tried for years to find my own meaning and truth in the Lord's Prayer. This book opens these sacred texts to just that enquiry.
How can we receive what was taught in these words? Well first go back to the source, and the original language. ND-K does just that. Aramaic is still used by christian communities. It is full of depths of meaning, which haven't come down to us, via Greek to English.
If you want to know the truth... as Hafiz says ..... ND-K will tell you the truth.
Buy this book and explore the richness of these amazing words. It is a great study, a contemplation, and a deep Prayer.
If you have any belief or none, this gives you ways to stretch your heart, and bring it to flower.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2008
The deepest most liberating translation of the Lords Prayer I have ever come across. A true gem of insight written buy a scholar in sacred literature translation.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)